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COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

VIRGINIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY 
9960 MAYLAND DRIVE, SUITE 300 

HENRICO, VA  23233-1463 
804-367-4538 

www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry  
 

A completed application shall include the following unless stated below.  An incomplete application 
and/or fee will delay the processing of your application.  Incomplete applications are kept for one year 
then destroyed.  
 

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS FOR REINSTATMENT OF REGISTRATION AS A 
DENTAL ASSISTANT II: 

 
_____ 1.Reinstatement Application:  Please be sure that all information is completed on the
 application.   
 
_____ 2.Fee for applicant due to lapse of license: The reinstatement fee for a Dental Assistant II 

Registration is $125 and must be paid with a certified check, cashier’s check or money order, 
made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia. The fee can be used for one year from date of 
receipt. Pursuant to 18VAC60-30-30(F), all fees are non-refundable. Your application will not 
be reviewed until you have submitted payment. 

 
Fee for applicant due to previously revoked or indefinitely suspended license: The 
reinstatement fee for a previously revoked Dental Assistant II registration is $300 and the 
reinstatement fee for a previously indefinitely suspended Dental Assistant II registration is 
$250. 

     
_____ 5.Form C: Original licensure verification from any jurisdiction in which you currently hold or 

have ever held a license/registration/certification to practice as a dental assistant or as another 
health care professional and certification of authorization to perform expanded duties as a 
dental assistant. Copies of permits are not accepted. Verification cannot be older than 6 
months from date prepared. 

 
_____ 6.Evidence of a current credential as a Certified Dental Assistant (CDA) conferred by the 

Dental National Board (DANB) or another certification from a credentialing organization 
recognized by the American Dental Association and acceptable to the board. 

 
____ 7.Evidence of Continuing Clinical Competence: The applicant must include documentation 

in the application sufficient to demonstrate continuing clinical competence in the duties for 
which the applicant is requesting reinstatement of, which may include documentation of active 
practice in another state or in federal service, or a refresher course offered by an educational 
program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental 
Association. 

  

_____ 8.Name Change:  Documentation must be provided to show each name change(s) if your 
name has ever been changed from the most recent time you held an active license in Virginia 
or were licensed in other jurisdictions or other than what is listed on your application. 
Photocopies of marriage licenses or court orders are accepted. 
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____ 9.Please be aware that your signed and notarized application affidavit authorizes the release 
of confidential information, affirms that your application is complete and correct, and attests 
that you have read and understand and will remain current with the laws and regulations 
governing the practice of dentistry and dental assisting in Virginia. 

 
 

  

PLEASE NOTE:    
 

 If your Virginia Registration is not reinstated within six months of the Board’s receipt of the 
application, certain portions of the application may need to be resubmitted before your 
application can be reviewed. 
 

 You might obtain the Virginia laws and the regulations governing the practice of dental 
assistants at www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry. 

 

 To receive notice that your application has been delivered to the Board, it is suggested that the 
complete packet be mailed by “Certified Mail-Return Receipt Requested” or with “Delivery 
Confirmation”. 

 

 Within approximately 10 business of receipt of an application, applicants will be notified of 
missing application items. 

 

 Documents submitted with an application are the property of the board and cannot be 
returned. 
 

 Consistent with Virginia law §54.1.2400.02 and mission of the Department of Health 
Professions, addresses of health profesionals are made available to the public. Normally, the 
Address of Record is the publically disclosable address. If you do not want your Address of 
Record to be made public, state law allows you to provide a second, publically disclosable 
address. Typically, this other address is the work or practice address. If you would like for you 
Address of Record to be made available to the public, complete both sections with the same 
address.  
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  Virginia Board of Dentistry 
  Virginia Department of Health Professions 

                           9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 

                           Henrico, VA 23233-1463 

       804-367-4538 

              www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry 

   

 
APPLICATION FOR REINSTATEMENT OF DENTAL ASSISTANT II REGISTRATION 

 
 
INSTRUCTIONS: Type or print clearly. Complete all sections. If the space provided for any answer is insufficient, complete 
your answer on a separate page, specify the number of the question to which it relates, sign the page and enclose it with 
the application. 

 
I.  GENERAL INFORMATION 
Name: Last 

 
First Middle/Maiden Suffix 

 
 

Address of Record (Mailing Address) 

 
 

City State Zip Code Telephone Number 

Public Disclosable Address 

 
 

City State Zip Code Telephone Number 

Email Address: 
 

 

Fax Number: 

Date of Birth 
________/_________/_______________ 

 

Social Security Number or Virginia DMV Control Number 

____ ____ ____--____ ____ --____ ____ ____ ____ 

Virginia DAII Registration Number: Date of Expiration: Name at time of Original Licensure* 

 
 

Reinstatement of Registration is sought for (check all that apply):     
 
____ 1. Performing pulp capping procedures 
____ 2. Packing and carving of amalgam restorations; 
____ 3. Placing and shaping composite resin restorations with a slow speed hand piece; 
____ 4. Taking final impressions; 
____ 5. Use of a non-epinephrine retraction cord; 
____ 6. Final cementation of crowns and bridges after adjustment and fitting by the dentist. 
 

Please check the applicable box below: 

□ REINSTATEMENT REQUESTED DUE TO LAPSE OF REGISTRATION 

□ REINSTATEMENT REQUESTED DUE TO SUSPENSION  

□ REINSTATEMENT REQUESTED DUE TO REVOCATION  

 
NOTE: In accordance with §54.1-116 of the Code of Virginia, you are required to submit your Social Security Number or your 
control number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. If you fail to do so, the processing of your application will 
be suspended and fees will not be refunded. This number will be used the by Department of Health Professions for 
identification and will not be disclosed for other purposes except as provided by law. Federal and state law requires this 
number be shared with other agencies for child support enforcement activities. 

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 
FEE AMOUNT APPLICANT NUMBER DATE OF REINSTATEMENT 
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3.  APPLICANT HISTORY 
 
ALL QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED.  If any of the following questions are answered “YES”, explain and 
substantiate with documentation.  Letters must be submitted by your attorney regarding malpractice suits.  Letters 
must be submitted by any treating professionals regarding health treatment and shall include diagnosis, treatment 
and prognosis. 
 

 
b. 

 
Has your practice since expiration of your Registration been in the Commonwealth of Virginia?  If yes, 
give location._________________________________ 
 

[  ] Yes [  ] No 

  
c. 

 
Has any of your work since the expiration of your DAII Registration been in any field other than the 
practice of dental assisting?   If yes, give details, jurisdictions(s) and date(s). 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
 

 
[  ] Yes 

 
[  ] No 

 
d. 

 
Have you ever been denied a license/registration? If yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) and date(s) on a 
separate page.  

 
[  ] Yes 

 
[ ] No 

 
e. 

 
List all licenses/registrations/certificates which you have been issued to practice as a dental assistant or as any other 
health care professional. 

 
      Jurisdiction  License Number  Date Issued  Date Expired 
 
 _______________ _______________ ____________  ____________ 
 
 _______________ _______________ ____________  ____________ 
 
 _______________ _______________ ____________  ____________ 

 

 
f. 

Have you ever been convicted of a violation of or pled Nolo Contender to any federal, state or local 
statute, regulation or ordinance, or entered into any plea bargaining relating to a felony or 
misdemeanor? (Excluding traffic violations, except convictions for driving under the influence.)  If yes, 
you must provide an explanation and include an original copy of the disposition/record, 
certified by the Clerk of the Court, unless you provided this information on your previous 
application. 

 
[  ] Yes 

 
[  ] No 

 
g. 

Have you ever voluntarily surrendered your clinical privileges while under investigation, been 
censured or warned, or been requested to withdraw from the staff or any hospital, nursing home, 
other health care facility, or any health care provider?  If yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) and 
date(s) on a separate page, unless you provided this information on your previous application. 

 
 
[  ] Yes 

 
 
[  ] No 

 
h. 

 
Have you ever been a defendant in a military court martial or received medical or other than 
honorable discharge? If yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) and date(s) on a separate page, unless 
you provided this information on your previous application. 

 
[  ] Yes 

 
[  ] No 

 
i. 

 
Have you, within the last two (2) years, been physically or emotionally dependent upon the use of 
alcohol/drugs or been treated by, consulted with or under the case of a professional for any 
substance abuse?  If yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) and date(s) on a separate page, and 
provide a letter of explanation from the treating professional(s), including summary of 
diagnosis, treatment and prognosis, unless you provided this information on your previous 
application. 

 
[  ] Yes 

 
[  ] No 

 
j. 

 
Have you, within the last two (2) years, received treatment for, or been hospitalized for, a nervous, 
emotional or mental disorder? If yes, provide a letter of explanation from the treating 
professional(s), including summary of diagnosis, treatment and prognosis, unless you 
provided this information on your previous application. 
 

 
[  ] Yes 

 
[  ] No 
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k. Do you have a physical disability, disease, or diagnosis which could affect your performance of 
professional duties?  If yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) and date(s) on a separate page, and 
provide a letter of explanation from the treating professional(s), including summary of 
diagnosis, treatment and prognosis, unless you provided this information on your last 
application. 

[  ] Yes [  ] No 

 
l. 

 
Have you ever been adjudged mentally incompetent, or been voluntarily or in voluntarily committed to 
a mental institution?  If yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) and dates) on a separate page, and 
provide certified copies of all applicable court documents, unless you provided this 
information on your previous application. 

 
[  ] Yes 

 
[  ] No 

 
m. 
 

 
Did you relocate with a spouse who is the subject of a military transfer to the Commonwealth of 
Virginia? 

 
[  ] Yes 

 
[  ] No 
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VIRGINIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

APPLICATION AFFIDAVIT 
(MUST BE COMPLETED BEFORE A NOTARY PUBLIC) 

 

 
I, ___________________________________________________________________, being first duly sworn, 
depose and say that I am the person referred to in the foregoing application and supporting documents. 
 
I hereby authorize all hospitals, institutions or organizations, my references, personal physicians, employers 
(Past and present) business and professional associates (past and present) and all governmental agencies 
And instrumentalities (local, state, federal or foreign) to release to the Virginia Board of Dentistry any 
Information, files or records requested by the Board which is material to me and my application. 
 
I have carefully read the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them completely, without 
reservations of any kind, and I declare under penalty of perjury that my answers and all statements made by 
me in the application and supporting documents are true and correct.  Should I furnish any false information 
in this application, I hereby agree that such act shall constitute cause for the denial, suspension, or 
revocation of my license to practice in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 
 
I have carefully read the laws and regulations related to the practice of dentistry and dental assisting. 
I hereby agree to abide by and remain current with the applicable laws and regulations which are 
available on www.dhp.virginia.gov, and 
 
I have attached a certified check, cashier’s check or money order in the amount of $_____________made 
payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.  I fully understand that funds submitted as part of the application shall 
not be refunded. 
 
 
         ______________________________________ 
          Signature of Applicant 
 
 
State of _______________________ 
 
County/City of ___________________________________ 
 
Sworn and subscribed to, before me, this __________ day of ____________________, ____________. 
             Day       Month      Year 
 
My commission expires on _________________________________. 
 
 
         ______________________________________ 
                Signature of Notary Public 
 
 

 
SEAL 
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COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 
BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Department of Health Professions 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 

Henrico, VA  23233-1463 
(804) 3674538 www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry  

FORM C 

CERTIFICATION OF AUTHORIZATION TO PERFORM EXPANDED DUTIES AS A DENTAL 
ASSISTANT  

Please forward one form to each state dental board where you hold or have ever held registration as a dental assistant.  Some states 
require a fee, paid in advance, for providing this information.  To expedite, you may wish to contact the applicable state board(s).  Form C 
may be photocopied if copies are needed. 
 

I am making application for registration as a dental assistant II in Virginia: 
  

          
I, ______________________________________, was granted License/registration  Number ________________________ on    
 
__________________________________by the State of ______________________.   
           (DATE) 
 
The Virginia Board of Dentistry requests that I submit evidence that my license/registration in the State of 
__________________________ is in good standing.  You are hereby authorized to release any information in your files, favorable or 
otherwise directly to the Virginia Board of Dentistry.  Your early attention is appreciated. 
 
________________________________ ___________________________  
          Applicants Signature                                                       Date 
 

Executive officer of State Board:  Please complete and return this form to the applicant.  If disciplinary action has been taken, 
return the form to the Board of Dentistry. 

 
State of __________________________________ Name of Licensee_______________________________________ 
 
License #_____________________   Issued___________________ 
 

By         Reciprocity        Examination        Endorsement with the State of _________________________ 
 
License Status and Expiration Date: _____________________________________________________________________ 
 
Please check all duties the licensee is currently authorized to perform: 
 

1) ____ Performing pulp capping procedures; 
2) ____ Packing and carving of amalgam restorations; 
3) ____ Placing and shaping composite resin restorations with a slow speed hand piece; 
4) ____ Taking final impressions; 
5) ____ Use of a non-epinephrine retraction cord; 
6) ____ Final cementation of crowns and bridges after adjustment and fitting by the dentist. 

 
 

Has applicant’s license ever been disciplined, suspended or revoked         NO        YES 
 
If yes, give details and attach supporting documentation (Finding of Fact, Conclusions of Law, Orders):________________ 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
  
                                                                                          __________________________________ 
                                                                                                                                             Signature 
 

                                 SEAL                                                                        __________________________________ 

                                                                                                                                              Title  
 
                                                                                                                     __________________________________                                                                                                                                          
                                                                                                                                               Date 
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