THIS IS NOT THE APPLICATION FOR A TEMPORARY LICENSE TO PRACTICE GENETIC COUNSELING

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING AN APPLICATION TO PRACTICE GENETIC COUNSELING IN VIRGINIA

(This form has been designed to be used as a checklist when preparing to submit your application.)

APPLICATION FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE

BEFORE YOU PROCEED, READ THE FOLLOWING POINTS CAREFULLY!

You should familiarize yourself with the qualifications required for a license by reviewing the laws and regulations governing the practice of genetic counseling in Virginia. They can be found at: http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/medicine/medicine-laws-regs.htm

The Board works as efficiently as possible to process applications. The time from filing an application with the Board until the issuance of a license is dependent upon entities over which the Board has no control. It is the applicant's responsibility to ensure that outside entities send the necessary documentation to the Board. You should not expect the process to take less than 2-3 months, so plan accordingly if you are pursuing a practice position in Virginia.

The Board provides an electronic checklist for your convenience in tracking your application. You should allow approximately 15 days for your application checklist to be first updated on the Board's website. Supporting documentation will be added to your checklist as it is received. Processing of documents may take up to 10 business days after they are received. If you find your checklist does not exist or does not indicate necessary documents have been received, e-mail the Board at medbd@dhp.virginia.gov with "Genetic Counselor Application Question" in the subject line. E-mails will be answered within 2 business days.

Your application checklist may be viewed by logging into your application and clicking on the "View Checklist" link located in the Pending Licenses section. This link will not be visible for applicants who have not yet paid the application fee. If you have submitted your application and required fee online, but no longer see your checklist listed in the Pending Licensing section, your license may have been issued by the Board. Please visit https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/license/ and use your current User ID and Password to login and view your newly issued license. If you need technical assistance with your checklist, contact the agency's helpdesk at 804-367-4444. The helpdesk cannot provide assistance regarding information about your documents.

Supporting documentation sent to the Board when there is no application on file will be purged after six months.

NB: Virginia law considers material misrepresentation of fact in an application for licensure to be a Class 1 misdemeanor. Misrepresentation may be by commission or omission. Be sure of your facts and provide full responses to the Board's questions.

PROCEEDING TO THE APPLICATION SIGNIFIES THAT YOU HAVE READ AND ACCEPT THE FOREGOING PRINCIPLES REGARDING THE BOARD'S PROCESSES.

You have selected to begin an initial application to practice as a Genetic Counselor. If this license type is incorrect, please contact us at (804) 367-4444 for assistance.

Λnn	lication	roguirom	ante:
AUI	шашоп	requirem	CI 112
, ,,,,			
			•

	https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply	which includes paying the nonrefundable
application fee of \$130.00. Application	fees may only be paid using Visa, MaterCa	ard or Discover.

2. An applicant for a license to practice a the following:	is a genetic counselor shall provide original source documentation (not a copy) of
Transcripts documenting completion accredited by the Accreditation Cou	n of a Master's Degree from a genetic counseling training program that is incil of Genetic Counseling.
•	ar the school seal. Transcripts will only be accepted if they come directly from the Board by the applicant in the same unopened envelope in which they were
☐3 A notarized copy of a current, valid	certificate issued by the ABGC or ABMG to practice genetic counseling.
locations of service, professional employment, listed for the past 5 years. The Board must re	Form B Activity Questionnaire or a letter of recommendation must be received from all observerships, professional research positions or professional volunteer service eceive a completed form B from each location where you provided services as orm B Activity Questionnaires may be completed by another genetic th your practice.
Form B's sent to the Virginia Board of Med	icine by the applicant will not be accepted.
If you are a new graduate with no professional	I practice experience you will have no Form B's to provide.
United States, its territories and possessions of be received by the Board and must verify whe Please contact the applicable jurisdiction v	netic counselor licenses or certificates to practice from all jurisdictions within the or Canada in which you have been issued a license, certification or registration must ther or not disciplinary action has been taken or is pending in that jurisdiction. Where you have been issued a license to practice genetic counseling to inquire the Virginia Board of Medicine. Verification must come from the jurisdiction and gov, faxed to (804) 527-4426 or mailed.
If you do not hold licensure in any other state of	or jurisdiction, you will have no license verification to provide.
Please note: ▶ Applications not completed within 12 more	nths may be purged without notice from the Board.
► Additional information not already listed n	nay be requested at any time during the process.
► Application fees are non-refundable.	
► The Board's mailing address is	The Virginia Board of Medicine Perimeter Center 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 Henrico, VA 23233
► Email inquiries are normally responded to	within 2 business days. Send your email inquiries to medbd@dhp.virginia.gov .

► Submission of an application does not guarantee a license. A review of your application could result in the finding that you may not be eligible pursuant to Virginia laws and regulations.