### SP-65 (Rev. 07-01-2020) Department of State Police Virginia Firearms Transaction Record Transaction Serial Number A000000 Fee Collected: ☐ \$2.00 Resident ☐ \$5.00 Non-Resident ☐ \$5.00 Mail-in Transaction NOTE: Prepare in original only. SECTION A -- MUST BE COMPLETED PERSONALLY BY TRANSFEREE (BUYER) 1. Transferee's (Buyer's) Name (Last, First, Middle) 4. Social Security Number or Other Identifying Number □ Male 3. Birth Date (Month, Day, Year) (See Important Notice 2 on back of form) □ Female 5. Race (Ethnicity) (Check one or more boxes) ☐ American Indian or Alaska Native ☐ Black or African American ☐ Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander ☐ Hispanic or Latino ☐ Asian ☐ White 6. Are you a citizen of the United States? ☐ Yes No (See Important Notice 5 on back of form for purchase of an assault firearm.) If "No," what is your INS-issued alien number or admission number? Certification of Transferee - Answer the questions below by writing "yes" or "no" in the boxes to the right of the questions. AN UNTRUTHFUL ANSWER MAY SUBJECT YOU TO CRIMINAL PROSECUTION 7. Have you been convicted of a felony offense or found quilty or adjudicated delinquent as a juvenile 14 years of age or older at the time of offense of a delinquent act which would be a felony if committed by an adult? (See Exceptions on back of form.) Initial here to document reading and understanding of the Exceptions on back of form. 8. Are you subject to a court order restraining you from harassing, stalking, or threatening your child or an intimate partner, or a child of such partner, are you subject to a protective order, or are you subject to an emergency substantial risk order or substantial risk order? (See Important Notice 3 on back of form.) 9. Have you ever been acquitted by reason of insanity and prohibited from purchasing, possessing or transporting a firearm pursuant to §18.2-308.1:1 or any substantially similar law of any other jurisdiction, been adjudicated legally incompetent, mentally incapacitated or adjudicated an incapacitated person and prohibited from purchasing a firearm pursuant to § 18.2-308.1:2 or any substantially similar law of any other jurisdiction, been involuntarily admitted to an inpatient facility or involuntarily ordered to outpatient mental health treatment and prohibited from purchasing a firearm pursuant to § 18.2-308.1:3 or any substantially similar law of any other jurisdiction, or been the subject of a temporary detention order pursuant to § 37.2-809 and subsequently agreed to voluntary admission pursuant to § 37.2-805? I certify that the above answers and answers on the corresponding Federal Firearms Transaction Record (ATF F 4473) form are true and correct. understand that I may not receive a firearm if I am prohibited by federal or state law. I understand that the making of a false statement on this form and/or the corresponding federal form is punishable as a felony. I hereby consent to having the transferor (seller) request a criminal history record information check be performed by the Department of State Police about me in connection with this transaction. 10.a. Transferee's Signature 11. UFIN or UPIN (optional) 12. State Police Approval Number 10.b. Date ((Month, Day, Year) (See Important Notice 4 on back of form.) or Other Final Status SECTION B-- MUST BE COMPLETED BY TRANSFEROR (SELLER) 13. Establishment of Identification and Residency 30 days must have elapsed since the date of issue of an original or duplicate driver's license unless a copy of the Virginia DMV driver's record shows the original date of issue was more than 30 days. Photo-ID Issued by a Governmental Agency: \_ Issue Date State: (Driver's License Number or Identification Card Number or Other) Nonresident Secondary ID:\_ (Must contain the exact name and address as appears on the Photo-ID) Military Personnel: 🗆 Identification Card 🗆 Permanent Orders to a Duty Post in Virginia or the Pentagon 🗆 Leave and Earnings Statement Multiple Handgun exemption: Va. Concealed Handgun Permit ☐ Trade of a Handgun ☐ Exchange of a Handgun Original Doc No: ☐ Multiple Handgun Certificate No: Approval No: ☐ Private Security Company Name: ☐ Lost or Stolen Handgun Date: ORI: □ Law Enforcement Officer/ Agency/Corrections Facility Agency:\_ ☐ Private Sale of Curios/Relics 14. No. of Firearms by Category (Insert the number beside the corresponding category. "Other" is provided to accommodate federal requirements only.) 15. Dealer Identification Number (DIN) Pistol(s) Revolver(s) Other(s) Rifle(s) Shotgun(s) 16. Employee/Seller Identification Number 17. Federal firearms License 18. Jurisdiction of Sale

THE PERSON MAKING THE ACTUAL FIREARMS TRANSFER MUST COMPLETE ITEMS 19 and 20

ORIGINAL

(Last 5 Digits)

(County or City)

20. Transaction Date

(See Instructions on back of form).

Approved

19. Transferor's (Seller's) Signature and Title

■ Not Approved

DO NOT WRITE BELOW THIS LINE -- TO BE COMPLETED BY STATE POLICE

#### **IMPORTANT NOTICES**

- 1. Unless otherwise specified, all section ("\section") references herein are to the Code of Virginia (1950, as amended).
- 2. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER OR OTHER IDENTIFYING NUMBER: The social security number is solicited pursuant to § 18.2-308.2:2. If provided, the social security number will help prevent misidentification and will allow for a more thorough search of all state and federal computerized criminal history records. The social security number will not be made part of any public record. Pursuant to § 18.2-308.2:2, the State Police shall not maintain records longer than 30-days, except for multiple handgun transactions for which records shall be maintained for 12 months from the date of transaction, pertaining to any buyer or transferee who is not found to be prohibited from possessing or transporting a firearm under state or federal law. This information is provided pursuant to the Government Data Collection and Dissemination Practices Act (§2.2-3800, et seq). § 2.2-3800 (C) (10) provides that an agency shall not collect personal information except as explicitly or implicitly authorized by law. Pursuant to § 2.2-3803 (A), it is unlawful for an agency to require an individual to disclose or furnish his social security number for any purpose in connection with any activity, or to refuse any service, privilege or right to an individual wholly or partly because the individual does not disclose such number, unless the disclosure or furnishing of such number is specifically required by federal or state law. Disclosure of your social security number is not mandatory in the completion of this form. An example of an "other identifying number "is a home state driver's license number.
- 3. ORDERS OF PROTECTION AND SUBSTANTIAL RISK ORDERS: Pursuant to § 18.2-308.1:4 and 18.2-308.1:6, it shall be unlawful for any person who is subject to (i) a protective order entered pursuant to § 16.1-253.1, 16.1-253.4, 16.1-278.2, 16.1-279.1, 19.2-152.8, 19.2-152.9, or § 19.2-152.10; (ii) an order issued pursuant to subsection B of § 20-103; (iii) an order entered pursuant to subsection D of § 18.2-60.3; (iv) a preliminary protective order entered pursuant to subsection F of § 16.1-253 where a petition alleging abuse or neglect has been filed; (v) an emergency substantial risk order or a substantial risk order entered pursuant to §19.2-152.13 or 19.2-152.14; or (vi) an order issued by a tribunal of another state, the United States or any of its territories, possessions or commonwealths, or the District of Columbia pursuant to a statute that is substantially similar to those cited in clauses (i), (ii), (iii), (iv), or (v) to purchase or transport any firearm while the order is in effect. A violation of these sections is a Class 1 misdemeanor.
- 4. UFIN OR UPIN: A Unique Firearms Identification Number (UFIN) may be issued by the Virginia State Police upon successful appeal of a denied firearms purchase application, and may be used in future firearm purchase applications with <u>Virginia firearms dealers</u>, only. Or, a Unique Personal Identification Number (UPIN) may be issued by the FBI for nationwide use. In either instance, a complete criminal history record information check will continue to be performed at the time of purchase. A UFIN or UPIN will prompt the State Police Firearms Transaction Center to check the appropriate appeals file in the processing of your transaction.
- 5. SALE OF AN ASSAULT WEAPON: Pursuant to § 18.2-308.2:2, no dealer shall sell, rent, trade or transfer from his inventory any assault firearm to any person who is not a citizen of the United States or who is not a person lawfully admitted for permanent resident.

## **EXCEPTIONS**

A person who has been convicted of a felony is not prohibited from purchasing, receiving, or possessing a firearm if: (1) under the law where the conviction occurred, the person has been pardoned, this conviction has been expunged or set aside, or the person has had civil rights (the right to vote, sit on a jury and hold public office) restored AND (2) the person is not prohibited by the law where the conviction occurred from receiving or possessing firearms (MUST HAVE BOTH 1 & 2). Persons subject to this exception should answer "no" to question 7.

A person who, pursuant to § 18.2-308.1:1, 18.2-308.1:2, or 18.2-308.1:3, has had his firearms rights restored by a court after having been prohibited from purchasing, possessing, or transporting a firearm as a result of being (i) acquitted by reason of insanity; (ii) adjudicated legally incompetent, mentally incapacitated, or incapacitated; (iii) involuntarily admitted to a facility or ordered to mandatory outpatient treatment; or (iv) the subject of a temporary detention order and subsequently agreeing to voluntary admission should answer "no" to question 9.

It shall be unlawful for (i) any person who has been convicted of a felony; (ii) any person adjudicated delinquent, as a juvenile 14 years of age or older at the time of the offense of murder in violation of § 18.2-31 or 18.2-32, kidnapping in violation of § 18.2-47, robbery by the threat or presentation of firearms in violation of § 18.2-58, or rape in violation of § 18.2-61; or (iii) any person under the age of 29 who was adjudicated delinquent as a juvenile 14 years of age or older at the time of the offense of a delinquent act which would be a felony if committed by an adult, other than those felonies set forth in clause (ii), whether such conviction or adjudication occurred under the laws of the Commonwealth, or any other state, the District of Columbia, the United States or any territory thereof, to knowingly and intentionally possess or transport any firearm discharge and not otherwise prohibited.

Possession of firearms by persons adjudicated delinquent; military service exception. Pursuant to § 18.2-308.2, an individual who was adjudicated delinquent when 14 years of age or older of a delinquent act that would be a felony if committed by an adult and has completed a term of enlistment of no less than two years in the Armed Forces of the United States and, if such person has been discharged from the Armed Forces of the United States, received an honorable discharge, is not disqualified from purchasing a firearm. This exception does not apply to convictions of murder in violation of § 18.2-31 or 18.2-32, kidnapping in violation of § 18.2-47, robbery by the threat or presentation of firearms in violation of § 18.2-58, or rape in violation of § 18.2-61.

## **INSTRUCTIONS TO TRANSFEREE (BUYER)**

The buyer of a firearm will in every instance personally complete Section A of the form and certify (sign) that the answers are true and correct.

IF THE BUYER IS UNABLE TO READ AND/OR TO WRITE: The answers may be written by other persons excluding the seller of the firearm. Two persons (other than the seller or employees of the seller) will then sign as witnesses to the buyer's answers and signature. Two persons, other than the transferor, must then sign the form alongside the buyer's mark as witnesses to the transaction AND TO AFFIRM THE PURCHASER'S IDENTITY.

## TRANSFEREE'S (BUYERS) RIGHTS

The individual denied the purchase or pawn redemption of the firearm(s) who believes that he or she is not prohibited by state or federal law may pursue the matter as follows: (1) Contact the Firearms Transaction Center Help Desk at (804) 674-2292 or (804) 674-2788 to discuss the ineligible determination and/or to provide additional information deemed pertinent to the final determination of eligibility, or email <a href="mailto:firearms@vsp.virginia.gov">firearms@vsp.virginia.gov</a>. (2) Review their criminal history record and request correction of the record if the record is found to be in error, pursuant to § 9.1-132, provided that any such action is initiated within 30 days of the denial. (3) Exercise their right to institute a civil action pursuant to § 9.1-135, provided that any such action is initiated within 30 days of the denial. (4) Challenge to the accuracy of a record, in writing, to: FBI, NICS Operations Center, Criminal Justice Information Services Division, 1000 Custer Hollow Road, Module C-3, Clarksburg, West Virginia 26306-0147, or via the NICS Appeal Website at <a href="mailto:http://www.fbi.gov/nics-appeals">http://www.fbi.gov/nics-appeals</a>. This process of appeal is authorized by 28 CFR 25.10.

## **INSTRUCTIONS TO TRANSFEROR (SELLER)**

EMPLOYEE/SELLER IDENTIFICATION NUMBER recorded in Block 16 represents the person who ensured that Section A was completed in its entirety and signed by the customer, who reviewed the identification and residency documentation, and completed Section B in accordance with procedures set forth by the Virginia State Police, including:

Ensure that a duplicate or new issued photo-ID issued by DMV contains an issuance date of thirty-days or more prior to the date of purchase.

The dealer must retain the original completed form for a period of not less than two years. Copy 1 of this form, and corresponding fee collected from the purchaser shall be forwarded to the State Police pursuant to § 18.2-308.2:2.

# Department of State Police Virginia Firearms Transaction Record

Fee Collected: ☐ \$2.00 Resident ☐ \$5.00 Non-Resident	dent ☐ \$5.00 Mail-in Transactio	n Transaction Se	rial Number A00000
NOTE: Prepare in original only.			
	ST BE COMPLETED PERSO	ONALLY BY TRANSFEREE (	BUYER)
Transferee's (Buyer's) Name (Last, First, Mide	dle)		
2. Male 3. Birth Date (Month, Day, Year)		curity Number or Other Identif ant Notice 2 on back of form)	ying Number
5. Race (Ethnicity) (Check one or more boxes)  America Hispani			awaiian or Other Pacific Islander
6. Are you a citizen of the United States?	es No (See Important N	otice 5 on back of form for purchase of	an assault firearm.)
If "No," what is your INS-issued alien number o	r admission number?		
Certification of Transferee - Answer the C AN UNTRUTHFU		ng "yes" or "no" in the bo YOU TO CRIMINAL PROSE	
7. Have you been convicted of a felony offense or foun delinquent act which would be a felony if committed	by an adult? (See Exceptions on ba	as a juvenile 14 years of age or o ck of form.) derstanding of the Exceptions on back	
Are you subject to a court order restraining you from subject to a protective order, or are you subject to an			
substantially similar law of any other jurisdiction, bee prohibited from purchasing a firearm pursuant to § 1 inpatient facility or involuntarily ordered to outpatient substantially similar law of any other jurisdiction, or be voluntary admission pursuant to § 37.2-805?  I certify that the above answers and answers on understand that I may not receive a firearm if I am I the corresponding federal form is punishable as a	8.2-308.1:2 or any substantially s mental health treatment and proloeen the subject of a temporary detection the corresponding Federal Fibrohibited by federal or state la felony. I hereby consent to ha	imilar law of any other jurisdiction, hibited from purchasing a firearm petention order pursuant to § 37.2-in rearms Transaction Record (A aw. I understand that the making the transferor (seller) requirements.	been involuntarily admitted to an oursuant to § 18.2-308.1:3 or any 809 and subsequently agreed to  TF F 4473) form are true and correct. If g of a false statement on this form and/or
check be performed by the Department of State Pole 10.a. Transferee's Signature	10.b. Date ((Month, Day, Year)	h this transaction.  11. UFIN or UPIN (optional) (See Important Notice 4 on back of fo	12. State Police Approval Number or Other Final Status
SECTION	R., MUST RE COMPLETED	BY TRANSFEROR (SELLER	2)
13. Establishment of Identification and Residency	N B MUST BE COMPLETED BY TRANSFEROR (SELLER)  30 days must have elapsed since the date of issue of an original or duplicate driver's license unless a copy of the Virginia DMV driver's record shows the original date of issue was more than 30 days.		
A. Photo-ID Issued by a Governmental Agency: Issue Date State:			
(Driver's License Number or Identification Card Number or Other)  B. Nonresident Secondary ID: (Must contain the exact name and address as appears on the Photo-ID)			
C. Military Personnel:   Identification Card   Personnel:	ermanent Orders to a Duty Post in	n Virginia or the Pentagon □ Leav	e and Earnings Statement
D. Multiple Handgun exemption:   Va. Concealed Handgun Permit   Trade of a Handgun			
☐ Exchange of a Handgun Original Doc No: ☐ Multiple Handgun Certificate No:Approval No:			
☐ Private Security Company Name: ☐ Lost or Stolen Handgun Date:ORI:Case No:			
☐ Law Enforcement Officer/ Agency/Correct	ctions Facility Agency:	Private	e Sale of Curios/Relics
14. No. of Firearms by Category (Insert the number beside the Pistol(s) Revolver(s) Rifle(s	he corresponding category. "Other" is provided to		5. Dealer Identification Number (DIN)
16. Employee/Seller Identification Number (See Instructions on back of form).	17. Federal firearms (Last 5 Digits)	· ,	18. Jurisdiction of Sale (County or City)
THE PERSON MAKING THE ACTUAL FIREARMS TRANSFER MUST COMPLETE ITEMS 19 and 20			
19. Transferor's (Seller's) Signature and Title 20. Transaction Date			
DO NOT WRITE BELOW THIS LINE TO BE COMPL Approved    Not Approved	ETED BY STATE POLICE (Signature)		
	Superintendent or Design	nnee	Date