Commonwealth of Virginia
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400
Richmond, Virginia 23233-1485
(804) 367-8509
www.dpor.virginia.gov



Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology SCHOOL LICENSE APPLICATION

A check or money order payable to the <u>TREASURER OF VIRGINIA</u>, or a completed <u>credit card insert</u> must be mailed with your application package. APPLICATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE.

			Select the license(s) you are requesting:					Method of			
	X			License Ty	pe		Trans	Fee	Classroom	Online	
		1303 - Ba	rber School				1020	\$140			
		1303 - Licensed Barber School adding a Barber Instructor Program				9007	\$100				
		1205 - Cosmetology School				1020	\$140				
	1205 - Licensed Cosmetology School adding a Nail Technician Program				an Program	9007	\$100				
		1205 - Lic	ensed Cosmeto	logy School add	ing a Wax Technic	an Program	9007	\$100			
		1205 - Lic	ensed Cosmeto	logy School add	ing an Instructor Pr	ogram	9007	\$100			
		1209 - Na	il Technician Sc	chool			1020	\$140			
		1209 - Lic	ensed Nail Tech	nnician School a	9007	\$100					
	1219 - Waxing School				1020	\$140					
		1219 - Licensed Waxing School adding an Instructor Program				9007	\$100				
		1251 - Ta	ttooing School				1020	\$140			
		1251 - Lic	ensed Tattooing	g School adding	a Perm.Cosm. tatto	oing program	9007	No Fee			
		1252 - Pe	rmanent Cosme	etic Tattooing Scl	nool		1020	\$140			
		1267 - Es	thetics School				1020	\$140			
		1267 - Es	thetics School a	dding a Master I	Sthetician Progran	1	9007	No Fee			
		1267 - Lic	ensed Esthetics	School adding a	an Instructor Progra	am	9007	No Fee			
2. 3.	Scho Trad	es ool/Busine de, "Doing All business	Virginia Licens ess Entity/Sole Business As" entities with DBA a	Proprietor Nan (DBA), or Fictit			vith the Cle		ration Date		ness will be
4.	conducted (if required by the locality). 4. Type of business entity (select only one)										
If yo Com must	ur bus mission registe	Sole Prop Corporati State Corporati siness is a con Business sha er any trade or	orietorship on poration Commi rporation, limited li all be organized as b r fictitious names with	General Pari Limited Liab ssion Number: ability company, or business entities under the State Corporation	ility Company limited partnership, you the laws of the Common Commission or the clephone at (804) 371-9733.	our business/trade	name(s) m	ust be reg	d to transact bus	Virginia State siness in Virginia	a. Business
OFFICE USE ONLY		DATE	FEE	TRANS CODE	ENTITY #		FILE #	/LICENSE #		ISSU	E DATE

5.	Select one of the following	g and provide th	e inform	nation be	elow.											
	☐ Business Federal Emp	oloyer Identificatio	n Numbe	er (FEIN)	*] -								
*	State law requires every applicant, who is control number issued by the Virginia Dep	des.		nployer ic	dentificatio	Federal I	Employ er. <i>Sol</i>	yer Ide e prop	entificat prietors	ion Nu	mber ovide	(12-3 a soc	34567 cial se	89) curity no	umber or a	
		f Motor Vehicles (Control N	umber*			Social S	Security	or V	irginia [DMV N	umbei	(12	3-45-6	789)	_
*	State law requires every applicant for Commonwealth to provide a social securit									trade,	profes	sion (or oc	cupati	on issu	ed by the
6.	Mailing Address (PO Box	accepted)														
	The mailing address will printed on the license	City State Zip Code														
7.	Street Address (PO Box <u>r</u> PHYSICAL ADDRESS I	Check here if Street Address is the <u>same</u> as the Mailing Address listed above.														
			City									State			Zip Co	ode
8.	Email Address															
9.	Contact Numbers															
,.		Primary Teleph	none			Alterna	te Telep	hone						Fax		
10.	Enter the following informa	ation for each ov	wner (so	le propr	ietor,	genera	ıl partr	iers,	asso	ociatio	on m	emb	ers)	of t	he so	:hool:
	Full Name		Address			Birth Date				Social Security No. or VA DMV Control Numbe						
	profes	Law requires every a ssion or occupation issertment of Motor Vehicl	sued by the													
11.	Does the school receive c		r service	•				e nun	nber	and (expir	atior	ı da	te.		
	VA License	Number							E	xpirat	ion [ate				
12.	List each Instructor who w	vill be employed	by the s	chool, t	heir pr	ofessio	onal ty	pe a	nd V	'irgini	a lice	nse	nur	nbei	:	
		Full Name				ional T		· .		nia Li				_		
				ļ												
13.	or national regulatory bod No Yes If yes, provi		opy of th	e final c	order, (decree	or cas	se de								

14.	or instructor i	pol or any of the owners ever had an application for licensure, certification or renthe fields of barbering, cosmetology, waxing, nail care, esthetics, body-piercy Virginia) local, state or national regulatory body?	
	No Yes	If yes, provide a certified copy of the final order, decree or case decision by a with lawful authority to issue such order, decree or case decision.	court or regulatory agency
15.	guilty plea or	ool or any of the owners ever been convicted in any jurisdiction of a <i>misdemo</i> plea of nolo contendere must be disclosed on this application. Do not dis s a minor in the juvenile court system.	
	Yes	If yes, applicants are <u>required</u> to attach an <u>original criminal history record</u> * is police. Applicants with convictions from other jurisdictions, other than Virginia official criminal history record from each state in which they have conviction request complete criminal records from the Virginia State Police at <u>www.vsp.</u> 804-674-6718.	a; must provide an original ns. Virginia residents may
*	with lawful au considered wi	riction, provide a certified copy of the final order, decree, or case decision by a uthority to issue such order, decree, or case decision; <u>and</u> any other infor th this application (e.g., information on the status of incarceration, parole or p or of rehabilitation etc.).	rmation you wish to have
16.	information the school or any prior to receive with all the la	signed, certify that the foregoing statements and answers are true, and I hat might affect the decision to approve this application. I certify that I will now owner is subject to any disciplinary action or convicted of a felony or misder wing the requested license. I certify that I/the school and its owners have read was of Virginia under the provisions of Title 54.1, Chapter 7 of the Code of Virginia Cosmetology, Wax Technician, Tattooing and Esthetics Regulations as applications.	tify the Department if I/the meanor (in any jurisdiction), understood and complied vinia and the Virginia Board
	Print Name	Title	
	Signature		Date
		School must hold a separate license for <i>each and every location</i> .	
		(Important <u>Curriculum Package Instructions</u> on the following page.)	

A450-1213SCHL-v9 09/01/2016

Important Curriculum Package Instructions

In addition to the School License Application, you are required to submit a curriculum including, but not limited to, the information listed below. Applications lacking the required information will be rejected and returned. Should you have any questions or require additional clarification, please contact the board staff at (804) 367-8509.

PHOTOCOPIES OF OUTLINES, GLOSSARIES AND OTHER INFORMATION FROM TEXTS AND BOARD REGULATIONS WILL <u>NOT</u> BE ACCEPTED!

Course syllabus

The course syllabus should contain an outline and brief statement of the main points of the text, lecture and course of study.

2. Detailed course outline

The outline shall include, but not be limited to those items set out in the *Board for Barbers and Cosmetology Regulations, Wax Technician Regulations, Tattooing Regulations and Esthetics Regulations.*

3. Sample of five lesson plans

The lesson plans must be *actual* lesson plans that will be used in the instruction of students at the school applying for licensure. Previously approved lesson plans for other schools will not be accepted. You may submit lesson plans developed for your curriculum.

4. Sample of evaluation methods to be used

Explain and provide examples of how students will be evaluated for grading and progress report purposes. Please include both the written and practical portions of the program.

5. Breakdown of hours and/or performances for all courses to be taught which lead to licensure

This material *may* be included in the detailed course outline (#2).

6. Example of the method by which performance will be recorded

7. Sketch of the school floor plan

This sketch must include the classroom and clinic areas within the school.

8. Days and hours of operation

This must include a list of holidays and other special dates that the school will be closed.

- 9. An example of a test you will administer to students
- 10. Esthetics schools that award credit in accordance with Section 18VAC41-70-190.D. of the Esthetics Regulations, must submit copies of the assessment policy, method of evaluation of transcripts, and the examination to be used in making the assessment.

Online Instruction:

For schools wishing to offer online instruction, items 1 - 10 noted above must be submitted in addition to the following requirements:

- 1. Note that only the general portions of the curriculum which are common across all professions regulated by the Board may be offered online. Those courses may, but not necessarily, include: Orientation, School Policies, State laws and regulations, Health and safety, Personal hygiene, Sanitation and sterilization, Ethics, Salon/shop/parlor management, Analyzing skin or scalp conditions, Anatomy, Client consultation, and Care of equipment.
 - If the course is not general and common across all professions, but it is on the list above, please contact the Board to determine if it is eligible to be taught online. For example, tattooing sterilization requirements are specific and unique to that profession, and would not be eligible for online instruction.
- 2. All examination must be completed on-site, in a "traditional brick and mortar" classroom.
- Schools must provide documentation that it utilizes technologies and practices that are effective in verifying the identity of distance learning students, both initially in person (via photo ID) and subsequently during the online coursework (via secure login and pass code).
- 4. Instructor programs are not eligible for Online Instruction.