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All required documentation is to be sent to the Board office in a single packet with the application. Please 
note:  Fees are not refundable, Regulation 18 VAC 60-20-40. 
 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLICATION FOR REACTIVATION OF LICENSE 
Regulation 18 VAC 60-20-105 
 
_____ 1.  Completed Application. Please be sure that all information is completed on application. 
 
_____   2.  Fee  ($285-Dentist) ($75-Dental Hygienist) Check or money order made payable to Treasurer of 
 Virginia 
 
_____ 3.  Continuing Education.  Documentation of having completed continuing education hours equal 

to the requirement for the number of years in which the license has been inactive, not to exceed a 
total of 45 hours. Of the required hours, at least 15 must be earned in the most recent 12 months 
and the remainder within the 36 months immediately preceding the application for reactivation.   
For continuing education requirements, see Regulation 18 VAC 60-20-50. Do not send original 
documents.  

 
 Please submit copies of continuing education which indicates: 
 (1) your name 
 (2) Name of course 
 (3) date of course 
 (4) name of sponsor; and 
 (5) number of hours 
 
_____ 4. Original  current reports, not older than 6 months,  from the (1) Healthcare Integrity and 

Protection Data Bank (HIPDB) AND  (2)National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB).  These are two  
reports which can be  obtained from: www.npdb-hipdb.hrsa.gov, 1-800-767-6732, or NPDB-HIPDB, 
P.O. Box 10832, Chantilly, Va  20153-0832 and should be submitted with the application. 

 

NOTES: 
 Applicants are required to have a current inactive license before reactivation.  
 

 You might obtain the Virginia dental and dental hygiene laws and the regulations of the Virginia 
Board of Dentistry on-line at www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry. 

 

 To receive notice that your application has been delivered to the Board, it is suggested that the 
complete packet be mailed by “Certified Mail-Return Receipt Requested” or with “Delivery 
Confirmation”. 

 

 After 15 business days of applying, you might check on-line to see if your license has been 
reactivated by going to www.dhp.virginia.gov and selecting License Lookup.  

 

 Applicants who submit an incomplete application will be notified within 10 business days of receipt 
that required information is missing. 

 

 Consistent with Virginia law §54.1.2400.02 and the mission of the Department of Health 
Professions, addresses of licensees are made available to the public.  Normally, the Address of 
Record is the publically disclosable address.  If you do not want your address of Record to be 
made public, state law allows you to provide a second, publically disclosable address.  Typically, 
this other address is the work or practice address. If you would like for your Address of Record to 
be made available to the public, complete both sections with the a same address. 
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APPLICATION FOR REACTIVATION OF LICENSE 

 
I hereby make application to reactivate my license to practice Dentistry ($285)_________ or Dental 
Hygiene ($75)________ in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  The following information in support of my 
application is submitted with a check or money order payable to the Treasurer of Virginia in the amount 
of $_________.  The fee in non-refundable.  Attached are copies certifying completion of ____________ 
contact hours of approved continuing education pursuant to 18 VAC 60-20-105 (B). 

 
GENERAL INFORMATION - Please provide the information requested below.  (Print or Type) Use full name , not initials.) 
Name: Last First Middle/Maiden Suffix 

 
 

Address of Record (Mailing Address) City State Zip Code Telephone Number 
 
 

 Publicly Disclosable Address City State Zip Code Telephone Number 
 
 

E-Mail Address Fax # 
 

Date of Birth 
____ ____/____ ____/____ ____ ____ ____ 

Social Security Number or DMV Control Number 
____ ___ ____--____ ____---____ ____ ____ ____ 
 

Virginia License Number Date First License Issued 
 

Name at Time of Original Licensure (Last, First, Maiden) 

 
*Name change: Documentation must be provided to show name change(s) if name has ever been changed from the 

time you attended school or while you were licensed in other jurisdictions. 
**In accordance with § 54.1-116 of the Code of Virginia, you are required to submit your Social Security Number or your 
control number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.  If you fail to do so, the processing of your 
application will be suspended and fees will not be refunded.  This number will be used by the Department of Health 
Professions for identification and will not be disclosed for other purposes except as provided by law.  Federal and 
state law requires that this number be shared with other agencies for child support enforcement activities. 
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Please answer YES or NO to EACH of the following:  (If you answer yes to any of the 
questions, please explain in detail below and have certified copies of any applicable 
orders sent directly to this office. 
 
1. Have you ever had any of the following disciplinary actions taken against your license by 
 any licensing  authority in any jurisdiction: placed on probation, suspended, revoked or 
 other disciplinary action?    YES ______    NO  _______ 
 
2. Has your practice ever been the subject of an investigation by any licensing authority?  
 YES ________    NO_______ 
 
3. Have you ever been denied a license or certification in a health related field or 
 jurisdiction?   YES  ______   NO______ 
 
4. Is your license in good standing in all jurisdictions where licensed?   YES ______   
 NO ______ 
 
 Please respond in full to the following questions.  Please answer YES or NO to each question. 
  
5. Have you ever been convicted, pled guilty to or pled Nolo Contendere to the violation of 
 any federal, state or other statute or ordinance constituting a felony or misdemeanor? 
 (Including convictions for  driving under the influence, but excluding traffic violations)? 
 YES _______  No ______.  If yes, explain  below and have a certified copy of the court 
 order sent directly to the Board of Dentistry. 
 
6. Do you have a mental, physical or chemical dependency condition which could interfere 
 with your current ability to practice Dentistry/Dental Hygiene  YES ______  NO  ______.  
 If yes, explain below  and have a letter from your treating licensed professional 
 summarizing diagnosis, treatment and prognosis sent directly to the Board of  Dentistry. 
 

EXPLANATIONS: 
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VIRGINIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY 
APPLICATION AFFIDAVIT 
(MUST BE COMPLETED BEFORE A NOTARY PUBLIC) 
 
 

I, __________________________________________________________________, being first duly 
sworn, depose and say that I am the person referred to in the foregoing application and supporting 
documents. 
 
I hereby authorize all hospitals, institutions or organizations, my references, personal physicians, 
employers (past and present) business and professional associates (past and present) and all 
governmental agencies and instrumentalities (local, state, federal or foreign) to release to the Virginia 
Board of Dentistry any information, files or records requested by the Board  which is material to me and 
my application. 
  

I have carefully read the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them completely, 
without reservations of any kind, and I declare under penalty of perjury that my answers and all 
statements made by me in the application and supporting documents are true and correct.   Should I 
furnish any false information in this application, I hereby agree that such act shall constitute cause for 
the denial, suspension, or revocation of my license to practice in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 
 
I have carefully read the laws and regulations related to the practice of dentistry and dental 
hygiene.  I hereby agree to abide by and remain current with the applicable laws and regulations 
which are available on www.dhp.virginia.gov, and  
 
I have attached a certified check, cashier’s check or money order in the amount of  $___________   
made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.  I fully understand that funds submitted as part of the 
application shall not be refunded. 
 
 

       ____________________________________________ 
         Signature of Applicant 
 

 
State of ______________________________  
 
County/City of ______________________________________________ 
 
 
Sworn and subscribed to, before me, this __________day of _________________________, _______. 
                                                                       Day                               Month                                 Year 
 
My commission expires on ______________________________. 
 
 
       ____________________________________________ 
                 Signature of Notary Public 
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NAME OF LICENSEE _____________________       LICENSE NUMBER _______________ 

 
PLEASE LIST CONTINUING EDCATION BELOW COMPLETING  

ALL INFORMATION AND INCLUDE ALL SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION 
 

(Refer to Regulation 18 VAC 60-20-50. Requirements for continuing education 
for approved sponsors) 

 

DATE 
(in date 
order) 

NAME OF 
COURSE 

APPROVED 
SPONSOR 

NUMBER 
OF HOURS 

BOARD 
REVIEW 
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        TOTAL HOURS__________ 
 
 
 
 
 


