
Commonwealth of Virginia 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 
Post Office Box 29570 
Richmond, Virginia 23242-0570 
(804) 367-8595 
 
 

 
Board for Asbestos, Lead, Mold and Home Inspectors 

HOME INSPECTOR CERTIFICATE APPLICATION 
Fee $25.00 

A check or money order payable to the TREASURER OF VIRGINIA, or 
a completed credit card insert must be mailed with your application package. 

APPLICATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE. 

 To obtain a home inspector certificate, your application package must include 1) a complete and legible HOME 
INSPECTOR CERTIFICATE APPLICATION; 2) either a completed HOME INSPECTOR EXPERIENCE VERIFICATION 
form or a detailed list of home inspections you have completed; 3) copies of any training certificates proving that you 
successfully completed the required contact hours of classroom instruction; 4) evidence of having passed a written 
competency examination approved by the Board; and 5) evidence of having obtained general liability insurance of at least 
$250,000. 

 

1.  Name                       

   First Middle Last Generation 
      (SR, JR, III, etc.) 

2.  Social Security Number     -   -      

3.  Date of Birth        

4.  Home Street Address (PO Box not accepted)       

  City, State, Zip Code       

5.  Business Address (if different from home)       

  City, State, Zip Code       

6.  E-mail Address       

7.  Telephone & Facsimile Numbers (   )    -      (   )    -      (   )    -     
   Telephone  Facsimile  Beeper/Cellular    
8.  Do you hold a current or expired home inspector certification issued by the Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead Mold and 

Home Inspectors? 
   No   
   Yes  If yes, please provide the Virginia certificate number and expiration date. 
   Virginia Certificate Number  3 3 8 0       Expiration Date       
   

9.  Do you hold a membership in either a national or state professional home inspectors association, which may qualify 
you for certification because the requirements for such membership are equal to or exceed the requirements for 
certification in Virginia? 

   No         
   Yes  If yes, all education, experience and examination must be documented on a Home Inspector 

Association Membership Form completed by the association.  Skip to #11. 
   

10.  Which of the following methods of certification are you using to qualify for a Virginia Home Inspector Certification? 
    35 contact hours of classroom instruction and 100 home inspections. 
    70 contact hours of classroom instruction and 50 home inspections. 
    10 years of experience as a home inspector. 

 
 DATE FEE CLASS OF FEE LICENSE NUMBER ISSUE DATE 
OFFICE 
USE 
ONLY 

   

3 3 8 0  
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11.  Have you ever been subject to a disciplinary action imposed by any (including Virginia) local, state or national 
regulatory body? 

   No   
         Yes  If yes, please provide a certified copy of the final order, decree or case decision by a court or regulatory 

agency with lawful authority to issue such order, decree or case decision. 
   

12. Have you ever been convicted or found guilty, regardless of adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the United States of a 
misdemeanor involving violence, repeat offenses, multiple offenses or crimes that endangered public health or safety, 
OR of any felony, there being no appeal pending therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed.  Any plea of nolo 
contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this application. 

   No   
         Yes  If yes, list the felony and/or misdemeanor conviction(s).  Attach your original criminal history record and 

any other information you wish to have considered with this application (i.e., information on the status 
of incarceration, parole, or probation; reference letters; documentation of rehabilitation; etc.).  If 
necessary, you may attach a separate sheet of paper. 
 
Original criminal history records may be obtained by contacting the state police in the jurisdiction in which you 
were convicted.  Virginia residents must complete a criminal history record request form in the presence of a 
notary public and mail it to the Department of State Police, Central Criminal Records Exchange, Post Office Box 
27472, Midlothian, Virginia 23261-7472. 

         
         
         
         
         

   
13.  I, the undersigned, certify that the foregoing statements and answers are true, and I have not suppressed any 

information that might affect the Board’s decision to approve this application.  I verify that during the past three years, 
there were no suspensions or revocations of any authorizations I hold to perform home inspections, nor are there any 
pending enforcement actions involving any home inspection certificate.  I will notify the Department if I am subject to 
any disciplinary action or convicted of any felony or misdemeanor charges (in any jurisdiction) prior to receiving the 
requested certificate.  I also certify that I understand, and have complied with, all the laws of Virginia related to 
certification under the provisions of Title 54.1, Chapters 1, 2, 3, and 5 of the Code of Virginia and the Virginia Certified 
Home Inspectors Regulations. 

  Signature  Date       

 
   S t a t e  l a w  r e q u i r e s  e v e r y  a p p l i c a n t  f o r  a  l i c e n s e ,  c e r t i f i c a t e ,  r e g i s t r a t i o n  o r  o t h e r  a u t h o r i z a t i o n  t o  e n g a g e  i n  a  b u s i n e s s ,  t r a d e ,  

p r o f e s s i o n  o r  o c c u p a t i o n  i s s u e d  b y  t h e  C o m m o n w e a l t h  t o  p r o v i d e  a  s o c i a l  s e c u r i t y  n u m b e r  o r  a  c o n t r o l  n u m b e r  i s s u e d  b y  t h e  
V i r g i n i a  D e p a r t m e n t  o f  M o t o r  V e h i c l e s .  
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	Fee $25.00

