Commonwealth of Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400 Richmond, Virginia 23233-1485 (804) 367-8509 www.dpor.virginia.gov



Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION APPLICATION

Excluding examination applicants

A check or money order payable to the <u>TREASURER OF VIRGINIA</u>, or a completed <u>credit card insert</u> must be mailed with your application package. APPLICATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE.

To hold an instructor certificate, applicants are required to hold a current Virginia practitioner license.

Please select the certificate you are requesting in the chart below specifying current license number and means of applying for Instructor Certification.

CERTIFICATE		Last 6 digits of CURRENT LICENSE NUMBER		BY ENDORSEMENT		BY COURSE		BY EXPERIENCE		FEE	
				X	Trans	X	Trans	X	Trans		
1302 - Ba	arber Instructor	ſ	1301			1021		1022			\$125
1204 - C	osmetology Ins	structor *	1201			1021		1022			\$125
1207 - N	ail Technician I	Instructor	1206	1206		1021		1022			\$125
1215 - W	/ax Technician	Instructor	1214			1021		1022			\$125
1262 - E	sthetician Instru	uctor	1261			1021		1022			\$125
1265 - M	laster Estheticia	an Instructor	1264			1021		1022			\$125
1239 - Tattooing Instructor			1231							1022	\$125
·			. 1236							1022	\$125
	* An individual holding a Cosmetology Instructor Certificate can teach nail care and waxing without obtaining a separate Nail Technician or Wax Technician Instructor Certificate.										
1. Na	ame			First			Middle				eneration
2. Pr	rovide <u>one</u> of	the following i	dentification r	numbers.							
	Social Security Number or Virginia DMV Control Number *										
 State law requires every applicant for a license, certificate, registration or other authorization to engage in a business, trade, profession or occupation issued by the Commonwealth to provide a social security number or a control number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. 											
3. Da	ate of Birth	MM/DD/	/YYY								
4. Maiden Name or Former Surname(s)											
5. M											
	f a mailing addre		1 7								
address will be printed on the license.								State	Zip	Code	
6. St											
				City					State	Zip	Code
Office Use Only	DATE	FEE	TRANS CODE	ENTITY #		F	FILE #/LICEN	ISE #		ISSU	E DATE

7.	Email Address			
8.	Contact Numbers	Primary Telephone	Alternate Telephone	Fax
9.	Cosmetic Tattooer, M No Yes If yes, J	or <u>expired</u> Virginia Barber, Cosaster Permanent Cosmetic Tatt	smetology, Nail Technician, Wax T tooer, Esthetician or Master Estheti d expiration date below	echnician, Tattooer, Permanent cian License?
10		ense Number		ration Date
10.	No 🗌	 vhich method are you using to a Application by Course: Which of the following Barl courses have you successfue A course in teachir <i>Required Documenta</i> An instructor train Cosmetology und technician or wax technician or wax to <i>Required Documenta</i> Application by Endorsement: Provide an original Certification instruct barbering, Mailed in an uno 	ng techniques at post-secondary le <i>tion: Transcripts and/or diploma</i> ning course approved by the Vi ler the supervision of a certific technician instructor (respectively) <i>tion: Transcripts and/or diploma and a written o</i>	n? Select one. n, or Wax Technician Instructor vel rginia Board for Barbers and ed barber, cosmetology, nail <i>evaluation by the instructor</i> ne last 60 days) that must be: ch you are currently licensed to and r signature of the state board
11.	No Yes If yes, a	•	n Instructor Certification? eting a course in teaching technique	es at a post-secondary level.
10	-	ed Documentation: Transcripts and/or dip		
12.	No Yes If yes, of tatto <i>More i</i>	please complete the <u><i>Tattoo Tra</i></u> ping work experience within the han one form may be submitted to doo	c Tattooing Instructor Certification? <u>aining & Experience Verification</u> previous five years and attach to t cument three years of work experience. Previous form to PCS. Attach to this app tion.	<i>Form</i> documenting <i>three years</i> his application.
13.	Have you ever been body? No Yes If yes,	subject to a disciplinary action	taken by <u>any</u> (including Virginia) lo nal order, decree or case decision	

14. Have you ever had an application for licensure, certification or registration as a practitioner or instructor in the fields of barbering, cosmetology, waxing, nail care, esthetics, body-piercing, or tattooing denied by any (including Virginia) local, state or national regulatory body?

No 🗌

- Yes 🗌 If yes, provide a certified copy of the final order, decree or case decision by a court or regulatory agency with lawful authority to issue such order, decree or case decision.
- 15. Have you ever been convicted in any jurisdiction of a *misdemeanor and/or felony*? Any guilty plea or plea of nolo contendere must be disclosed on this application. Do not disclose violations that were adjudicated as a minor in the juvenile court system.

No

- Yes If yes, applicants are <u>required</u> to attach an <u>original criminal history record</u> issued by the Virginia State police. Applicants with convictions from other jurisdictions, other than Virginia; must provide an original official criminal history record from each state in which they have convictions. Virginia residents may request complete criminal records from the Virginia State Police at <u>www.vsp.state.va.us</u> or by phone at 804-674-6718.
- For each conviction, please provide a certified copy of the final order, decree, or case decision by a court or regulatory agency with lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or case decision; <u>and</u> any other information you wish to have considered with this application (e.g., information on the status of incarceration, parole or probation; reference letters; documentation of rehabilitation etc.).
- 16. I, the undersigned, certify that the foregoing statements and answers are true, and I have not suppressed any information that might affect the decision to approve this application. I certify that I will notify the Department if I am subject to any disciplinary action or convicted of a felony or misdemeanor (in any jurisdiction) prior to receiving the requested license. I certify that I have read, understood and complied with all the laws of Virginia under the provisions of Title 54.1, Chapter 7 of the *Code of Virginia* and the *Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology Regulations* or *Wax Technician Regulations, Tattooing Regulations*, or *Esthetics Regulations as applicable.*

Signature		Date	
-----------	--	------	--