COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS

BOARD OF DENTISTRY

9960 MAYLAND DRIVE, SUITE 300
Henrico, VA  23233-1463
(804) 367-4538  www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry
APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR THE FOLLOWING

Restricted Dental Volunteer License (§ 54.1-2712.1)
Restricted Dental Hygiene Volunteer License (§ 54.1-2726.1)
All required documentation is to be sent to the Board office in a single packet with the application.  An incomplete application or submission of single parts or document delay the licensing process.  A completed application must include the following:

____
1. Application.
____
2. Certified check, cashier’s check or money order, made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia in the amount of $25.
____
3. Form AA:  If applicable, certification must be provided by the supervising dentists indicating he/she will review the quality of case rendered by the dentist/dental hygienists with the restricted volunteer license at least every thirty days.

____
4. Form B:  Chronology listing all activities since receiving degree, which must document at least five years of clinical practice.
____
5. Form C: Certification of licensure not older than 6 months from each jurisdiction in which you have or ever held a license to practice dentistry. Copies of licenses or permits are not accepted. Certification is not required if you ever held a license in Virginia..\ Please list all states under Section “b” under Applicant History on page 2 of the application.
____
6. Certify that you have not failed a clinical licensure examination within the last five years.  Item “d” on page 3 of application.
____
7.  Application Affidavit which must be notarized and which authorizes the release of confidential information, affirms that your application is complete and correct, and attests that you have read and understand will remain current with the applicable Virginia dental and dental hygiene laws and regulations of the Virginia Board of Dentistry.  In addition, no remuneration will be received directly or indirectly for dental/dental hygiene services. A passport-type photo not older than 6 months is required.
____
8. Documentation must be provided to show each name change made since receiving your degree. Photocopies of marriage licenses or court orders are accepted.
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_____  9. Original, current reports, not older than 6 months, form the (1) Healthcare Integrity 
and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB) AND (2) National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) 
(Regulation 18 VAC 60-20-100 and should be submitted with the application. These two 
reports can be obtained from www.npdb-hipdb.hrsa.gov.,1-800-
767-6732,

 P. O. Box 10832, Chantilly, VA  20153-0832.  Copies are not acceptable.
NOTES:

· Consistent with Virginia law (§54.1-2400.02) and the mission of the Department of Health Professions, addresses of licensees are made available to the public.  Normally, the Address of Record is the publically disclosable address.  If you do not want your address of Record to be made public, state law allows you to provide a second, publically disclosable address. Typically, this other address is the work or practice address.  If you would like for your Address of Record to be made available to the public, complete both sections with the same address.
· You may obtain the Virginia dental and dental hygiene laws and regulations of the Virginia Board of Dentistry on-line at www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry.

· To receive notice that your application has been delivered to the board, it is suggested that the complete packet be mailed by “Certified Mail-Return Receipt Requested” or with “Delivery Confirmation”.

· After 10 business days of applying, you might check on-line to see if your license has been issued by going to www.dhp.virgina.gov and selecting License Lookup.

· Applicants who submit an incomplete application will be notified within 10 business days of receipt that required information is missing.
· If your Virginia license is not issued within six months of the board’s receipt of parts of the application, certain portions of the application may need to be updated/resubmitted before a license can be issued.

· Documents  submitted with an application are the property of the board and cannot be returned.
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	APPLICATION FOR RESTRICTED VOLUNTEER LICENSE TO PRACTICE

DENTISTRY OR DENTAL HYGIENE



	(  ) DENTAL RESTRICTED VOLUNTEER LICENSE

(  ) DENTAL HYGIENIST RESTRICTED VOLUNTEER LICENSE



	INSTRUCTIONS:  Type or print clearly.  Complete all sections.  If the space provided for any answer is insufficient, complete your answer on a separate page, specify the number of the question to which it relates, sign the page and enclosed it with the application.

	I. GENERAL INFORMATION

	Name: Last
	First
	Middle/Maiden
	Suffix


	Address of Record (Mailing Address)

	City
	State
	Zip
	Telephone Number

	Public Disclosable Address
	City
	State
	Zip
	Telephone Number


	Email Address
	Fax #



	Date of Birth

____ ____/____ ____/____ ____ ____ ____
	Social Security Number or Virginia DMV Control Number

____ ____ ____---____ ____---____ ____ ____ ____



	Dental Specialty

Graduate Date

______ _____ ________

Month     Date      Year
	Specialty Degree

Or Certificate
	ADA-Coda Approved Dental School
	City/State

	FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

	Date Received
	Form AA
	Form B
	Form C –Certification of Licensure



	______National Practitioner Data Bank

______Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank
	

	Fee


	APPLICANT #
	LICENSE #
	DATE ISSUED


*Name change: Documentation must be provided to show name changes(s) if name has ever changed from the time you attended school or while you were licensed in other jurisdictions.
**In accordance with §54.1-116 of the Code of Virginia, you are required to submit your Social Number or control number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.  If you fail to do so, the processing of your application will be suspended and fees will not be refunded.  This number will be used by the Department of Health Professions for identification and will not be disclosed for other purposes except as provided by law.  Federal and state law required that this number be shared with other agencies for child support enforcement activities.
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	APPLICANT HISTORY 



	List in chronological order, including months and years, the dental/dental hygiene school(s) attended.
    Months & Years

Name of Dental/Dental Hygiene School
Passed or Failed or Graduated
__________to _________
_______________________________
___________________

__________to__________
_______________________________
​___________________



	b. List all jurisdictions where you have been issued a license to practice dentistry/dental hygiene, active or inactive.  Indicate license number and date issued.











State


Jurisdiction

License Number
Date Issued

Active or Inactive


______________
_______________
______________
______________


______________
_______________
______________
______________


______________
_______________
______________
______________


______________
_______________
______________
______________
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	c.   Have you ever been dropped, suspended, expelled, or disciplined by any school or college for
                   [  ] Yes   [  ] No

      any cause whatever?  If yes, give details, schools(s), address(es) and date(s) on a separate page.

d.   Have you ever been denied a license, or the privilege of taking a dental licensure/competency                       [  ] Yes  [  ] No

      examination by a licensing authority?  If yes, give detail(s), jurisdiction(s) and date(s).

      ________________________________________________________________________________
      ________________________________________________________________________________

e.   Have you ever failed a dental licensing examination(s)?                                                                                    [  ] Yes  [  ] No

      If yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) and date(s).______________________________________

     __________________________________________________________________________
f.   Have you ever been convicted of a violation or plead Nolo Contedere, to any federal, state or local                 [  ] Yes  [  ] No

     statute, regulations or ordinance, or entered into any plea bargaining relating to a felony or

     misdemeanor?  (excluding traffic violations, except convictions for driving under the influence).

     If yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) and date(s) on a separate page, and include a copy of the

     disposition/record certified by the Clerk of the Court.

g.  Have you ever voluntarily surrendered your clinical privileges while under investigation, been censured         [  ] Yes  [  ] No

     or warned or been requested to withdraw from the staff of any hospital, nursing home other health

     care facility, or any health care provider?  If yes, give details, jurisdictions(s) and date(s) on a separate page.

h.  Have you ever had any of the following disciplinary actions taken against your license to practice                    [  ] Yes  [  ] No

     dentistry, your DEA permit, Medicare, Medicaid, or are any such actions pending:  

     suspension/revocations, or probations, or reprimand/cease and desist, or monitoring of

     practice, or limitation placed on scheduled drugs?  If yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) and

     date(s) on a separate page.

i.   Have you ever had any membership in a professional society revoked, suspended or                                      [  ] Yes  [  ] No
     sanctioned in any manner?  If yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) and date(s) on a separate page.

j.   Have you ever been a defendant in a military court martial or received medical or other than                           [  ] Yes  [  ] No

     honorable discharge?  If yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) and date(s) on a separate page.

k.  Have you ever had any malpractice suits brought against you?  If yes,                                                              [  ] Yes  [  ] No

     give details, jurisdiction(s) and date(s) for each suit on a separate page, and provide a letter from

     your attorney explaining each case.
l.   Have you, within the last two (2) years, been physically or emotionally dependent upon the use of
     [  ] Yes  [  ] No

    alcohol/drugs or been treated by, consulted with, or under the care of a professional for any substance

     abuse?  If yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) and date(s) on a separate page and provide a letter of 

     explanation from the treating professional(s), including a summary of diagnosis, treatment and prognosis.

m. Have you, within the last two (2) years, received treatment for, or been hospitalized for a nervous,
      [  ] Yes  [  ] No

    emotional or mental disorder? If yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) and date(s) on a separate page, and

     provide a letter of explanation from the treating professional(s), including a summary of diagnosis,

     treatment and prognosis. 

n.  Do you have a physical disability, disease, or diagnosis which could affect your performance or

      [  ] Yes  [  ] No 

     professional duties?  If yes, provide a letter of explanation from the treating professional(s), 

     including a summary of diagnosis, treatment, and prognosis.

o.  Have you been adjudged mentally incompetent, or been voluntarily or involuntarily committed to a                   [  ] Yes  [  ] No

     mental institution within the last five (5) years?  If yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) and date(s) on 

     a separate page, and provide certified copies of all applicable court documents.                                                                                                                                                                                                                      
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	VIRGINIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY

APPLICATION AFFIDAVIT

(MUST BE COMPLETED BEFORE A NOTARY PUBLIC)

  I, __________________________________________________________________, being first duly sworn, depose    

  and say that I am the person referred to in the foregoing application and supporting documents.

   I hereby authorize all hospitals, institutions or organizations, my references, personal physicians, employers (past    

  and present) business and professional associates (past and present) and all governmental agencies and           

  instrumentalities (local, state, federal or foreign) to release to the Virginia Board of Dentistry any information,  

  files or records requested by the Board  which is material to me and my application.

I have carefully read the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them completely, without reservations of any kind, and I declare under penalty of perjury that my answers and all statements made by me in the application and supporting documents are true and correct.   Should I furnish any false information in this application, I hereby agree that such act shall constitute cause for the denial, suspension, or revocation of my license to practice in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

I have carefully read the laws and regulations related to the practice of dentistry and dental hygiene.  I hereby agree to abide by and remain current with the applicable laws and regulations which are available on www.dhp.virginia.gov,  and 

I will not receive remuneration directly or indirectly for providing dental services.

I have attached a certified check, cashier’s check or money order in the amount of $___________   made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.  I fully understand that funds submitted as part of the application shall not be refunded.






____________________________________________








           Signature of Applicant

State of ______________________________ 

County/City of ______________________________________________

Sworn and subscribed to, before me, this __________day of _________________________, _______.

                                                                       Day                               Month                                 Year

My commission expires on ______________________________.

                                                                                         ____________________________________________








    Signature of Notary Public

SECURELY PASTE A PASSPORT-TYPE PHOTOGRAPH

IN THE BOX BELOW.  NOTARY SEAL MUST OVERLAY THE PHOTOGRAPH.
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Commonwealth of Virginia

BOARD OF DENTISTRY

Department of Health Professions

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, VA  23233-1463
(804) 367-4538 www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry
FORM AA

	FOR DENTAL APPLICANTS:  You may be required now or will be required in the future to have a sponsoring dentist in order to hold a restricted volunteer license. When you are required to have a sponsor is determined by your practice history as reported on FORM B: CHRONOLOGY and your answers below.  You must have a sponsor if you have not been in active practice within the past five years of making application.

	NAME OF APPLICANT: _________________________Dental Restricted Volunteer License
1. 
Name of address of clinic you will be volunteering at:


__________________________________________________________________________


__________________________________________________________________________

2.
Are you still in active practice:
Yes ______
No ​​​______

3.
If you answered no above, please give the month and year when you were last in active 
practice.  
Month ___________
Year _____________

4.
How many years have passed since your last date of service: Calculate by subtracting the month 
and year reported above from the current month and year:


Number of Months _________________/Number of years _______________

5. a.
If your answer above is less than five years then you do not presently need a sponsor and you 
may stop here.  The date when you must have a sponsor will be specified on your restricted 
volunteer license.  It is your responsibility to obtain and report your sponsor by the date specified 
on your license.  You may voluntarily obtain and report a sponsor with your application.

OR

   b.
If your answer above is five years or greater then your sponsor must provide the information 
requested below.

TO BE COMPLETED BY SPONSOR

6.
By affixing my signature below, I will review the  quality of care rendered by the above named 
applicant at least every 30 days who will only treat patients who have been screened by the 
approved clinic and are 
eligible for treatment.  I will directly observe patient care being provided  
and review all patient charts at 
least quarterly.  Such supervision shall be noted in patient charts 
and maintained in accordance with 18 VAC 60-20-15.









___________________________









Signature of Sponsor









​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​









__________________________









Virginia License Number




COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

BOARD OF DENTISTRY

FORM B: CHRONOLOGY                             

	NAME OF APPLICANT:______________________________________________________________________

	Every applicant must provide a complete chronological, personal, and professional history of all activities you have engaged in since receiving your degree or certification, include teaching positions, internship, hospital affiliations, all periods of non-professional activity or employment, volunteer work, and all periods of unemployment.   

Only applicants for dental licensure by credentials are required to provide the Number of Hours of Clinical Practice.  You must report the number of hours you were engaged in clinical practice for each dental position you held within the six year period prior to submitting this application.  Report multiple year positions as hours per calendar year, i.e. 600 hours in 2004 or 1000 hours each year for 200-2004.   

 Form B may be photocopied if additional space is needed.

	FROM                 TO
Month/Year         Month/Year
	POSITION/ACTIVITY
	Employer/Contact Person for practice verification  and the person’s 

Complete Address, and Telephone #
	Number of Hours of Clinical Practice

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	


COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

BOARD OF DENTISTRY
Department of Health Professions

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, VA  23233-1463
(804) 367-4538   www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry
FORM C
CERTIFICATION OF DENTAL/DENTAL HYGIENE BOARDS

	Please forward one form to each state dental/dental hygiene board where you hold or have ever held a dental/dental hygiene license.  Some states require a fee, paid in advance, for providing this information.  To expedite, you may wish to contact the applicable state board(s).  Form C may be photocopied if copies are needed.

	I am making application for licensure in Virginia by:


(    (  Examination for Dental License

 (    (  Credentials for Dental License

 

 
(    (  Examination for Dental Hygiene License
 (    (  Endorsement for Dental Hygiene License


(    (   Reinstatement     
                                            [    ]  Teachers License



(    (   Full Time Faculty                


 [    ]  Registration for Volunteer Practice

I, ______________________________________________, was granted License Number ________________________

on _________________________________ by the State of ______________________.  The Virginia Board of Dentistry

            Month         Date             Year

requests that I submit evidence that my license in the State of ____________________________________________

is in good standing.  You are hereby authorized to release any information in your files, favorable or otherwise directly to the 

Virginia Board of Dentistry.  Your early attention is appreciated.

____________________________
___________________________
            ________________________________

              Applicant’s Signature                Applicant’s Typed/Printed Name
                               Applicant’s Address








             ________________________________


	Executive officer of State Board:  If no disciplinary action has been taken, please complete and return this form to the applicant.  If disciplinary action has been taken, please send the form directly to the Virginia Board of Dentistry.
State of _____________________________
Name of Licensee_____________________________________

Graduate of__________________________
License #_____________________
  Issued_____________________

By    (   (  Reciprocity
  (   (  Examination
  [   ] If licensed by state clinical exam, provide year and check her if exam included treatment of live patient _______________  (   (  Endorsement with the State of _________________

License is:  (   (  Current-Expires_________________   (   (  Active   (   (  Inactive  (   (  Lapsed-Expired________________

Has applicant’s license ever been disciplined, suspended or revoked    (   (  NO
  (   (  YES

If yes, give details and attach supporting documentation (Finding of Fact, Conclusions of Law, Orders):________________

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

Derogatory information, if any:__________________________________________________________________________

Comments, if any:____________________________________________________________________________________




________________________________  ________________________________  _________________



                       Signature


                      Title


Date
  




NOTARY SEAL


MUST OVERLAY PHOTOGRAPH





Commonwealth of Virginia 


Board of Dentistry


Department of Health Professions


9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300


Henrico, VA 23233-1463


804-367-4538 


www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry





SEAL
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