COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

VIRGINIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY 9960 MAYLAND DRIVE, SUITE 300 HENRICO, VA 23233-1463

www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry 804-367-4538 denbd@dhp.virginia.gov

APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR REGISTRATION AS A DENTAL ASSISTANT II

A completed application shall include the following unless otherwise stated below. An incomplete application and or fee will delay the processing or your application. Incomplete applications are kept for one year then destroyed.

Incomplete applications are kept for one year then destroyed.	
	1 . Application. (2 pages) Please be sure that all information and questions are completed on the application.
	2 . Application Fee. \$100. Certified check, cashier's check or money order, made payable to the <u>Treasurer of Virginia.</u> Pursuant to 18VAC60-20-40, all fees are non-refundable. A processing fee of \$35 will be charged for any check or money order returned unpaid by your bank.
	3. Name change. Documentation must be provided to show name change(s) if your name has ever been changed from the time you attended school or were registered in other jurisdictions or was other than what is listed on your application. Photocopies of marriage licenses or court orders are accepted.
	4.A. (Form A) Original documentation of completion of the education requirements to qualify as a Dental Assistant II from an educational program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association as required in Regulation 18VAC60-20-61.B.1, 2, 3, and 4,
	OR, If you are qualifying by endorsement,
	4.B.1.(Form C) Original verification from each jurisdiction in which you currently hold registration or have ever been registered as a dental assistant. Verification must include that authorization was given to perform expanded duties.(Use Form B) Copies are not acceptable. Verifications cannot be older than 6 months from date prepared; and
	4.B.2. (Form A) Documentation of education completed to perform expanded
	duties which is substantially equivalent to the education requirements in 18 VAC60-20-61. B.1,2, 3 and 4; or
	4.B.3 (Form B) or Documentation from a supervising dentist of experience in the
	following duties for at least 24 of the past 48 months preceding application: 1. Performing pulp capping procedures 2. packing and carving of amalgam restorations; 3. Placing and shaping composite resin restorations; 4. taking final impressions;

6. Final cementation of crowns and bridges after adjustment and fitting by the

5. Use of a non-epinephrine retraction cord;

dentist

5. Please be aware that your application signature affirms that you have read and understand and will remain current with the applicable Virginia dental, dental hygiene and dental assistant laws and the regulations of the Virginia Board of Dentistry.

NOTES:

- The board receives and maintains reports of current certification as a Certified Dental Assistant (CDA) directly from the Dental Assisting National Boards.
- If your registration is not issued within six months of the board's receipt of parts
 of the application, certain portions of the application may need to be updated or
 resubmitted before registration can be issued.
- Within approximately 10 business days of receipt of an application, applicants will be notified of missing application items.
- Documents submitted with an application are the property of the Board and cannot be returned.
- Consistent with Virginia law and the mission of the Department of Health Professions, addresses of licensees are made available to the public. Normally, the Address of Record is the publically disclosable address. If you do not want your Address of Record to be made public, state law allows you to provide a second, publically disclosable address. Typically, this other address is the work or practice address. If you would like for your Address of Record to be made available to the public, complete both sections with the same address.

Accredited Program Information American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation 211 East Chicago Avenue Chicago, IL 60611-2678 312-440-2500 www.ada.org Dental Assisting National Board, Inc. 444 N. Michigan Avenue Suite 900 Chicago, IL 60611-3985 1-800-FOR-DANB www.danb.org danbmail@danb.org

VIRGINIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY

Excerpts from the **Regulations Governing Dental practice on the Registration and Practice of Dental Assistants II**

Page 1 of 2

18VAC60-20-61. Educational requirements for dental assistants II.

- A. A prerequisite for entry into an educational program preparing a person for registration as a dental assistant II shall be current certification as a Certified Dental Assistant (CDA) conferred by the Dental Assisting National Board.
- B. To be registered as a dental assistant II, a person shall complete the following requirements from an educational program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association:
- 1. At least 50 hours of didactic course work in dental anatomy and operative dentistry that may be completed on-line.
- 2. Laboratory training that may be completed in the following modules with no more than 20% of the specified instruction to be completed as homework in a dental office:
- a. At least 40 hours of placing, packing, carving, and polishing of amalgam restorations;
- b. At least 60 hours of placing and shaping composite resin restorations;
- c. At least 20 hours of taking final impressions and use of a non-epinephrine retraction cord; and
- d. At least 30 hours of final cementation of crowns and bridges after adjustment and fitting by the dentist.
- 3. Clinical experience applying the techniques learned in the preclinical coursework and laboratory training that may be completed in a dental office in the following modules:
- a. At least 80 hours of placing, packing, carving, and polishing of amalgam restorations;
- b. At least 120 hours of placing and shaping composite resin restorations;
- c. At least 40 hours of taking final impressions and use of a non-epinephrine retraction cord; and
- d. At least 60 hours of final cementation of crowns and bridges after adjustment and fitting by the dentist.
- 4. Successful completion of the following competency examinations given by the accredited educational programs:
- a. A written examination at the conclusion of the 50 hours of didactic coursework;
- b. A practical examination at the conclusion of each module of laboratory training; and
- c. A comprehensive written examination at the conclusion of all required coursework, training, and experience for each of the corresponding modules.
- C. All treatment of patients shall be under the direct and immediate supervision of a licensed dentist who is responsible for the performance of duties by the student. The dentist shall attest to successful completion of the clinical competencies and restorative experiences.

18VAC60-20-70. Licensure examinations; registration certification.

C. Dental assistant II certification. All applicants for registration as a dental assistant II shall provide evidence of a current credential as a Certified Dental Assistant (CDA) conferred by the Dental Assisting National Board or another certification from a credentialing organization recognized by the American Dental Association and acceptable to the board, which was granted following passage of an examination on general chairside assisting, radiation health and safety, and infection control.

VIRGINIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY

Excerpts from the **Regulations Governing Dental practice on the Registration and Practice of Dental Assistants II**

Page 2 of 2

18VAC60-20-72. Registration by endorsement as a dental assistant II.

- A. An applicant for registration by endorsement as a dental assistant II shall provide evidence of the following:
- 1. Hold current certification as a Certified Dental Assistant (CDA) conferred by the Dental Assisting National Board or another national credentialing organization recognized by the American Dental Association;
- 2. Be currently authorized to perform expanded duties as a dental assistant in another state, territory, District of Columbia, or possession of the United States;
- 3. Hold a credential, registration, or certificate with qualifications substantially equivalent in hours of instruction and course content to those set forth in 18VAC60-20-61 or if the qualifications were not substantially equivalent the dental assistant can document experience in the restorative and prosthetic expanded duties set forth in 18VAC60-20-230 for at least 24 of the past 48 months preceding application for registration in Virginia.

B. An applicant shall also:

- 1. Be certified to be in good standing from each state in which he is currently registered, certified, or credentialed or in which he has ever held a registration, certificate, or credential;
- 2. Be of good moral character;
- 3. Not have committed any act that would constitute a violation of $\S 54.1-2706$ of the Code of Virginia; and
- 4. Attest to having read and understand and to remain current with the laws and the regulations governing dental practice in Virginia.

18VAC60-20-230. Delegation to dental assistants.

- A. Duties appropriate to the training and experience of the dental assistant and the practice of the supervising dentist may be delegated to a dental assistant under the direction or under general supervision required in 18VAC60-20-210, with the exception of those listed as nondelegable in 18VAC60-20-190 and those which may only be delegated to dental hygienists as listed in 18VAC60-20-220.
- B. Duties delegated to a dental assistant under general supervision shall be under the direction of the dental hygienist who supervises the implementation of the dentist's orders by examining the patient, observing the services rendered by an assistant and being available for consultation on patient care.
- C. The following duties may only be delegated under the direction and direct supervision of a dentist to a dental assistant II who has completed the coursework, corresponding module of laboratory training, corresponding module of clinical experience, and examinations specified in 18VAC60-20-61:
- 1. Performing pulp capping procedures;
- 2. Packing and carving of amalgam restorations;
- 3. Placing and shaping composite resin restorations;
- 4. Taking final impressions;
- 5. Use of a non-epinephrine retraction cord; and
- 6. Final cementation of crowns and bridges after adjustment and fitting by the dentist.