Commonwealth of Virginia
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400
Richmond, Virginia 23233-1485
(804) 367-2406
www.dpor.virginia.gov



Real Estate Board PRELICENSE EDUCATION COURSE APPROVAL APPLICATION No Fee Required

Once a course is approved, it may not be substantially altered. A substantial alteration is any change that would modify the content or time allocations stated in the course outline or change any of the stated course topics. If a course is altered, the revised/new course must be submitted for Board approval. Education Providers must notify the Board concerning any change in administrative information.

1.	Education Provider Name							
2.	Education Provider Number							
3.	Email Address							
		(Address must be the same as	the address on record w	vith the Board for the Edu	cation Provider.)			
4.	Name of Contact Person							
5.	Contact Number	Primary Telephone	Extension	_				
6.	Course Delivery Type Classroom On-line Correspondence Other Distance Learning Correspondence, On-Line and Other Distance Learning courses must include appropriate testing procedures (quiz or examination) to verify course completion and a Notarized Affidavit Form to certify student course compliance requirements.							
7.	Is this course Board-approved for another education provider? No Yes If yes, write the Board's course approval number below and attach a letter from the approved education provider authorizing your school to use the approved course. Board's approval number: (See <u>Required Attachments</u> * on page 2)							
8.	Describe method of monitoring attendance							
9.	Describe method of maintaining records							
	ADDDOVAL NO DROVEDAGE LAW	ENANCE	ADDDAICAL	OTHER	DDINGIDLES & DDAGTIGES			
OFFICE USE ONLY	APPROVAL NO. BROKERAGE LAW	FINANCE	APPRAISAL	OTHER	PRINCIPLES & PRACTICES			
		-	TRANS	1	FILE NO.			
			1005/1030	0214				

10). Select <u>one</u> c	Select one of the following Prelicense Education course types:				
	Sales	sperson - 60 hours	Course Title:	Prin	ciples and Practices of Real Estate	
	Broke	er - 45 hours	Course Title:	(Sel	ect one course title below)	
		Real Estate Brokera	ige		Real Estate Law	
		Real Estate Finance)		Real Estate Appraisal	
		Other (provide cours	se title):			
11			0 0		ents and answers are true, and that I have not suppressed any oprove this application.	
	Contact Pers	on's Signature			Date	
			DEOLII	DED	ATTACHMENTS.	
ь.					ATTACHMENTS:	
	-	•			order behind the completed course application. Then follow purse Application Electronically."	
La		ent according to the				
	#4 - Cours	se Research Assignment	ts"; "Attachment	#5 - C	t #2 - Instructor's Certificate"; "Attachment #3 - Course's Content"; "Attachment ourse Quizzes & Examination"; "Attachment #6 - Course Final Examination"; and "Attachment #8 - Course Timer."	
*	Attachment #1 - A comprehensive Timed Course Outline (TCO) indicating: a) the number of days the course will mee b) the number of class hours for each meeting day; c) the course content covered during each hou and d) for a Salesperson course, indicate where each of the 25 required subjects in 18 VAC 135-20-40 of the Board's regulations will be covered (see Exhibit #1). The TCO must include detailed, clear information for each course section. Course applications with inadequate TCOs will be rejected.					
*	Attachment #2 -	- A copy of the Virginia Real Estate Board Instructor Prelicense Education Certificate for all course instructors.				
					and table of contents or a copy of the course materials.	
*		A description of any research assignments and copy of any research materials.				
~	Allachment #5 -	at #5 - A copy of the final exam (indicate percentage of correct questions required to pass the final exam), and a copy of all tests and guizzes.				
*	Attachment #6 -	A description of how the written, monitored final exam will be administered.				
*	Attachment #7 -	ment #7 - A copy of the Course Completion Certificate (CCC). Please include the following information on the CCC: 1) Official School Name; 2) Student's Name; 3) Course Name; 4) Course Approval Number; 5) Course Hours; 6) Course Completion Date; 7) A statement that this course is approved by the Virginia Real Estate Board for Pre-License Education pursuant to Section 54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia; and 8) The name and signature of the School Director/Administrator.				
*	Attachment #8 -	Evidence of a cour	se timer (requi	red or	nly for on-line or other distance learning courses).	
*		already Board-appro ve (#5), six (#6), seve			cation provider, you are only required to submit Attachments one - if required).	

A490-0214PRE-v2 01/01/2014 Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation

Terence R. McAuliffe Governor Maurice Jones Secretary of Commerce and Trade

Virginia Real Estate Board

Directions for Submitting a Prelicense Course Application Electronically

The Virginia Real Estate Board only accepts a "Prelicense Education Course Approval Application" (course application) electronically. The process for submitting a course application electronically to the Board is:

- 1. Fill out one course application completely and correctly. Make sure to: a) answer every question; b) place the Education Provider's official e-mail address with the Board on the application; and, c) sign and date the application.
- 2. Compile one set of the "Required Attachments" as outlined on the course application. Label each attachment.
- 3. Arrange the "Required Attachments" in number order behind the course application. This document is the complete course application that will be e-mailed to the Board.
- 4. Scan this document and convert to a PDF-format.

Telephone: (804) 367-8500

- 5. Name this PDF document according to the name you provided for "Course Title."
- 6. E-mail this PDF document to reschool@dpor.virginia.gov. In the e-mail "Subject" line, type the Education Provider's name (an abbreviation will be fine, e.g., "VAR" for Virginia Association of Realtors), a hyphen and the name of the document. An example would be: "VAR Salesperson Principles & Practice of Real Estate."

The course application will be reviewed. If the information provided is complete and correct, the course will be added to the next Real Estate Board Education Committee Meeting Agenda, and an "Acknowledgement Letter" will be e-mailed to you. If the course is incomplete or incorrect, it will be rejected, and the rejection reasons will be explained through a return e-mail. Feel free to contact the Real Estate Board Education Section at reschool@dpor.virginia.gov or at 804-367-2406 with any questions.

EXHIBIT 1

18VAC135-20-400. Course content of real estate principles and practices.

The following shall be included in the four-semester-hour or six-quarter-hour course which shall not have less than 60 class hours:

- 1. Economy and social impact of real estate
- 2. Real estate market and analysis
- 3. Property rights
- 4. Contracts
- 5. Deeds
- 6. Mortgages and deeds of trust
- 7. Types of mortgages
- 8. Leases
- 9. Liens
- 10. Home ownership
- 11. Real property and title insurance
- 12. Investment
- 13. Taxes in real estate
- 14. Real estate financing
- 15. Brokerage and agency contract responsibilities
- 16. Real estate marketing
- 17. Real property management
- 18. Search, examination, and registration of title
- 19. Title closing
- 20. Appraisal of residential and income producing property
- 21. Planning subdivision developments and condominiums
- 22. Regulatory statutes
- 23. Housing legislation
- 24. Fair housing statutes
- 25. Real Estate Board regulations

Statutory Authority

§ <u>54.1-2105</u> of the Code of Virginia.