### VIRGINIA BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 Richmond, VA 23233-1463 (804) 367-4441

Website: <a href="www.dhp.virginia.gov/social">www.dhp.virginia.gov/social</a>
E-mail: <a href="mailto:socialwork@dhp.virginia.gov">socialwork@dhp.virginia.gov</a>

# GENERAL INFORMATION FOR LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION AS A LICENSED SOCIAL WORKER

This application is **NOT** for licensure to practice at the **autonomous level** as a Clinical Social Worker

Enclosed are regulations of the Virginia Board of Social Work. Please read the Regulations before completing your application for licensure.

<u>Office simultaneously.</u> If upon administrative review your application is found incomplete, it will be returned. Complete applications will be submitted to the Credentials Committee of the Board of Social Work for approval. Application reviews are conducted on a monthly basis. **If approved you will receive notification with further instructions regarding the examination**. If the Credentials Committee requires additional information, you will be advised accordingly.

If you want verification that your completed application packet has reached the Board Office, send it certified return receipt requested mail.

## **BASIC EXAMINATION**

All candidates must pass a written examination. Virginia offers the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) basic level examination. Board approval of the application for licensure must be granted before an applicant is permitted to register to sit for the Virginia Examination.

The examination is administered through a networked personal computer. The examination consists of 170 multiple-choice questions. An outline for the examination is included in the Candidate Handbook, which will be sent to you **once you are approved** to sit for the examination. **Study guides may be purchased from ASWB at (540) 829-6880**. The exam is administered Monday - Friday.

If special testing arrangements are required, it is your responsibility to notify the Board Office in a timely manner so that the necessary forms may be completed and forwarded to the testing service.

- > Applications are reviewed once a month. After the review, <u>you are notified in writing</u> within two weeks of the review whether approval to sit for the exam has been granted.
- ➤ Once you have taken the Exam it takes about 2-3 weeks for the board office to receive the official score report. Once the board office has received the score report the applicant is issued and mailed a license that day or the following day, which takes about 7 to 10 working days to receive. You are not a licensee until the Board issues a license.

### APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

**Submit the application materials in <u>one package</u> to the address indicated above.** Please review this checklist to make certain that all the required documents submitted. You make additional of any form needed.

**APPLICANTS WITH A MASTER'S DEGREE** – Submit items 1-4 below. **APPLICANTS WITH A BACHELOR'S DEGREE** – Submit items 1-6 below.

- 1. FEE. Submit a \$100.00 check or money order made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia. This is a non-refundable fee.
- 2. A COMPLETED NOTARIZED APPLICATION (Form 1): In a accordance with §54.1-116 of the *Code of Virginia*, you are required to include your Social Security Number, or your *Virginia* Department of Motor Vehicles control number on your application. Federal and state law requires that this number be shared with other agencies for child support enforcement activities. This number will be used by the Department of Health Professions for identification and will not be disclosed for other purposes except as provided for by law. Applications that lack this information will not be processed, and fees will not be refunded.
- **3. VERIFICATION OF EDUCATION**: An official transcript in the **original sealed envelope** submitted from the Undergraduate/graduate School <u>directly to the applicant</u>.
- 4. OUT-OF-STATE LICENSURE VERIFICATION (Form 4): For every licensure or certification held to practice social work whether current or expired, please send the enclosed verification form to the issuing jurisdiction. This verification is to be completed by the issuing jurisdiction and mailed back to you and included in your application packet. (Some jurisdictions charge a fee for this service check before sending forms).

### For BSW graduates only

—5. VERIFICATION OF CASEWORK MANAGEMENT AND SUPPORTIVE SERVICES: (Form 2) Submit the verification forms documenting at least two years of post-BSW degree supervised experience and 100 hours of face-to-face supervision as specified in 18 VAC 140-20-60(D)(4). These forms may be duplicated if additional forms are needed.

### — 6. LICENSURE VERIFICATION OF OUT-OF STATE SUPERVISOR:

(Form 3): If your supervisor does not hold a Virginia social worker license, please have your supervisor and the issuing jurisdiction complete the enclosed verification form. This form is to be completed by the issuing jurisdiction and mailed back to you and included in your application packet. (Some jurisdictions charge a fee for this service check before sending forms).