
INSTRUCTIONS/CHECKLIST FOR COMPLETING AN APPLICATION TO PRACTICE AS AN 

 AUDIOLOGIST OR SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGIST IN VIRGINIA WITH A PROVISIONAL LICENSE 

 

BEFORE YOU PROCEED, READ THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION CAREFULLY: 
 

 Laws and Regulations: The Virginia laws and regulations pertaining to the practice of speech-language pathology may be 

viewed at https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/aud/. The application requires an attestation to having read the applicable laws and 

regulations; 
  

 Application documentation from source: Required documentation must be submitted directly from the source of the 

information by postal mail, email or fax. The applicant is responsible for notifying the source to submit required documentation. 

A licensure verification form is attached; 
 

 Application processing: Please allow 21 business days from initial mailing for board staff to receive and process an application. 

An initial email will be forwarded that provides notification of receipt and a list of any missing application documentation. The 

licensure process typically takes a minimum of 45 days. Please plan accordingly if you are pursuing a practice position in Virginia 

or call to inquire about the status of your application. 
 

 Application and Fee: Application and fee must be submitted together by postal mail. An application fee of $50.00 is required; 

make check or money order payable to the “Treasurer of Virginia.” All fees are nonrefundable; 
 

 Initial License expiration dates: Provisional licenses expire 18 months from the date of issue. NOTE: An application for a full 

license is required prior to expiration of a provisional license if planning to continue practicing in Virginia. 
 

 Retention of Documents from and Incomplete Application: Applicant documentation is maintained for one year and then 

destroyed;  
 

 Board Communication: Upon receipt of an application, the Board’s preferred method of communication is via email; 
 

 SLP School Practice: Review Guidance Document 30-8 Requirements to Hold Licensure in Virginia to Practice Speech-Language 

Pathology located at https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/aud/aud_guidelines.htm regarding practice in the school system; 
 

 Supervision/Supervisors: Specifically review §54.1-2604 of the Code of Virginia and 18VAC30-21-70 (D) of the Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology located at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/aud/aud_laws_regs.htm. NOTE: A change in supervision requires written notification from the new 

supervisor to the board office; and 
 

 Confidentiality: Applications are only discussed with the applicant. NOTE: Written authorization is required from the applicant 

to discuss an application with anyone other than the applicant.   

 

APPLICATION METHODS AND REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION:  
 

 Option 1 – CFY - Graduation or enrollment, completion of didactic coursework and passage of National Examination: 

 Degree or coursework verification; 

° Graduate – transcript conferring degree in an accredited graduate program in audiology or speech-language pathology; 

° Current enrollment in a graduate program reflecting completion of didactic coursework – written documentation from 

   Department Head/Dean, on school letterhead, of completion of all didactic coursework required for the graduate degree as 

  documented by the accredited program; and 

 Qualifying national examination scores (contact PRAXIS to release scores electronically to Virginia).  

 

 Option 2 – To obtain active practice - holds an active license in another state or jurisdiction): 

 Completed CE Activity & Assessment Form and documentation (copies of completed certificates) of 10 continuing competency 

hours for each year the license has been issued, not to exceed 30 hours; 

 Transcript conferring degree in an accredited graduate program in audiology or speech-language pathology; 

 Qualifying national examination scores at the time of initial licensure (contact PRAXIS to release scores electronically to 

Virginia); and 

 License verification of all licenses ever held, including expired, in another jurisdiction of the U.S. or its territories and District 

of Columbia (does not include teaching certificates).  
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 Option 3 – Reinstatement through a provisional license to gain active practice: 

 Completed CE Activity & Assessment Form and documentation (copies of completed certificates) of 10 continuing competency 

hours for each year the license has been lapsed, not to exceed 30 hours obtained during the time the license was lapsed; 

 Transcript conferring degree in an accredited graduate program in audiology or speech-language pathology; 

 Qualifying national examination scores at the time of initial licensure (contact PRAXIS to release scores electronically to 

Virginia); and 

 License verification of all licenses ever held, irrespective of status, in another jurisdiction of the U.S. or its territories and 

District of Columbia (does not include teaching certificates). 

 

 

 

 

Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology Contact Information 

 Address:    9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300   Email: AudBD@dhp.virginia.gov 

              Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463   Phone: (804) 367-4630 

 Webpage:  www.dhp.virginia.gov/aud/     Fax: (804) 527-4471  

 

 

Note: As of June 1, 2019, the Board’s phone number will change to: (804) 597-4132 
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9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300  Phone - (804) 367-4630  www.dhp.virginia.gov/aud/  
                                Henrico, Virginia 23233                Fax - (804) 527-4471       Email – audbd@dhp.virginia.gov   

 

Note: As of June 1, 2019, the Board’s phone number will change to: (804) 597-4132 
 

APPLICATION FOR PROVISIONAL LICENSURE 
 

 AUDIOLOGIST  SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGIST 
 

    Full Name (Please Print or Type)     

Last First Middle Initial 

   

Have you ever been known by any other name? Yes    No    If yes, state, in full, every name by which you have been 

known, the reason therefore, and dates so used.  If the name stated above does not match name on required 
documentation, a copy of court order or marriage certificate is required. 
 

Other Names:  

Public Address for Disclosure City State Zip Code Telephone No. 

     

     

Address of Record (Mailing Address) City State Zip Code Telephone No. 

     

     

ADDRESS: Virginia law allows persons regulated by boards within the Department of Health Professions to provide an alternative 

address for public disclosure if they want their address of record to remain confidential, used only for agency purposes.  Health 
professionals may choose to provide a work address, a post office box, or a home address as the public address. If an alternative 
public address is not provided, the address of record will also be used as the public address and may be disclosed if specifically 
requested. Addresses of individuals are not posted on the "License Lookup" program available through the board's website.  
 

*Social Security No. or Virginia DMV 
No. 

Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy) Email Address 

   

Are you active-duty military? YES 

 

NO 

 

Are you the spouse of a member of the U.S. military who has been transferred to Virginia and who had 
to leave employment to accompany your spouse to Virginia? 

YES 

 

NO 

 

Graduation 
Date 
(mm/dd/yyyy) 
  

Professional Degree(s) School State 

    

    

*In accordance with §54.1-116 Code of Virginia, you are required to submit your Social Security Number or your control number** issued by the Virginia 

Department of Motor Vehicles.  If you fail to do so, the processing of your application will be suspended and fees will not be refunded. This number will be 
used by the Department of Health Professions for identification and will not be disclosed for other purposes except as provided by law. Federal and state law 
requires that this number be shared with other state agencies for child support enforcement activities. In order to obtain a Virginia driver’s license control 
number, it is necessary to appear in person at an office of the Department of Motor Vehicles in Virginia.  A fee and disclosure to DMV of your Social 
Security Number will be required to obtain this number. 

 

APPLICANTS DO NOT USE SPACES BELOW THIS LINE – FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 

APPLICANT # FEE RECEIPT # LICENSE # ISSUE DATE 
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1.   List passage date (mm/dd/yyyy) of qualifying national examination:  

2.   ASHA Certification Number:
  
 

 

3.   List all professional practice in reverse chronological order. A resume is acceptable.  
 

Begin 
Date 
(mm/yyyy) 

 

End Date 
(mm/yyyy) 

 

Name of Employer/City/State/Phone 
 

Type of Practice 
(Private or Public Sector) 

    

    

    

    

4.   List all jurisdictions (U.S. or its territories, District of Columbia) in which you have ever held, including expired, a license 
      to practice audiology or speech-language pathology (does not include teaching certificates issued by the Department 
      of Education). If more space is needed, please record on separate paper. 
Jurisdiction License #    Issue Date 

(mm/dd/yyyy) 
Years of  
Practice 

License Status 
(expired/active/inactive/revoked/suspended) 

     

     

     

     

     

QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED.  If any of the following questions (5 -11) are answered yes, explain and 
substantiate with documentation.  Letters must be submitted by your attorney regarding malpractice suits. 

5.  Have you ever been convicted of a violation of, or pled Nolo Contendere to, any federal, state or local 
statute, regulation or ordinance, or entered into any plea bargaining relating to a felony or misdemeanor, 
to include convictions for driving under the influence (DUI) and excludes traffic violations. Attach your 
original criminal history record, a certified copy of any final order, decree, or case decision by a court or 
regulatory agency with lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or case decision and any other 
information you wish to be considered with your application (i.e. information on the status of incarceration, 
parole, or probation, reference letters, etc.). 

 

 
 
YES 

 

 
 
NO 

 

6. Within the past five years, have you exhibited any conduct or behavior that could call into question 
      your ability to practice in a competent and professional manner? 
 (A) Please provide a full explanation (use separate page). 
 (B) Within the past five years, have you sought or been directed to seek treatment for your conduct or 

behavior?    Yes     No 
 

 
YES 

 

 
NO 

 

7.    Within the past five years, have you been disciplined by any entity? 
 (A) Please provide a full explanation and any associated orders or letters from the entity (use separate 
 page). 
 (B) Within the past five years, have you sought or been directed to seek treatment for your conduct or 
 behavior?    Yes     No 
 

YES 

 

NO 

 

8. Do you currently have any physical condition or impairment that affects or limits your ability to perform 
 any of the obligations and responsibilities of professional practice in a safe and competent manner? 
 “Currently” means recently enough so that the condition could reasonably have an impact on your 
 ability to function as a practicing audiologist or speech-language pathologist. 

 If yes, please provide a full explanation (use separate page). (NOTE: The Board may request a letter 
      from your current treatment provider addressing your current condition and ability to safely practice. 
      You may consider providing this documentation with your application, or have your provider send this   
      documentation directly to the Board.) 
 

 
YES 

 

 
NO 
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9. Do you currently have any mental health condition or impairment that affects or limits your ability to 
 perform any of the obligations and responsibilities of professional practice in a safe and competent 
 manner? “Currently” means recently enough so that the condition could reasonably have an impact on 
 your ability to function as a practicing audiologist or speech-language pathologist. 

 If yes, please provide a full explanation (use separate page). (NOTE: The Board may request a letter 
      from your current treatment provider addressing your current condition and ability to safely practice. 
      You may consider providing this documentation with your application, or have your provider send this   
      documentation directly to the Board.) 
 

 
 
YES 

 

 
 
NO 

 

10. Do you currently have any condition or impairment related to alcohol or other substance use that 
 affects or limits your ability to perform any of the obligations and responsibilities of professional practice 
 in a safe and competent manner? “Currently” means recently enough so that the condition could 
 reasonably have an impact on your ability to function as a practicing audiologist or speech-language 
 pathologist. 

 If yes, please provide a full explanation (use separate page). (NOTE: The Board may request a letter 
      from your current treatment provider addressing your current condition and ability to safely practice. 
      You may consider providing this documentation with your application, or have your provider send this   
      documentation directly to the Board.) 
 

 
 
YES 

 

 
 
NO 

 

11.  Within the past five years, have any conditions or restrictions been imposed upon you or your practice 
       to avoid disciplinary action by any entity? 

 If yes, please provide a full explanation (use separate page). (NOTE: The Board may request a letter 
      from your current treatment provider addressing your current condition and ability to safely practice. 
      You may consider providing this documentation with your application, or have your provider send this   
      documentation directly to the Board.) 
 

 
YES 

 

 
NO 

 

12. AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT  
 

 I have carefully read the laws and regulations related to the practice of audiology and speech-language 
 pathology. I hereby agree to abide by and remain current with the applicable laws and regulations which are 
 available on www.dhp.virginia.gov. 
 
 
 
 I certify by entering my signature below: I am the person applying for licensure/certification/registration and 
 meet the qualifications required by Virginia law and regulations. Further, I certify the information provided in 
 this application has been personally provided and reviewed by me, and that statements made on the 
 application are true and complete. I understand that providing false or misleading information, as well as 
 omitting information, in response to information requested in this application or as part of the application 
 process are considered falsification of the application and may be grounds for denial of or taking disciplinary 
 action against an existing license/certificate/registration. 
 
 

______________________________________________ 
 

Signature of Applicant 
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