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VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES  
OFFICE OF PESTICIDE SERVICES  

PO Box 526  •  Richmond, VA 23218 
102 Governor Street, Lower Level, Richmond, VA 23219 

Phone:  (804) 786-3798  •  Fax: (804) 786-9149  • www.vdacs.virginia.gov   

PESTICIDE REGISTERED TECHNICIAN REQUEST 
FOR AUTHORIZATION TO TAKE 

PESTICIDE APPLICATOR EXAMINATION 
(Do not use for initial certification or certificate renewal) 

 
 
In accordance with of the Virginia Pesticide Control Act, and regulations adopted thereunder, application is hereby made 
to take the written examination for Registered Technician. 
 
Please check the reason for requesting examination: 
 
      Retesting (previous exams not passed or taken).  Customer Number:  _______________________  
                                                                                                                      (On prior authorization letter).                             
 
      Reinstate an expired certificate.  Certification Number:  _____________________ 
 
      Recertify in lieu of attending a recertification course.  All fees waived if the test is administered prior to August 29th and 
      the non-refundable renewal fee has already been paid.  Certification Number:  _____________________ 
 
The two-year non-refundable certification fee is $30.00. Please make check payable to: Treasurer of Virginia.    
Mail application and check to the above address.  Federal, State, and Local Government employees are exempt from fee.   
Certificates expire on June 30. 
 
Please type or print the following information:   
 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (REQUIRED):  -  -  DATE OF BIRTH:  

NAME OF APPLICANT:  
 (Last) (First) (M.I.) 

MAILING ADDRESS:   COUNTY:  
 (Street or RFD)   

CITY:  STATE:  ZIP CODE:  

HOME PHONE: (        )         - EMAIL:  
EMPLOYED BY (Company or agency you work for):  
DATE OF HIRE OR TRANSFER (REQUIRED):  
PESTICIDE BUSINESS LICENSE NO.:  BUSINESS PHONE NO.: (        )         - 

BUSINESS ADDRESS:  COUNTY:  
 (Street or RFD)   

CITY:  STATE:  ZIP CODE:  
 
I certify by signing below that I am the person applying for certification and that I have received at least 40 hours of training 
in the skills necessary to properly apply pesticides in the performance of my job.  I agree to abide by all the laws and 
regulations governing pesticide usage. 
 
 
Signature of Applicant:          Date:      

 
 

 APPLICATION FEE:     $30.00 
 

      VDACS ACCT.  756-09-02437 
 

                                              VDACS-07212-B    09/16 
 

 
 
 

 
(SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR TESTING INSTRUCTIONS) 

FOR DEPARTMENT USE ONLY 
Certificate No.:       
    Date Keyed:      
       Keyed By:      
      



 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING REGISTERED TECHNICIAN CERTIFICATION PROCESS 

1. Return the completed application with payment. (Government employees are fee- exempt). Upon 
agency review and approval, you will be sent a Notice of Authorization to take the certification exam.  

 
2. Individuals must take the exam within 90 days of being hired or transferred into a position where duties 

and functions involve the commercial use of pesticides.  Individuals failing to take and pass the exam 
within 90 days of the initial examination may not apply pesticides commercially, even under the direct 
on site supervision of a certified commercial applicator, until they reapply, following the procedures 
outlined in 2VAC5-685-20 and pass the examination.   

 
3. After receiving a Notice of Authorization, report to an approved VDACS or DMV testing location to take 

the written examination, a 50 question multiple choice test.  Computerized exams at the DMV 
Customer Service Centers are scored as you are taking them, and you will be notified of your score as 
you complete each exam. Written exams taken at VDACS testing centers will be sent to the Office of 
Pesticide Services in Richmond to be scored.   
 

4. If you pass the Registered Technician examination, the Office of Pesticide Services (OPS) will notify 
you, and send you your certificate, generally within 10 work days. If you take and pass your exam at 
one of the DMV Customer Service Centers, you will be issued a temporary certificate which is good for 
seven days. Your permanent certificate will be mailed to you by OPS within seven days.   

 
Upon certification, Registered Technicians may apply general-use pesticides unsupervised and 
restricted-use pesticides only under the direct supervision of a Certified Commercial Applicator.  
 

 


