Commonwealth of Virginia

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation
Professional Credential Services, Inc.

P.O. Box 198768

D VR

Nashville, TN~ 37219-8768 Department of Professional ang Occ'& alglggl\/RE U|2a(t)|ﬁ
Telephone No.: 888-822-3272 Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology
Email: cosandbar@pcshg.com BARBER - BARBER INSTRUCTOR
Website: www.pcshg.com EXAMINATION & LICENSE APPLICATION
Instructions:

> Complete this form and mail this application with a cashier's check, money order, or credit card payment for the full
amount of the examination fee, payable to Professional Credential Services, Inc. at the address listed above.
> Any applicant who does not pass an examination within one year of the initial examination date shall be required to
submit a new application and examination fee.
APPLICATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE

Select one examination type you are requesting:

X License Type Fee

[ 111301 - Practical & Theory Exam | $185.00
[ 111301 - Practical Exam $93.00
111301 - Theory Exam $92.00
(111302 - Instructor Exam $92.00

1. FullLegal Name (As it appears on your government issued ID or other legal documentation.)

Last (required) First (required) Middle Generation

2. Provide at least one of the following identification numbers™:
[] Social Security Number and/or - -

[] Virginia DMV Control Number

»  Enter the same identification number as used on examination, previous applications or licenses on file with the department.

%  State law requires every applicant for a license, certificate, registration or other authorization to engage in a business, trade, profession or occupation issued
by the Commonwealth to provide a social security number or a control number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.

3. Date of Birth

MM/DDIYYYY
4. Maiden or Former Name(s)

5. Mailing Address (PO Box accepted)

The mailing address will be
printed on the license.

City State Zip Code

6. Street Address (PO Box not accepted) [] Check here if Street Address is the same as the Mailing Address listed above.
PHYSICAL ADDRESS REQUIRED

City State Zip Code

7. Contact Numbers

Primary Telephone Alternate Telephone Fax

8. Email Address

Email address is considered a public record and will be disclosed upon request from a third party.

FINAL - APPROVED 2017

DATE FEE TRANS CODE ENTITY # FILE #/LICENSE # ISSUE DATE

OFFICE

ont 1020 13

A450-1301_02EXLIC-v13 Board for Barbers & Cosmetology/BARBER & INSTR EXAMILIC APP
02/01/2017 Page 1 of 4



FINAL - APPROVED 2017

9. Have you ever taken the Barber or Barber Instructor Examination in Virginia?
No []
Yes [] Ifyes, provide the following examination information
[ ] Barber Exam Month/Year taken:
[ ] Barber Instructor Exam Month/Year taken:
10.  Have you been previously licensed in Virginia as a practitioner or instructor in the fields of Barber, Cosmetology,
Nail Technician, or Wax Technician?
No []
Yes [] Ifyes, provide your license number and expiration date below
VA License Number Expiration Date
11.  Which method are you using to qualify for the examination? Select only ONE.
[] Completion of an approved barber training program in a Virginia licensed barber school or a Virginia public
school barber program approved by the Virginia Department of Education
Required Documentation: Attach a completed Training & Experience Verification Form
[] Completion of 1500 hours of barber training which is substantially equivalent to the Virginia program that is
obtained outside the Commonwealth of Virginia, but within the United States and its territories
Required Documentation: Attach a diploma or official school transcript indicating successful completion of 1500 hours of instruction or written
verification from the Licensing Board in the state where the 1500 hours of training were received
[[] Completion of substantially equivalent barber course (consisting of less than 1500 hours of training) and six
months of barber work experience. Both training and experience must be obtained outside the
Commonwealth of Virginia, but within the United States and its territories
Required Documentation: Attach a certificate, diploma or other documentation verifying successful completion of the barber course and a
completed Training & Experience Verification Form documenting at least six months of barber work experience
Completion of the Virginia apprenticeship program in barbering
Required Documentation: A completed Department of Labor and Industry form available from your apprenticeship representative
[] Virginia licensed cosmetologist with a minimum of two years of work experience
VA License Number Expiration Date
Required Documentation: Attach a completed Training & Experience Verification Form
[ ] Virginia licensed cosmetologist with less than two years of work experience and cosmetology student
enrolled in a Virginia barber training school and seeking credit for performances completed at a cosmetology
school
VA License Number Expiration Date
Required Documentation: Attach a completed Training & Experience Verification Form
(] Barber training obtained in any Virginia state institution
Required Documentation: Attach a completed Training & Experience Verification Form
Two years of barbering experience in the United States armed forces
Required Documentation: Attach a completed Training & Experience Verification Form
Applying to take the Instructor examination, provide Virginia license number
VA License Number Expiration Date
1 Previously licensed in Virginia by examination and past the reinstatement period.
Required Documentation: Verification from the Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology.
[] Endorsement applicant required to complete Virginia examination.
Required Documentation: Verification from the Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology.
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12. Do you hold a current or have you ever held a Barber, Cosmetology, Nail Technician,Fc;rN léx_ ﬁe%ﬁlﬁ{lg\a{rlwz chlgsle?

certification or registration issued by any state or territory of the United States (excluding Virginia)?
No []

Yes [] Ifyes, complete the following questions.

A. List the following state/jurisdiction where a license, certification or registration has been issued:

License, Certification or
Registration Number

State/Jurisdiction Expiration Date

B. Are you in good standing as a licensed, certified, or registered professional for the states/
jurisdictions listed above?

Yes []
No [] If no, provide an original Certification of Licensure’(dated within the last 60 days)
from each state/jurisdiction where you are not in good standing.

+ Certifications of Licensure, prepared by the state board or regulatory body must include: 1) the license/certification/registration number; 2) the initial
date of licensure; 3) the expiration date of the license 4) the means of obtaining licensure (i.e. exam, reciprocity, etc.) and the minimum requirement
that were met to qualify for licensure; and 5) all closed disciplinary actions resulting in a violation or undetermined finding. Certification must be
mailed directly to:

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233-1485

13.  Have you ever been subject to a disciplinary action taken by any (including Virginia) local, state or national regulatory
body? This includes but is not limited to any monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a
license in connection with a disciplinary action or voluntary termination of a license.

No []

Yes [ ] Ifyes, complete the Disciplinary Action Reporting Form.

14.  Have you ever had an application for licensure, certification or registration as a practitioner or instructor in the fields of
barbering, cosmetology, waxing, nail care, esthetics, body-piercing, or tattooing denied by any (including Virginia)
local, state or national regulatory body?

No []

Yes [] Ifyes, complete the Denial of Licensure Reporting Form.

15. A, Have you ever been convicted or found guilty, regardless of the manner of adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the
United States of any felony within the last 20 years? Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a
conviction.

No []

Yes [ ] Ifyes, complete the Criminal Conviction Reporting Form.
B. Have you been convicted or found guilty, regardless of the manner of adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the

United States of any misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution or physical
injury within the last two (2) years? Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction.

No []

Yes [] Ifyes, complete the Criminal Conviction Reporting Form.
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16.  Are you applying for a temporary permit? DOES NOT APPLY TO STUDENT INSTRUCTOR TEMPORARY PERMITS.
No []
Yes [ ] Ifyes, your sponsor must complete and sign the following sponsorship statement:
I, the undersigned, agree to supervise all activities related to the practice of barbering for the
named applicant, and shall be responsible for his/her barber activities during the time the
temporary permit is in force.

Printed Name of Sponsor Signature of Sponsor

Sponsor's Virginia Barber's License No.

17. By signing this application, | certify the following statements:

e | am aware that submitting false information or omitting pertinent or material information in connection with this
application will delay processing and may lead to license revocation or denial of license.

® | will notify the Board of any changes to the information provided in this application prior to receiving the
requested license, certification, or registration including, but not limited to any disciplinary action or conviction of
a felony or misdemeanor (in any jurisdiction).

e | authorize the Department to verify information concerning me or any statement in this application from any
person, or any source the department may contact. | also agree to present any credentials or documents
required or requested by the Department.

® | authorize any federal, state or local government agency, current or former employer, or other individual or
business to release information which may be required for a background investigation.

® | have read, understand and complied with all the laws of Virginia related to this profession under the provisions
of Title 54.1, Chapter 7, of the Code of Virginia and the Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology
Regulations.

Signature Date

18.  Attach a professional passport compliant 2" x 2" color photo taken within the last 6 months to reflect your current
appearance. It must meet the following requirements:

= sized so that your head is approximately 1 inch from the bottom of the chin to the top of the head
= taken in front of a plain white background
=  be afull-face view, directly facing the camera with a neutral facial expression

Attach Photo Here.
Photocopy pictures are
not permitted.
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