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Commonwealth of Virginia 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 
Post Office Box 29570 
Richmond, VA  23242-0570 
(804) 367-8509 
www.dpor.virginia.gov 

Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology 
INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION APPLICATION 

Excluding examination applications 
APPLICATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE 

A check or money order payable to the TREASURER OF VIRGINIA, or a completed credit card payment form (available at 
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/dporweb/creditcard.cfm) must accompany your application package. 

To hold an instructor certificate, applicants are required to hold a current Virginia practitioner license. 
 Please select the certificate you are requesting in the chart below specifying current license number and means of applying 

for Instructor Certification. 

CERTIFICATE 
Last 6 digits of 

CURRENT LICENSE 
NUMBER 

BY 
ENDORSEMENT BY COURSE  BY 

EXPERIENCE FEE 
 Trans  Trans  Trans 

 

Barber Instructor (1302) 1301         1021  1022 

 

$85.00 
Cosmetology Instructor (1204)  1201         1021  1022 $85.00 
Nail Technician Instructor (1207) 1206         1021  1022 $85.00 
Wax Technician Instructor (1215) 1214         1021  1022 $85.00 
Esthetician Instructor (1262) 1261        1021  1022 $85.00 
Master Esthetician Instructor (1265) 1264        1021  1022 $85.00 
Tattooing Instructor (1239) 1231         1022 $85.00 
Perm. Cosmetic Tattooing Instr. (1250) 1236        1022 $85.00 
 An individual holding a Cosmetology Instructor Certificate can teach nail care and waxing without obtaining a separate Nail Technician 

or Wax Technician Instructor Certificate. 
 

1. Name                   n/a 
    Last First Middle Generation 

 

2. Social Security Number or Virginia DMV Control Number        -     -         

 
 State law requires every applicant for a license, certificate, registration or other authorization to engage in a business, trade, profession or occupation issued by 

the Commonwealth to provide a Social Security Number or a control number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. 

3. Date of Birth                      

4. Maiden Name or Former Surname(s)       

5. Street Address (PO Box not accepted)       

                

                         
          City State Zip Code 

6. Mailing Address (PO Box accepted)       

                

                         
          City State Zip Code 

7. E-mail Address       
 

FOR 
OFFICE 

USE 
ONLY 

DATE FEE TRANS CODE ENTITY # APPLICATION # FILE# / LICENSE # ISSUE DATE 

 $85      
 

http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/�
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/dporweb/creditcard.cfm�
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8. Contact Numbers Primary Telephone        Ext          
  Alternate Telephone        Ext          
  Facsimile         

 

9. Do you have an expired Virginia Barber, Cosmetology, Nail Technician, Wax Technician, Tattooer, Permanent 
Cosmetic Tattooer, Master Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer, Esthetician, or Master Esthetician License? 

  No  Virginia License Number       Expiration Date       
  Yes  Virginia License Number       Expiration Date       
    Virginia License Number       Expiration Date       

 

10. Are you applying for Barber, Cosmetology, Nail Technician, or Wax Technician Instructor Certification? 
  No                      
  Yes  If yes, which method are you using to apply for your Instructor Certification? Select one. 

     A.  Application by Course             

       
Which of the following Barber, Cosmetology, Nail Technician, or Wax Technician Instructor 
courses have you successfully completed? 

        
 A course in teaching techniques at a post-secondary level 

Required Documentation: Transcripts and/or diploma 

        

 An instructor training course approved by the Virginia Board for Barbers and 
Cosmetology under the supervision of a certified barber, cosmetology, nail technician 
or wax technician instructor (respectively) 
Required Documentation: Transcripts and/or diploma and a written evaluation by the instructor 

     B.  Application by Endorsement            

       

Attach an original Certification of Licensure (dated within the last 60 days) that must be: 
1. prepared by the state board or licensing body in which you are currently licensed to instruct 

barbering, cosmetology, nail care or waxing; and  
2. mailed in an unopened envelope with the seal or signature of the state board overlaying the 

flap on the back of the envelope and addressed to the Virginia Board for Barbers and 
Cosmetology. 

 

11. Are you applying for Esthetician or Master Esthetician Instructor Certification? 
  No                      

  Yes  If yes, attach documentation of completing a course in teaching techniques at a post-secondary level. 
Required Documentation: Transcripts and/or diploma 

 

12. Are you applying for Tattooer or Permanent Cosmetic Tattooing Instructor Certification? 
  No                      

  

Yes  If yes, please complete the Tattoo Training & Experience Verification Form documenting three 
years of tattooing work experience within the previous five years and attach to this application.  
More then one form may be submitted to document three years of work experience.  
DO NOT SUBMIT Tattoo Training & Experience Verification Form TO PCS. Attach to this application, and mail 
directly to DPOR at the address given on the front page of this applications. 

 

13. Have you ever been subject to a disciplinary action taken by any (including Virginia) local, state or national regulatory 
body? 

  No                      
  Yes  If yes, please provide a certified copy of the final order, decree, or case decision by a court or regulatory 

agency with lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or case decision. 
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14. Have you ever been convicted in any jurisdiction of any misdemeanor or felony?  Any guilty plea or plea of nolo 
contendere must be disclosed on this application. 

  No                      

  

Yes  If yes, list the misdemeanor and/or felony conviction(s).  Attach your original criminal history 
record; a certified copy of the final order, decree, or case decision by a court or regulatory agency 
with lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or case decision; and any other information you 
wish to have considered with this application (e.g., information on the status of incarceration, 
parole or probation; reference letters; documentation of rehabilitation).  If additional space is 
needed, attach a separate sheet of paper. 
Certified copies of court records may be obtained by writing to the Clerk of the Court in the jurisdiction in 
which you were convicted.  The address is available from your local police department. 
Original criminal history records may be obtained by contacting the state police in the jurisdiction in which 
you were convicted.  Virginia residents must complete a criminal history record request form in the 
presence of a notary public and mail it to the Department of State Police, Central Criminal Records 
Exchange, Post Office Box 27472, Richmond, VA 23261-7472. 

  

      

15. I, the undersigned, certify that the foregoing statements and answers are true, and I have not suppressed any 
information that might affect the decision to approve this application.  I certify that I will notify the Department if I am 
subject to a disciplinary action or convicted of a felony or misdemeanor (in any jurisdiction) prior to receiving the 
requested certification.  I certify that I have read, understood and complied with all the laws of Virginia under the 
provisions of Title 54.1, Chapter 7 of the Code of Virginia and the Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology 
Regulations or Wax Technician Regulations, Tattooing Regulations, or Esthetics Regulations as applicable. 

 Signature   Date       
 


	Commonwealth of Virginia



