INSTRUCTIONS/CHECKLIST
INITIAL APPLICATION WITH VIRGINIA BOARD OF EDUCATION ENDORSEMENT
SCHOOL SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY LICENSE

BEFORE YOU PROCEED, READ THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION CAREFULLY:

1)

2)

This initial application is for an individual who has an active, renewable license issued by the Virginia Board of Education with a
valid endorsement in speech-language pathology as of June 30, 2014. If an individual has ever been issued a license by the Board
of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology (Board), this application cannot be submitted and the Board should be contacted;
Review the Virginia laws and regulations pertaining to the practice of audiology and speech-language pathology at
www.dhp.virginia.gov/aud/. The application requires a signature attesting to reading the laws and regulations related to the practice
of audiology and speech-language pathology;

An incomplete application will delay processing;

The board may require additional documentation as needed to determine eligibility;

Additional forms are located under “Other Forms” on the board’s website;

The receipt or status of an application is discussed only with the applicant;

Submit a required fee of $70, check or money order, made payable to “Treasurer of Virginia;” and

Please allow 21 days from initial mailing for board staff to receive and process an application.

Application Checklist

Verification in the form of a copy of an active, renewable license issued by the Virginia Board of Education with a valid
endorsement in speech-language pathology as of June 30, 2014; and

Verification of all speech-language pathology licenses ever held, including expired, in another jurisdiction of the U.S. or its
territories and District of Columbia. Licenses may be verified on the Board’s optional Licensure Verification Form located on the
Board’s website under “Additional Forms.” A license issued by the Virginia Board of Education does not need to be verified using
this form. Do not send this form to the Virginia Department of Education.

Application Notifications from the Board

Email confirmation of receipt of application, including a listing of incomplete application items, are typically sent within 21
business days.

Email notice when license issued. Note: Individuals are not licensed to practice until they receive notification from the Board that
the license has been issued. An application in process is not sufficient to practice.

Postal mailing of the license.

License Expiration Dates

Please refer to the registration for expiration date.

Board Communication

Email address: The Board’s preferred method of communication is through email notifications. Maintaining a current email address
with the Board office provides a mechanism for up-to-date and cost effective communication. Note: It is recommended that you
add the Board’s email address to your list of contacts to avoid the Board’s communication being identified as SPAM.

To receive automatic board regulatory updates via email, register with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at
www.townhall.virginia.gov.

Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology Contact Information

Address: 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 Email: AudBD@dhp.virginia.gov
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463 Phone: (804) 367-4630
Webpage: www.dhp.virginia.gov/aud/ Fax: (804) 527-4471

Note: As of June 1, 2019, the Board’s phone number will change to: (804) 597-4132
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Virginia Department of

S Health Professions

Board of Audiology and Speech-language Pathology

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 Phone - (804) 367-4630 www.dhp.virginia.gov/aud/
Henrico, Virginia 23233 Fax - (804) 527-4471 Email — audbd@dhp.virginia.gov

Note: As of June 1, 2019, the Board’s phone number will change to: (804) 597-4132

INITIAL APPLICATION WITH VIRGINIA BOARD OF EDUCATION ENDORSEMENT
SCHOOL SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY LICENSE

Full Name (Please Print or Type)

Last First Middle Initial

Have you ever been known by any other name? Yes |:| No |:| If yes, state, in full, every name by which you have been

known, the reason therefore, and dates so used. If the name stated above does not match name on required documentat
a copy of court order or marriage certificate is required.

ion,

Other Names:

Public Address for Disclosure City State | Zip Code Telephone
No.

Address of Record (Mailing Address) City State | Zip Code Telephone
No.

ADDRESS: Virginia law allows persons regulated by boards within the Department of Health Professions to provide an

alternative address for public disclosure if they want their address of record to remain confidential, used only for agency
purposes. Health professionals may choose to provide a work address, a post office box, or a home address as the public
address. If an alternative public address is not provided, the address of record will also be used as the public address and

may be disclosed if specifically requested. Addresses of individuals are not posted on the "License Lookup" program
available through the board's website.

*Social Security No. or Virginia DMV No. Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy) Email Address

Are you active-duty military? YES | NO
Are you the spouse of a member of the U.S. military who has been transferred to Virginia and who had to YES | NO
leave employment to accompany your spouse to Virginia? |:| |:|

*In accordance with §54.1-116 Code of Virginia, you are required to submit your Social Security Number or your control number**
issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. [f you fail to do so, the processing of your application will be suspended and
fees will not be refunded. This number will be used by the Department of Health Professions for identification and will not be
disclosed for other purposes except as provided by law. Federal and state law requires that this number be shared with other state
agencies for child support enforcement activities. In order to obtain a Virginia driver’s license control number, it is necessary to
appear in person at an office of the Department of Motor Vehicles in Virginia. A fee and disclosure to DMV of your Social
Security Number will be required to obtain this number.

APPLICANTS DO NOT USE SPACES BELOW THIS LINE — FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

APPLICANT # FEE IAT VOUCHER #/RECEIPT # LICENSE # ISSUE DATE
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1. Have you been actively engaged in the practice of speech-language pathology prior to seeking YES NO
licensure in Virginia? [] []

2. List all professional practice in reverse chronological order. A resume may be submitted.

Begin Date End Date Name of Employer/City/State/Phone Type of Practice

(mm/dd/yyyy) (mm/dd/yyyy)

3. List all jurisdictions (U.S. or its territories, District of Columbia) in which you have ever held a license, including expired,
to practice speech-language pathology (does not include teaching certificates issued by the Department of Education).

If more space is needed, please record on separate paper.

Jurisdiction License # Issue Date Years of | License Status

(mm/dd/yyyy) Practice | (expired/activel/inactive/revoked/suspended)

QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED. If any of the following questions (4-10) are answered yes, explain and
substantiate with documentation. Letters must be submitted by your attorney regarding malpractice suits.

4. Have you ever been convicted of a violation of, or pled Nolo Contendere to, any federal, state or local statute,

regulation or ordinance, or entered into any plea bargaining relating to a felony or misdemeanor, to include
convictions for driving under the influence (DUI) and excludes traffic violations. Attach your original criminal
history record, a certified copy of any final order, decree, or case decision by a court or regulatory agency
with lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or case decision and any other information you wish to be
considered with your application (i.e. information on the status of incarceration, parole, or probation,
reference letters, etc.).

YES | NO

5. Within the past five years, have you exhibited any conduct or behavior that could call into question
your ability to practice in a competent and professional manner? YES | NO
(A) Please provide a full explanation (use separate page). |:| |:|
(B) Within the past five years, have you sought or been directed to seek treatment for your conduct or
behavior? [ ] Yes [] No
6. Within the past five years, have you been disciplined by any entity? \EIS ﬁ
(A) Please provide a full explanation and any associated orders or letters from the entity (use separate
page).
(B) Within the past five years, have you sought or been directed to seek treatment for your conduct or
behavior? [ ] Yes [] No
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7. Do you currently have any physical condition or impairment that affects or limits your ability to perform

any of the obligations and responsibilities of professional practice in a safe and competent manner?
“Currently” means recently enough so that the condition could reasonably have an impact on your ability
to function as a practicing speech-language pathologist.

If yes, please provide a full explanation (use separate page). (NOTE: The Board may request a letter
from your current treatment provider addressing your current condition and ability to safely practice.
You may consider providing this documentation with your application, or have your provider send this
documentation directly to the Board.)

YES | NO
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8. Do you currently have any mental health condition or impairment that affects or limits your ability to
perform any of the obligations and responsibilities of professional practice in a safe and competent
manner? “Currently” means recently enough so that the condition could reasonably have an impact on
your ability to function as a practicing speech-language pathologist.

If yes, please provide a full explanation (use separate page). (NOTE: The Board may request a letter YES | NO
from your current treatment provider addressing your current condition and ability to safely practice. D D
You may consider providing this documentation with your application, or have your provider send this
documentation directly to the Board.)

9. Do you currently have any condition or impairment related to alcohol or other substance use that
affects or limits your ability to perform any of the obligations and responsibilities of professional practice
in a safe and competent manner? “Currently” means recently enough so that the condition could YES | NO
reasonably have an impact on your ability to function as a practicing speech-language pathologist. |:| |:|

If yes, please provide a full explanation (use separate page). (NOTE: The Board may request a letter
from your current treatment provider addressing your current condition and ability to safely practice.
You may consider providing this documentation with your application, or have your provider send this
documentation directly to the Board.)

10. Within the past five years, have any conditions or restrictions been imposed upon you or your practice YES [ NO
to avoid disciplinary action by any entity? ] (]

If yes, please provide a full explanation (use separate page). (NOTE: The Board may request a letter
from your current treatment provider addressing your current condition and ability to safely practice.
You may consider providing this documentation with your application, or have your provider send this
documentation directly to the Board.)

11. AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT

| have carefully read the laws and regulations related to the practice of audiology and speech-language
pathology. | hereby agree to abide by and remain current with the applicable laws and regulations which are
available on www.dhp.virginia.gov.

| certify by entering my signature below: | am the person applying for licensure/certification/registration and
meet the qualifications required by Virginia law and regulations. Further, | certify the information provided in
this application has been personally provided and reviewed by me, and that statements made on the
application are true and complete. | understand that providing false or misleading information, as well as
omitting information, in response to information requested in this application or as part of the application
process are considered falsification of the application and may be grounds for denial of or taking disciplinary
action against an existing license/certificate/registration.

Signature of Applicant
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