Class A Third Party Tester Driver Training School Curriculum Requirements

Driver training instructional courses offered for the purpose of operating commercial motor vehicles as defined by Virginia Code § 46.2-341.4, including passenger and/or property carrying vehicles, will consist of both classroom and in-vehicle training. The CDL driver training school shall submit to DMV a curriculum for approval with copies of the following:

- The paper copy of the course, including a description of the course curriculum and a table of contents or index indicating where all required components specified are located
- An instructor training manual
- ▶ The student workbook/manual
- ▶ A student contract (see DTS31)
- School policies and procedures
- Lesson plans
- Road Skills Test Route (primary and secondary test routes) along with a copy of the map outlining both test routes

The course materials must be free of racial, ethnic and gender stereotypes, and must clearly define the purpose, goals, and objectives of the program. The purpose should be concisely stated with specific components.

DMV may request copies of the curriculum, including training materials, at any time. Once a curriculum is approved, subsequent changes to that curriculum must be submitted to DMV for approval.

It is the responsibility of the school to make accommodations that conform to the requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).

The DMV approved training course will consist of a minimum of 160 hours of instruction (a minimum of 40 hours of classroom instruction and a minimum 120 hours of in-vehicle instruction). Both classroom and in-vehicle training sessions will be limited to a maximum of ten hours per day.

Classroom Instruction Requirements

The classroom instruction shall include, but need not be limited to, the following:

- State motor vehicle laws, including those specifically relating to:
 - Registration, proof of insurance and licensing laws
 - ▶ Special taxes
- Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration rules and regulations relating to:
 - ▶ Medical reviews
 - Operation of commercial motor vehicles, such as trucks
 - Commercial tractor, trailers, and semi-trailers, and motor vehicles
 - ➤ Transporting flammable or hazardous cargo
- Virginia laws relating to equipment, brake systems, lighting, and display of emergency equipment
- ▶ Additional subjects including:
 - ▶ Responding to different types of drivers (e.g., teen drivers, mature drivers, etc.)
 - ► Accident reporting and safety responsibility laws
 - ▶ Safe driving strategies/principles
- Instruction concerning traffic stops including:
 - ► Law-enforcement procedures for traffic stops
 - ▶ Appropriate actions to be taken by drivers during traffic stops
 - ▶ Appropriate interactions with law-enforcement officers who initiate traffic stops
- Awareness of unsafe, unacceptable driving practices to avoid, including:
 - ▶ Aggressive driving
 - Distracted driving
 - ▶ Alcohol/drug awareness
 - ▶ Motorcycle safety awareness
 - ▶ Truck safety
 - ▶ Bicycle safety
 - ▶ Pedestrian safety
 - ▶ Railroad crossings requirements
 - Driving conditions
 - ▶ Emergencies on the road

- ► City and suburban driving, rural and expressway driving
- ▶ Handicapped parking
- Routine service and pre-trip safety check
- ▶ Fuel efficient driving
- ► Log book lessons and map reading
- Use of occupant safety devices and their benefits and effectiveness in motor vehicle collisions, including:
 - ▶ Flares, triangles or reflectors
 - ▶ Fire extinguishers
 - ▶ Safety belts
 - ▶ Hazmat emergency handbooks
- ► Human trafficking course material must include the following:
 - ▶ What is human trafficking
 - ► How to recognize the signs of human trafficking
 - ► Empowering your company and training drivers
 - What you should do if you suspect human trafficking
 - ▶ When to contact law enforcement
 - ▶ How to prevent human trafficking
 - ▶ National hotline telephone number: 1-888-373-7888
 - Refer to the Virginia Commercial Driver's Manual (DMV60A) for additional information on human trafficking provided by Truckers Against Trafficking, a non-profit organization.

Not more than 30 percent of the total classroom hours may be devoted to the showing of slides or films.

In-vehicle Instruction Requirements

The minimum amount of space needed to conduct the basic control skills maneuvers is 375 feet in length by 80 feet wide.

Note: Measurements are based on the maneuvers required for CDL skills test in the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administration.

The in-vehicle instruction shall include, but need not to be limited to, the following:

- Vehicle Pre-Trip Inspection
 Note: Pre-trip inspections shall
 include routine checking and
 servicing of all component parts of
 the Commercial vehicle
- ▶ Basic Controlled Skills Maneuvers:
 - Straight-line backing
 - Offset backing (left and right)
 - ▶ Parallel parking (conventional and sight side)
- Starting
- Stopping
- Turning
- Braking
- Parking
- Docking
- Hooking-up and unhooking trailers and semi-trailers
- Display of emergency equipment
- Use of hazard lighting system

For in-vehicle instruction, the number of occupants, including the driver and instructor, will be limited to no more than five persons in the cab during periods of instruction as prescribed by regulation.

Road Skills Test Route

All CDL road skills examinations must be performed on either a primary or secondary route that has been approved by DMV.

Each skills test route must include the following maneuvers:

- ▶ 4 left turns
- 4 right turns
- 1 lane change to left
- 1 lane change to right
- ▶ 1 bridge or underpass
- ▶ 2 pass through an intersection
- ▶ 2 stops at an intersection
- ▶ 1 railroad cross (when possible if not possible to simulate)
- 1 straight section of urban business street

- 1 curve to the left
- ▶ 1 curve to the right
- Section of expressway or highway
- ▶ Roadside stop/start
- Student discharge (if required)
- Weight restriction or traffic sign or low clearance (must include 2 of the 3 maneuvers)

Schools must retain a map displaying both the primary and secondary routes on file.

Passenger-carrying Instruction Requirements

- Passenger carrying vehicle courses must include the same instruction requirements as set forth above, and shall include, but not be limited to the following:
- Occupant protection and accommodation, including:
 - Passenger loading and unloading practices
 - Emergency situation procedures, including emergency passenger evacuation and exit procedures
 - ▶ Seating limitations
 - Requirements regarding provisions to accommodate passengers under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)
 - ▶ Baggage loading and unloading, and weight distribution



Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles Post Office Box 27412 Richmond, Virginia 23269-0001 (804) 497-7100