
 

A425-1213END-v2 Board for Barbers & Cosmetology/LIC END APP 
10/19/2010 Page 1 of 2 

Commonwealth of Virginia 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 
Post Office Box 29570 
Richmond, VA  23242-0570 
(804) 367-8509 
www.dpor.virginia.gov 

Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology 
LICENSE BY ENDORSEMENT APPLICATION 

 You must hold a CURRENT license or certificate listed in the following table to apply through endorsement. 
 If you do not hold any current licenses/certificates in another state or jurisdiction, this application cannot be processed. 
 For each license, you must attach a Certification of Licensure (dated within the last 60 days). The Certification of Licensure must be: 

1. prepared by the state board or licensing body in which you are currently licensed; and 
2. mailed in an unopened envelope with the seal or signature of the state board overlaying the flap on the back of the envelope 

and addressed to the Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology. 
Select the license(s)/certificate(s) you are requesting. 

 License Fee 
 Barber License 1301 

 

$75.00 
 Cosmetology License 1201 $75.00 
 Nail Technician License 1206 $75.00 
 Wax Technician License 1214 $75.00 
 Hair Braiding License 1222 $75.00 
 Tattooer License 1231 $75.00 
 Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer License 1236 $75.00 
 Master Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer License 1237 $75.00 
 Body Piercer License 1241 $75.00 
 Esthetician License 1261 $75.00 
 Master Esthetician License 1264 $75.00 
 Barber Instructor Certificate 1302 Current VA Barber License No. 1301      $85.00 
 Cosmetology Instructor Certificate  1204 Current VA Cosmetologist License No. 1201      $85.00 
 Nail Technician Instructor Certificate 1207 Current VA Nail Technician License No. 1206      $85.00 
 Wax Technician Instructor Certificate 1215 Current VA Wax Technician License No. 1214      $85.00 
 Tattooer Instructor Certificate 1239 Current VA Tattooer License No. 1231      $85.00 
 Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer Instructor 1250 Current VA Permanent Cosm. Tattooer Lic. No. 1236      $85.00 
 Esthetician Instructor Certificate 1262 Current VA Esthetician License No. 1261      $85.00 
 Master Esthetician Instructor Certificate 1265 Current VA Master Esthetician License No. 1264      $85.00 

 An individual holding a Cosmetology Instructor Certificate may teach a nail technician and wax technician program without obtaining a separate Nail Technician Instructor or 
Wax Technician Instructor Certificate. 

APPLICATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE 
A check or money order payable to the TREASURER OF VIRGINIA, or a completed credit card payment form (available at 

http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/dporweb/creditcard.cfm) must accompany your application package. 

1. Name                       
   Last First Middle Generation 

2. Social Security Number or Virginia DMV Control Number        -     -         

  State law requires every applicant for a license, certificate, registration or other authorization to engage in a business, trade, profession or occupation issued 
by the Commonwealth to provide a Social Security Number or a control number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. 

3. Date of Birth                      
4. Maiden Name or Former Surname(s)       
5. Street Address (PO Box not accepted)       

 PHYSICAL ADDRESS REQUIRED       
                         
          City State Zip Code 

6 Mailing Address (PO Box accepted)       
 If a mailing address is submitted, the mailing 

address will be printed on the license. 
               

 City State Zip Code 
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7. E-mail Address       
8. Contact Numbers Primary Telephone        Ext          

      Alternate Telephone        Ext          
      Facsimile                

9. Are you currently licensed to practice as a barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, wax technician, hair braider, body 
piercer, tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or esthetician (individual or instructor) in any other state or jurisdiction 
of the United States? 

  No  If no, this application cannot be processed.           

  

Yes   Attach an original Certification of Licensure (dated within the last 60 days). 
Certificate of Licensure must be: 

1. prepared by the state board or licensing body in which you are currently licensed; and 
2. mailed in an unopened envelope with the seal or signature of the state board overlaying the flap on the 

back of the envelope and addressed to the Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology. 
10. Do you have a current or expired Virginia Barber, Cosmetology, Nail Technician, Wax Technician, Hair Braider, Body 

Piercer, Tattooer, Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer or Esthetician License as either a practitioner or instructor? 
  No                      
  Yes   Virginia License Number       Expiration Date       
      Virginia License Number       Expiration Date       

11. Have you ever been subject to a disciplinary action taken by any (including Virginia) local, state or national regulatory 
body? 

  No                      

  
Yes  If yes, please provide a certified copy of the final order, decree or case decision by a court or 

regulatory agency with lawful authority to issue such order, decree or case decision. 
12. Have you ever been convicted in any jurisdiction of any misdemeanor or felony?  Any guilty plea or plea of nolo 

contendere must be disclosed on this application. 
  No                      

  

Yes  If yes, list the misdemeanor and/or felony conviction(s).  Attach your original criminal history record; a certified 
copy of the final order, decree, or case decision by a court or regulatory agency with lawful authority to issue 
such order, decree, or case decision; and any other information you wish to have considered with this 
application (e.g., information on the status of incarceration, parole or probation; reference letters; 
documentation of rehabilitation).  If additional space is needed, attach a separate sheet of paper. 
Certified copies of court records may be obtained by writing to the Clerk of the Court in the jurisdiction in 
which you were convicted.  The address is available from your local police department. 
Original criminal history records may be obtained by contacting the state police in the jurisdiction in which you 
were convicted.  Virginia residents must complete a criminal history record request form in the presence of a 
notary public and mail it to the Department of State Police, Central Criminal Records Exchange, Post Office 
Box 27472, Richmond, VA 23261-7472. 

  

      

13. I, the undersigned, certify that the foregoing statements and answers are true, and I have not suppressed any 
information that might affect the decision to approve this application.  I certify that I will notify the Department if I am 
subject to a disciplinary action or convicted of a felony or misdemeanor (in any jurisdiction) prior to receiving the 
requested license.  I certify that I have read, understood and complied with all the laws of Virginia under the 
provisions of Title 54.1, Chapter 7 of the Code of Virginia and the Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology 
Regulations, Wax Technician Regulations, Hair Braiding Regulations, Tattooing Regulations, Body Piercing 
Regulations and Esthetics Regulations, as applicable. 

 Signature  Date       
 


	Commonwealth of Virginia



