Commonwealth of Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400 Richmond, Virginia 23233-1485 (804) 367-8509 www.dpor.virginia.gov



Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation

## Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology LICENSE BY ENDORSEMENT APPLICATION

**FINAL - PENDING APPROVAL** 

## A check or money order payable to the <u>TREASURER OF VIRGINIA</u>, or a completed <u>credit card insert</u> must be mailed with your application package. APPLICATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE.

- > You must hold a **CURRENT** license or certificate listed in the following table to apply through endorsement.
- If you do not hold a current license/certificate in another state or jurisdiction, this application cannot be processed.
- For Barbers and Cosmetologist, if your training was less than 1200 hours, you are not eligible for license by endorsement.
- A Certification of Licensure (dated within the last 60 days) is required to obtain licensure.

## Select one license type you are requesting:

Х	License Type				License Type - Instructor				
	Fee \$75.00			Fee \$100.00					
	1301	Barber License		1302	Barber Instructor Certificate				
	1201	Cosmetology License		1204	Cosmetology Instructor Certificate *				
	1206	Nail Technician License		1207	Nail Technician Instructor Certificate				
	1214	Wax Technician License		1215	Wax Technician Instructor Certificate				
	1231	Tattooer License							
	1236	Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer License							
	1237	Master Perm. Cosmetic Tattooer License							
	1241	Body Piercer License							
	1261	Esthetician License							
	1264	Master Esthetician License							

- \* An individual holding a **Cosmetology Instructor Certificate** may teach a <u>nail technician</u> and <u>wax technician</u> program without obtaining a separate Nail Technician Instructor or Wax Technician Instructor Certificate.
- Are you applying for an <u>Instructor</u> certificate or have you been <u>previously</u> licensed in Virginia as a barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, wax technician, body piercer, esthetician, master esthetician, tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent cosmetic tattooer?
  - No 🗌

Yes  $\Box$  If yes, provide your Virginia license number and expiration date:

VA License Number

Expiration Date

1. Full Legal Name (As it appears on your government issued ID or other legal documentation.)

	Last (required)	First (required)					N	liddle					 Ger	neration
2.	Provide at least one of the follow	ving identification numbe	ers*:											
	Social Security Number and	nd/or				-			] -					
	Virginia DMV Control Number	۶r												
	<ul> <li>Enter the same identification number</li> </ul>	as used on examination, previou	s appl	icatio	ins or	licen	ises (	on file	with th	ne depa	rtment	t.		
	State law requires every applicant for by the Commonwealth to provide a second term of the commonwealth term of the commonwealth term of the common term of term of ter												occupati	on issued

3. Date of Birth

- MM/DD/YYYY
- 4. Maiden or Former Name(s)

**FINAL - PENDING APPROVAL** 

OFFICE	DATE	FEE	TRANS CODE	ENTITY #	FILE #/LICENSE #	ISSUE DATE
OFFICE USE ONLY			1021			

## FINAL - PENDING APPROVAL

5.	The mailing address (PO Box The mailing address will printed on the license	lbe				
	printed on the license.		City		State	Zip Code
6.	6. Street Address (PO Box <u>not</u> accepted) PHYSICAL ADDRESS REQUIRED			Check here if Street Address is the <u>same</u> as the Mailing A	ddress listed abo	ive.
			City		State	Zip Code
7.	Contact Numbers					
		Primary Telep	hone	Alternate Telephone		Fax
8.	Email Address					
		Email addres	s is con	sidered a public record and will be disclosed upon rec	quest from a thi	rd party.

Do you hold a *current* barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, wax technician, body piercer, esthetician, master 9. esthetician, tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent cosmetic tattooer license, certification or registration issued by any state or territory of the United States (excluding Virginia)?

No If no, this application <u>cannot</u> be processed. Complete the <u>Exam & License application</u>.

- Yes 🗌 If yes, complete the following questions:
  - Α. List the following state/jurisdiction where a license, certification or registration has been issued: (List all *current* and *expired* professional types listed above.)

Professional Type	State/Jurisdiction	License, Certification or Registration Number	Expiration Date		

- Are you in good standing as a licensed, certified, or registered professional for the states/jurisdictions Β. listed in question 9.A?
  - Yes 🗌
  - No

Mailing Address (DO Day seconds)

 $\square$ If <u>no</u>, provide an original Certification of Licensure<sup>\*</sup>(dated within the last 60 days) from each state/jurisdiction where you are *not* in good standing.

- C. Have you successfully completed any *training* or an *apprenticeship program* to become a licensed, certified or registered professional for the states/jurisdictions listed in guestion 9.A?
  - If no, you do not qualify by Endorsement. Complete the Exam and License Application. No
  - Yes
- If yes, provide a Certification of Licensure/Letter of Good Standing<sup>+</sup> (dated within the last  $\square$ 60 days) prepared by the state board or regulatory body. Provide the following:

Training : (Total hours completed) +

Apprenticeship Program : (Total hours completed)

+ For Barbers and Cosmetologist, if your training was less than 1200 hours, you are not eligible for a license by endorsement.

- D. Have you successfully completed an *examination* to become a licensed, certified or registered professional for the states/jurisdictions listed in question 9.A?
  - No If no, you <u>do not qualify</u> by Endorsement. Complete the <u>Exam and License Application</u>.

Yes [

□ If yes, provide a <u>Certification of Licensure/Letter of Good Standing</u><sup>+</sup> (dated within the last 60 days) prepared by the state board or regulatory body.

Certifications of Licensure/Letter of Good Standing; prepared by the state board or regulatory body must include: 1) the license/certification/registration number; 2) the initial date of licensure; 3) the expiration date of the license 4) the means of obtaining licensure (i.e. exam, reciprocity, etc.) and the minimum requirement that were met to qualify for licensure; and 5) all closed disciplinary actions resulting in a violation or undetermined finding. Certification must be mailed directly to:

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233-1485

10. Have you ever been subject to a <u>disciplinary action</u> taken by <u>any</u> (including Virginia) local, state or national regulatory body? This includes but is not limited to any monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary action or voluntary termination of a license.

NL-	
INO	

- Yes If yes, complete the Disciplinary Action Reporting Form.
- 11. Have you ever had an application for licensure, certification or registration as a practitioner or instructor in the fields of barbering, cosmetology, waxing, nail care, esthetics, body-piercing, or tattooing <u>denied</u> by any (including Virginia) local, state or national regulatory body?
  - No 🗌
  - Yes If yes, complete the Denial of Licensure Reporting Form.
- 12. A. Have you ever been convicted or found guilty, regardless of the manner of adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the United States of any <u>felony</u> within the last 20 years? *Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction.*

No	
No	

- Yes If yes, complete the Criminal Conviction Reporting Form.
- B. Have you been convicted or found guilty, regardless of the manner of adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the United States of any <u>misdemeanor</u> involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution or physical injury within the last two (2) years? *Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction.* 
  - No 🗌
  - Yes If yes, complete the <u>Criminal Conviction Reporting Form</u>.

- 13. By signing this application, I certify the following statements:
  - I am aware that submitting false information or omitting pertinent or material information in connection with this application will delay processing and may lead to license revocation or denial of license.
  - I will notify the Board of any changes to the information provided in this application prior to receiving the requested license, certification, or registration including, but not limited to any disciplinary action or conviction of a felony or misdemeanor (in any jurisdiction).
  - I authorize the Department to verify information concerning me or any statement in this application from any person, or any source the department may contact. I also agree to present any credentials or documents required or requested by the Department.
  - I authorize any federal, state or local government agency, current or former employer, or other individual or business to release information which may be required for a background investigation.
  - I have read, understand and complied with all the laws of Virginia related to this profession under the provisions of Title 54.1, Chapter 7, of the *Code of Virginia* and the *Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology Regulations, Tattooing Regulations, Body Piercing Regulations and Esthetics Regulations as applicable.*

Signature		Date	
-----------	--	------	--