COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS BOARD OF NURSING (VBON)

Perimeter Center: 9960 MAYLAND DRIVE, Suite 300

I enhieter Ce	mer. 9900 MAI	LAND DRIVE, Suite.	500	
(804) 367-4515	HENRICO, VII	RGINIA 23233-1463	www.dhp.v	virginia.gov/nursing
CHECKLIST INSTRUCTIONS REINSTATEMENT APPLICAT		Check One:] RN \$225	LPN \$200
Pursuant to Virginia nursing regulation <u>18 V</u> renewal period shall apply for license reins			-	

suspension or revocation you must file a different (reinstatement) application.

<u>Note</u>: Virginia is a *compact* state under the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC). If your primary state of residence is a **compact** state, you <u>must</u> apply for licensure in your primary state of residence (compact state). If your primary state of residence is Virginia or a non-compact state, and your Virginia license has been <u>expired for more than two years</u>, you can apply in Virginia for reinstatement. indicate on the application your primary state of residence. For a current list of states in the NLC and NURSYS participating states go to: <u>www.nursys.com/NLV/NLVJurisdictions.aspx</u>.

REQUIREMENTS are <u>listed below to submit an application for Reinstatement</u>. <u>Check</u> applicable items that are included with your application:

Completed Reinstatement application and required fee: Fees must be paid by check or money order, made payable to The Treasurer of Virginia. Your application will not be reviewed or considered until you have submitted payment. Pursuant to Regulation 18VAC60-21-230(E), fees are non-refundable.

<u>Completed continuing education requirements</u>: Provide evidence of completing at least one (1) of the learning activities or courses specified in <u>18 VAC 90-20-221</u> during the two (2) years immediately preceding application for reinstatement*. Applicable regulation regarding supporting documentation for compliance should be reviewed at: <u>18 VAC 90-20-222</u>. ***30 hours** of CEUs required <u>without</u> active practice OR **15 hours** required <u>with</u> a minimum of **640 hours** of active practice.

The Board may waive all or part of the continuing education requirement for a nurse who holds a <u>current</u>, <u>unrestricted license in another state</u> AND who has engaged in <u>active practice</u> during the period the Virginia license was lapsed. <u>Evidence</u> must be provided to request that the VBON waive CE requirements.

By checking this box, <u>I am requesting VBON consider waiving continuing education requirements</u> by providing written verification of <u>active licensure</u> and <u>active practice</u> during the time my license was expired to include:

- copy of current license (only for non-NURSYS participating states);
- letter from employer on official letterhead verifying: name/position/dates of employment;
- copy of a recent pay stub with: name/<u>position</u>/name of the medical facility.

<u>Completed criminal history background check</u> required by <u>Virginia Code § 54.1-3005.1</u>: Within 7-10 business days <u>after</u> confirmed payment receipt for your filed <u>application</u>, you will receive a *Fieldprint Code*. This code is required to register for fingerprinting, which must be done exclusively through <u>Fieldprint Va</u>. You must have a <u>confirmed</u> application filed with VBON <u>prior</u> to registering for fingerprinting. If you do <u>not</u> receive your *Fieldprint Code* within 7-10 business days, you may contact the <u>VBON CBC unit</u>.

Additional Information:

- The VBON may request additional evidence that the nurse is prepared to resume practice in a safe, competent manner.
- Nursing laws and regulations may be obtained at <u>www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing</u>.
- Documents submitted with the application are property of the Board and cannot be returned.

PLEASE INCLUDE THIS COMPLETED INSTRUCTION CHECKLIST WITH APPLICATION



COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

Department of Health Professions Board of Nursing

Perimeter Center

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300

Henrico, VA 23233-1463

(804)367-4515 – PHONE; (804) 527-4455 – FAX; web: www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY (Finance Division)		FOR OFFICE USE ONLY (BON Staff)		
Fee Paid/Check One: RN \$225 LPN \$200	Applicant ID #	Receipt #	Approved	Date:

<u>APPLICATION FOR REINSTATEMENT – REGISTERED OR PRACTICAL NURSE</u> (RN or LPN)

I hereby make application to reinstate my nursing license in the Commonwealth of Virginia. The following information in support of my application is submitted with a **check or money order** made payable to the *Treasurer of Virginia* **in the amount of <u>\$225 [RN] or \$200 [LPN]</u>. The fees are non-refundable.**

Disclosure of Addresses

Pursuant to <u>Virginia Code § 54.1-2400.02</u> addresses of licensees are made available to the public. Normally, the Address of Record is the publicly disclosed address. If you do not want your Address of Record to be made public, you may provide a second, publicly disclosable address (e.g. work or practice address). If you would like your Address of Record to be publically available complete both sections with same address.

Disclosure of Social Security or DMV Control Numbers

Pursuant to <u>Virginia Code § 54.1-116 (A)</u>, you are required to submit your social security number or your control number issued by the <u>Virginia</u> Department of Motor Vehicles. If you fail to do so, the processing of your application will be suspended and fees will <u>not</u> be refunded. This number will be used by the Department of Health Professions for identification and will not be disclosed for other purposes except as provided for by law. Federal and state law requires that this number be shared with other agencies for child support enforcement activities.

APPLICANT - provide the information requested below and Applicant Type (Check One):					
ame, not initials.					
First	Mic	ldle/Maiden		Suffix	
City	State	Zip	Telephone	e Number	
City	State	Zip	Telephon	e Number	
		Fax Number			
0	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·				
ate of Birth Social Security Number or Virginia DMV Control Number*					
Full Name at Time of Initial LicensureDate First License Issued					
Раде 1/4					
	ame, not initials. First City City Social Se Full Name at Time of	name, not initials. III First Mid City State City State Social Security Number	name, not initials. Image: Constraint of the second seco	name, not initials. Image: RN Image	

1.	Declare your Primary State of Residence:(If not VA, refer to Compact info in Instructions).
2.	Declare your state(s) of current practice:
3.	List your current job title (position title):
4.	 This question applies to any license or certificate as a registered nurse, licensed practical nurse, or nurse aide that may have been issued to you; answer YES or NO to <i>EACH</i> of the following: (<i>If you answer yes to any of the questions, explain in detail below and have certified copies of any applicable orders sent directly to this office.</i>) Have you ever had disciplinary action taken against your license to practice in a state or against your multi-state privilege to practice? YES NO Has any license issued to you ever been voluntarily surrendered? YES NO Have you ever had any of the following disciplinary actions taken against your license by any licensing authority in any jurisdiction: placed on probation, suspended, revoked or otherwise disciplined? YES NO Has your practice ever been the subject of an investigation by any licensing authority? YES NO Have you ever been denied a license or certification in a health related field or jurisdiction? YES NO
5.	Is your license in good standing in all jurisdictions where licensed? YES NO (If no, explain below.)
6.	Are you the spouse of a member of the U.S. military who has been transferred to Virginia and who had to leave employment to accompany your spouse to Virginia? YES NO or Are you active-duty military? YES NO
7.	Respond in full to the following questions. You will need to provide documentation only if the response is different from that on your last application with this office but you must state below that the information was previously provided.
P	Answer YES or NO to each question:
•	Have you ever been convicted, pled guilty to or pled Nolo Contendere to the violation of any federal, state or other

- Trave you ever been convicted, pied guilty to or pied Noio Contendere to the violation of any federal, state of other statute or ordinance constituting a felony or misdemeanor? (Including convictions for driving under the influence, but excluding traffic violations)? YES NO . If yes, explain below and have a certified copy of the court order sent directly to the Board of Nursing.
- Do you have a mental, physical or chemical dependency condition which could interfere with your current ability to practice nursing? YES NO . If yes, explain below and have a letter from your licensed treating professional summarizing diagnosis, treatment and prognosis sent <u>directly</u> to the Board of Nursing.

EXPLANATIONS:	

Attach additional pages if necessary.

(To I	AFFIDAVIT be completed before a Notary Public)
State of	County/City of
	, being duly sworn, says that he/she is the person who is referred to in the d nurse in the Commonwealth of Virginia; that the statements herein contained are true ll requirements of the law; and that he/she has read and understands the affidavit.
	Signature of Applicant
Subscribed to and sworn to before me this	day of
My commission expires on	·
SEAL	Signature of Notary Public