Commonwealth of Virginia Certificate of Group Health Plan Coverage

| Date of This Certificate: |
|--|
| Name of Participant: |
| Name of Health Care Plan: |
| Participant's Identification Number: |
| Membership Level (Single, Employee + One, Family): |
| Name of Individuals to Whom This Certificate Applies: |
| |
| Was the Period of Creditable Coverage More Than 18 Months? (Yes/No): |
| If Less Than 18 Months, Date Coverage Began: |
| Date Coverage Ended: |
| Date Waiting Period Began: <u>Not Applicable</u> |
| Person preparing this certificate and to whom questions should be addressed: |
| Name: |
| Telephone No: |

Note: Separate certificates will be furnished if information is not identical for the participant and each beneficiary.

Statement of HIPAA Portability Rights

This certificate is evidence of your coverage under the plan. You may need evidence of coverage to reduce a pre-existing condition exclusion period under another plan, to help you get special enrollment in another plan, or to get certain types of individual health coverage even if you have health problems. This certificate, as required by the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA), is furnished to everyone leaving the State Health Benefits Program or the State Retiree Health Benefits Program (except for Medicare Supplement Plans). You may obtain additional certificates for you or your covered family members from your Agency Benefits Administrator (or the Virginia Retirement System for retirees) should you need them during the 24 months following your termination from the plan.

Pre-existing condition exclusions. Some group health plans restrict coverage for medical conditions present before an individual's enrollment. These restrictions are known as "pre-existing condition exclusions." A pre-existing condition exclusion can apply only to conditions for which medical advice, diagnosis, care, or treatment was recommended or received within the 6 months before your "enrollment date." Your enrollment date is your first day of coverage under the plan, or if there is a waiting period, the first day of your waiting period (typically, your first day of work). In addition, a pre-existing condition exclusion cannot last for more than 12 months after your enrollment date (18 months if you are a late enrollee). Finally, a pre-existing condition exclusion cannot apply to pregnancy and cannot apply to a child who is enrolled in health coverage within 30 days after birth, adoption, or placement for adoption.

If a plan imposes a pre-existing condition exclusion, the length of the exclusion must be reduced by the amount of your prior creditable coverage. Most health coverage is creditable coverage, including group health plan coverage, Extended Coverage (COBRA), coverage under an individual health policy, Medicare, Medicaid, State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP), and coverage through high-risk pools and the Peace Corps. Not all forms of creditable coverage are required to provide certificates like this one. If you do not receive a certificate for past coverage, talk with your new plan administrator.

You can add up any creditable coverage you have, including the coverage shown on this certificate. However, if at any time you went for 63 days or more without any coverage (called a break in coverage) a plan may not have to count the coverage you had before the break.

• Therefore, once your coverage ends, you should try to obtain alternative coverage as soon as possible to avoid a 63-day break. You may use this certificate as evidence of your creditable coverage to reduce the length of any pre-existing condition exclusion if you enroll in another plan.

<u>**Right to get special enrollment in another plan.**</u> Under HIPAA, if you lose your group health plan coverage, you may be able to get into another group health plan for which you are eligible (such as a spouse's plan), even if the plan generally does not accept late enrollees, if you request enrollment within 30 days. (Additionally, special enrollment rights are triggered by marriage, birth, adoption, and placement for adoption.)

• Therefore, once your coverage ends, if you are eligible for coverage in another plan (such as a spouse's plan), you should request special enrollment as soon as possible.

Prohibition against discrimination based on a health factor. Under HIPAA, a group health plan may not keep you (or your dependents) out of the plan based on anything related to your health. Also, a group health plan may not charge you (or your dependents) more for coverage, based on health, than the amount charged a similarly situated individual.

<u>**Rights to individual health coverage.</u>** Under HIPAA, if you are an "eligible individual," you have a right to buy certain individual health policies (or in some states, to buy coverage through a high-risk pool) without a pre-existing condition exclusion. To be an eligible individual, you must meet the following requirements:</u>

- You have had coverage for at least 18 months without a break in coverage of 63 days or more;
- Your most recent coverage was under a group health plan (which can be shown by this certificate);
- Your group coverage was not terminated because of fraud or nonpayment of premiums;
- You are not eligible for Extended Coverage (COBRA) or you have exhausted your Extended Coverage (COBRA) benefits; and
- You are not eligible for another group health plan, Medicare, or Medicaid, and do not have any other health insurance coverage.

The right to buy individual coverage is the same whether you are laid off, fired, or quit your job.

• Therefore, if you are interested in obtaining individual coverage and you meet the other criteria to be an eligible individual, you should apply for this coverage as soon as possible to avoid losing your eligible individual status due to a 63-day break.

For more information. If you have questions, you may contact the person who prepared this certificate (contact information included). You may also contact the U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration (EBSA) toll-free at 1-866-444-3272 (for free HIPAA publications ask for publications concerning changes in health care laws) or the CMS publications hotline at 1-800-633-4227 (ask for "Protecting Your Health Insurance Coverage"). These publications and other useful information are also available on the Internet at http://www.dol.gov/ebsa, the U.S. Department of Labor's interactive web pages – Health Elaws, or http://www.cms.hhs.gov/hipaa.