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DATE FEE TRANS CODE ENTITY # PASSPORT # FILE #/LICENSE # ISSUE DATE

4123

Commonwealth of Virginia  
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400  
Richmond, Virginia 23233-1485
(804) 367-0186
www.dpor.virginia.gov

Professional Boxing, Wrestling and Martial Arts 
MARTIAL ARTS BOXING LICENSE APPLICATION

Fee $40.00

A check or money order payable to the TREASURER OF VIRGINIA, 
 or a completed credit card insert must be mailed with your application package. 

 APPLICATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE.
Select the one method you are requesting for licensure: 

X License Type: Trans

Initial/First Virginia Martial Arts Boxing License 1020
Renewal prior to Martial Arts Boxing License Expiration 2020
Re-Issue of Expired Martial Arts Boxing License 4020

1. Have you ever held a Professional Martial Arts Boxing License issued by the Virginia Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation?

No    
Yes

Virginia License Number 4 1 2 3 Exp. Date
If yes, provide your Virginia License number below:

2. Do you currently hold a Mixed Martial Arts National Identification card (as required by 15 USC   6305)?
No    
Yes

MMA National Identification No.: Exp. Date:
If yes, provide your Mixed Martial Arts National ID number below:

§

3. Name
Last First Middle Generation 

Provide at least one of the following identification numbers  :4.

Virginia DMV Control Number

Social Security Number  and/or

State law requires every applicant for a license, certificate, registration or other authorization to engage in a business, trade, profession or occupation issued 
by the Commonwealth to provide a social security number or a control number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.



You must use the same identification number as used on examination/previous applications on file with the department.



- -

- -

If the professional boxer is a resident of a foreign country, the professional boxer shall present to the boxing commissioner representative a copy of his/
her foreign passport.



5. Date of Birth 
MM/DD/YYYY

(Must be at least 18 years of age.)

6.
The mailing address will  
be printed on the license. 

Mailing Address (PO Box accepted) 

City State Zip Code

7. Street Address (PO Box  not  accepted) 
PHYSICAL ADDRESS REQUIRED

Check here if Street Address is the same as the Mailing Address listed above. 

State City Zip Code
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E-mail Address 8.
9. Contact Numbers 

Primary Telephone Alternate Telephone Fax
10. Do you have a current or expired boxing or wrestling license, certification or registration issued by the Commonwealth 

of Virginia or any other jurisdiction?
No    
Yes If yes, complete the following table.

Business/Individual's Name State License, Certification or Registration Number Expiration Date

11. Have you ever been found guilty of any material misrepresentation while engaged in boxing, wrestling, or other athletic 
activities, or any conviction, guilty plea or finding of guilty, regardless of adjudication or deferred adjudication, of any 
felony or misdemeanor?

No    
Yes If yes, please attach a record of conviction, authenticated in such form as to be admissible as evidence 

under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted.
12. Has any (including Virginia) local, state or national regulatory body in any jurisdiction ever taken a disciplinary action 

against you, your business or any member of your responsible management in connection with participation in or 
promotion of professional athletic contests or activities including, but not limited to, monetary penalty, fine, suspension, 
revocation, or surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary action

No    
Yes If yes, provide a certified copy of the final order, decree or case decision by a court or regulatory agency 

with lawful authority to issue such order, decree or case decision. 

13. Have you ever been convicted in any jurisdiction of a misdemeanor and/or felony?  Any guilty plea or plea of nolo 
contendere must be disclosed on this application.  Do not disclose violations that were adjudicated as a minor in the 
juvenile court system. 

No    
Yes If yes, list the misdemeanor and/or felony conviction(s). Attach your original criminal history record; a 

certified copy of the final order, decree, or case decision by a court or regulatory agency with lawful 
authority to issue such order, decree, or case decision; and any other information you wish to have 
considered with this application (e.g., information on the status of incarceration, parole or probation; 
reference letters; documentation of rehabilitation etc.).

Original criminal history records may be obtained by contacting the state police in the jurisdiction in which you were convicted. 
Virginia residents must obtain a complete criminal history record. You may obtain a request  form from the Department of 
State Police, Central Criminal Records Exchange, Post Office Box 27472, Midlothian, Virginia  23261-7472 or by contacting 
your local State Police Division.  Certified copies of court records may be obtained by writing to the Clerk of the Court in the 
jurisdiction in which you were convicted.  The address is available from your local police department.
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I understand as a professional boxer I should be aware that this sport includes many health and safety risks, in 
particular the risk of brain injury. As such, I will take the necessary medical exams that detect brain injury. If I need 
further information about these exams, I will ask my doctor or staff of the Department.

14. I, the undersigned, certify that the foregoing statements and answers are true, and I have not suppressed any 
information that might affect the decision to approve this application. I certify that I will notify the Department if I am 
subject to any disciplinary action or convicted of any felony or misdemeanor (in any jurisdiction) prior to receiving the 
requested license. I certify that I have read, understood and complied with all the laws of Virginia under the provisions 
of Title 54.1, Chapter 8.1 of the Code of Virginia and the Virginia Professional Boxing, Wrestling and Martial Arts 
Regulations. 

Signature Date

Required Documentation
All boxing applicants must provide the following documentation dated within 180 days prior to participating in an event:

A.  A certification from a licensed physician within the past six months certifying that the applicant is in good physical health 
and that the physician has not observed any abnormalities or deficiencies that would prevent the applicant from 
participation in a boxing event or endanger the applicant, the public, officials or other licensees participating in the event. 
The department may require additional medical tests to determine the fitness of a boxer upon receipt of reliable 
information of a preexisting condition that may present a danger to the boxer.

B. A complete professional record or, if amateur just turning professional, an amateur record, an amateur passbook 
recognized by USA Boxing, or a letter from the applicant’s trainer certifying the applicant’s boxing experience, skill level, 
physical condition and current training program.

C. A satisfactory record of professional boxing or, in the case of applicants who have participated in fewer than five 
professional boxing bouts, evidence of competency in the elements of offense and defense. Such evidence may take the 
form of signed statements from individuals who have provided training to the applicant or records of the applicant's 
conduct in amateur as well as professional boxing competition and shall be sufficient to satisfy the department that the 
applicant has the ability to compete.

D.  A boxer must provide the department a negative test for the following  :
1. antibodies to the human immunodeficiency virus; 
2. Hepatitis B surface antigen (HBsAg); and 
3. antibodies to virus hepatitis C.

Such tests shall be conducted within the 180 days preceding the event. A boxer or contestant who fails to provide 
the department with the required negative test results shall not be permitted to compete in the event or contest.

*

*
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