
Commonwealth of Virginia 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400 
Richmond, VA 23233 
(804) 367-8506 
www.dpor.virginia.gov 

Virginia Auctioneers Board 
AUCTIONEER FIRM LICENSE APPLICATION 

A check or money order payable to the TREASURER OF VIRGINIA, or a completed credit card insert available at 
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/dporweb/forms/fin/creditcard.pdf must be mailed with your application package. 

APPLICATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE. 

Select the one license action you are requesting on this application. 
Type of Action VA License No. Trans Fee  

Original Firm License  1020 $55.00  
Reinstatement of a Firm License       4020 $115.00  

A COMPLETED AUCTION FIRM SURETY BOND FORM MUST ACCOMPANY THIS LICENSE APPLICATION. 

1. Firm Name       

2. Trade or Fictitious Name        

  If a Trade or Fictitious Name is to be used, a copy of the certificate filed with the State Corporation Commission or locality 
pursuant to § 59.1-69 of the Code of Virginia must be included with this application. 

3. Federal Employer Identification No.  -       
4. Street Address (PO Box not accepted)       

 City, State, Zip Code       

5. Mailing Address (PO Box accepted)       

 City, State, Zip Code       

6. E-mail Address               
7. Contact Numbers                       

  Primary Telephone   Alternate Telephone   Facsimile 

8. Does the firm have an expired auction firm license issued by the Virginia Auctioneers Board?  If you are reinstating a 
firm license, you are required to meet all current entry requirements. 

  No                      
  Yes   Virginia License Number       Expiration Date       

9. Type of business (select only one) 
  Partnership                  
  Association   
  Limited Liability Company   

If your business is a sole proprietorship, you cannot apply for a Firm License on 
this application.  You must apply for an Auctioneers License as an individual. 

  Corporation                  
10. Is the auction firm authorized (in accordance with the laws of the Commonwealth of Virginia) to conduct business in 

Virginia? 
  Yes                      
  No  If no, this application cannot be processed. 
 

 

All corporations and limited liability companies (including out-of-state businesses) who wish to conduct business in Virginia must register with 
the Virginia State Corporation Commission (SCC) prior to applying for licensure with the Virginia Auctioneers Board.  Certified true copies of 
the articles of incorporation, bylaws, and charter issued by the Virginia SCC must be submitted with this application.  Out-of-state businesses 
must also include the certificate of authority issued by the Virginia SCC. 
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11. Enter the name and title of a principal member of your business management (a registered agent, a partner of your 
partnership, an officer or director of an association, a manager of your limited liability company, or an officer of your 
corporation). 

                             
 First Name Middle Name Last Name Generation Title 

12. Has your business ever been subject to disciplinary action imposed by any (including Virginia) local, state or national 
regulatory body? 

  No                      
 

 
Yes  If yes, please provide a certified copy of the final order, decree or case decision by a court or 

regulatory agency with lawful authority to issue such order, decree or case decision. 
13. Has the business ever been convicted in any jurisdiction of any felony or misdemeanor?  Any guilty plea or plea of 

nolo contendere must be disclosed on this application. 
  No                      
 

 

Yes  If yes, list the felony and/or misdemeanor conviction(s).  Attach the original criminal history record and any 
other information you wish to have considered with this application (i.e., information on the status of 
incarceration, parole or probation; reference letters; documents of rehabilitation; etc.).  If necessary, you may 
attach a separate sheet of paper. 
Certified copies of court records may be obtained by writing to the Clerk of the Court in the jurisdiction in which convicted. 
 The address is available from your local police department. 
Original criminal history records may be obtained by contacting the state police in the jurisdiction in which convicted.  
Virginia residents must complete a criminal history record request form in the presence of a notary public and mail it to the 
Department of State Police, Central Criminal Records Exchange, PO Box 27472, Richmond, VA  23261-7472. 

        

By signing this application, you acknowledge that if you are not a Virginia resident, or move outside of Virginia while you hold 
a Virginia Auction Firm License, you understand that this application serves as a written power of attorney, whereby you 
appoint the Director of the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, and his/her successors in office, to be 
your true and lawful agent and attorney-in-fact, in your stead, upon whom all legal process against and notice to you may be 
served and who is hereby authorized to enter an appearance in your behalf in any case or proceedings arising out of the 
trade or profession practiced; and that by submitting this application you hereby agree that any lawful process against you 
which is duly served on said agent and attorney-in-fact shall be of the same legal force and validity as if served upon you. 

14. I, the undersigned, certify that the foregoing statements and answers are true, and I have not suppressed any 
information that might affect the Board’s decision to approve this application.  I will notify the Department if the firm is 
subject to any disciplinary action or convicted of any felony or misdemeanor charges (in any jurisdiction) prior to 
receiving the requested license.  I certify that I understand, and have complied with, all the laws of Virginia related to 
auctioneer licensure under the provisions of Title 54.1, Chapter 6 of the Code of Virginia and the Virginia Auctioneers 
Board Regulations.  I also certify that I understand this affidavit. 

 Manager’s Signature   Date       
      Signature of individual listed in #11.         

 Notarization                    
 In the State of       , City/County of       , subscribed and sworn 
 Before me, the undersigned Notary Public in and for the City/County aforesaid this      day of    
       , 20    .                
 My commission expires the      , day of       , 20    .     
                         
 

Affix official seal here.  
  Signature of Notary Public 
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