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COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA  
BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

 

 

Department of Health Professions 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 

Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463 

(804) 367-4441 

Website - http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/social  

 

GENERAL INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS 

FOR CHANGE OF STATUS (INACTIVE TO ACTIVE) AS A  

SOCIAL WORKER (LSW) OR CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER (LCSW) 

A social worker wishing to reactivate an inactive license shall submit the renewal fee for active licensure minus any fee 
already paid for inactive licensure renewal, and document completion of continued competency hours equal to the 
number of years the license has been inactive, not to exceed four years.  

An applicant for reactivation who has been inactive for four years or more shall also provide evidence of competency 
to practice by documenting: 

1. Active practice in another U.S. jurisdiction for at least three of the past five years immediately preceding 
application; 

2. Active practice in an exempt setting for at least three of the past five years immediately preceding application; or 

3.  Practice as a supervisee under supervision for at least 360 hours in the 12 months immediately preceding 
licensure in Virginia. 

Instructions: 

Submit the enclosed status change request and supporting documentation in one package to the address indicated 
above. Please review this checklist to make certain that all the required documents are submitted. 

 Fee: the following fee must be paid: 

• Licensed Social Workers (LSW) will be required to submit $32.50 fee which must be paid by check or money 
order made payable to the “Treasurer of Virginia”. This fee is non-refundable. 

• Licensed Clinical Social Workers (LCSW) will be required to submit $45.00 fee which must be paid by check 
or money order made payable to the “Treasurer of Virginia”. This fee is non-refundable. 

 Continuing Education (CE) Certificates:  

• Licensed Social Workers (LSW) are required to complete CE for a minimum of 7.5 hours including two (2) 
hours that pertain to ethics or the standards of practice for the behavioral health professions or to laws governing 
the practice of social work in Virginia for each year, not to exceed four years. 

• Licensed Clinical Social Workers (LCSW) are required to complete CE for a minimum of 30 hours of including 
two (2) hours that pertain to ethics or the standards of practice for the behavioral health professions or to laws 
governing the practice of social work in Virginia for each year, not to exceed four years. 

Inactive more than four years: 

• Verification of Active Practice/Supervision (page 3): To validate your active post-licensure practice as a social 
worker or clinical social worker, this form should be completed by your employer, colleague, peer or a licensed 
practitioner who can attest to your post-licensure active practice in another U.S. jurisdiction or exempt setting in 
Virginia for at least 24 out of the past 60 months. If you have had several jobs, please submit multiple verification 
forms equaling to a minimum of 24 months.  
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COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

 

 

Department of Health Professions 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 

Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463 
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FORM FOR CHANGE OF STATUS (INACTIVE TO ACTIVE)  
AS A SOCIAL WORKER (LSW) OR  

CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER (LCSW) 

I hereby submit a request for change of status of my Virginia license number _____________________.    

Name  (Last, First) (Middle Initial) (Maiden) (Suffix) 

Social Security Number or Virginia DMV Control Number 
 

Date of Birth (MM/DD/YY) 
 
 

Mailing Address (Street and/or Box Number, City, State, Zip Code) 
 

 Home Telephone Number 

Public Address (Street and/or Box Number, City, State, Zip Code) Alternate Telephone Number 

E-mail Address 

 

LSWs 
Check all boxes that apply to you: 
  

I am attesting to the completion of the required Continuing Education for one year which total 7.5 CE hours. 
DO NOT MAIL CERTIFICATES WITH THIS OPTION 

 
I am attesting to the completion of the required Continuing Education for ____ years which total ____ CE 
hours (7.5 hours per year). I have submitted copies of my CE hours for evaluation.  

 
Have you been inactive for more than four years? 
 Yes  No 
 
LCSWs 

Check all boxes that apply to you: 
  

I am attesting to the completion of the required Continuing Education for one year which total 15 CE hours. 
DO NOT MAIL CERTIFICATES WITH THIS OPTION 

 
I am attesting to the completion of the required Continuing Education for ____ years which total ____ (15 
hours per year) CE hours. I have submitted copies of my CE hours for evaluation. 

 
Have you been inactive for more than four years? 
 Yes  No 
 

SIGNATURE OF LICENSEE _________________________________________ DATE _____________________  
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VERIFICATION OF ACTIVE PRACTICE/SUPERVISION  

AS A CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER 

Part I. To be completed by applicant:  

 
 
I,  __________________________________________________, hereby authorize past and present employers, businesses,  
               (Printed Name of Applicant) 
professional associates and personal references to release to the Virginia Board of Social Work (“Board”) any information 
requested by the Board in connection with the processing of my application. 
 
 
          ________________________________________ 
          Signature of Applicant 
 

Part II. To be completed by reference:  

Name of Reference:  _______________________________ Type of License Held (if applicable): ___________________________ 

Mailing Address of Reference (Street, and/or Box Number, City, State, Zip Code): 

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Relationship to Applicant: __________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

I, __________________________________________________(Printed Name of Reference), declare under perjury under the laws 

of the Commonwealth of Virginia that __________________________________________________(Printed Name of Applicant), 

candidate for reactivation of (check one): 

 

 Licensed Social Worker   Licensed Clinical Social Worker 

 

in the Commonwealth of Virginia was in active post-licensure practice at the following location (name and address) 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________                                            

for at least 24 out of the past 60 months immediately preceding their application for reactivation.  

 

__________________________________________________    _________________________________________ 

Signature of Reference     Date 
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