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INSTRUCTIONS FOR REINSTATMENT OF DENTAL ASSISTANT Il REGISTRATION

A completed application shall include the following unless otherwise stated below. An incomplete application and/or fee will
delay the processing of your application. Incomplete applications remain active for one year from the date of receipt. After
one year from date of receipt, you would need to reapply for Virginia licensure. Documents submitted with an application
are the property of the Board of Dentistry and cannot be returned.

Notes:
If your Virginia License is not reinstated within six months of the Board’s receipt of parts of the application, certain portions
of the application may need to be resubmitted before your application can be reviewed.

1.

2.

Reinstatement Application: Please be sure that all information is completed on the application.

Fee for lapsed registration: The reinstatement fee for a Dental Assistant Il Registration is $125 and
must be paid with a certified check, cashier's check or money order, made payable to the Treasurer of
Virginia.

Fee for revocation or suspension of registration: The reinstatement fee for a previously revoked Dental
Assistant |l registration is $300 and the reinstatement fee for a previously indefinitely suspended Dental
Assistant Il registration is $250.

Evidence of a current credential as a Certified Dental Assistant (CDA) conferred by the Dental National
Board (DANB) or another certification from a credentialing organization recognized by the American Dental
Association and acceptable to the board.

Evidence of Continuing Clinical Competence: The applicant must include documentation in the
application sufficient to demonstrate continuing clinical competence in the duties for which the applicant is
requesting reinstatement of, which may include documentation of active practice in another state or in federal
service, or a refresher course offered by an educational program accredited by the Commission on Dental
Accreditation of the American Dental Association. The optional employment verification form on page 7 may
be used to document active practice.

Please be aware that your signed and notarized application affidavit authorizes the release of confidential
information, affirms that your application is complete and correct, and attests that you have read, understand,
and will remain current with the laws and regulations governing the practice of dentistry in Virginia. Review
the laws and regulations via the “Laws and Regulations” tab at www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry.

Name Change: Documentation must be provided to show each name change(s) if your name has ever been
changed from the most recent time you held an active registration in Virginia or in other jurisdictions or other
than what is on record with the Virginia Board of Dentistry. Photocopies of marriage licenses or court orders
are accepted.

Address of Record and Publically Disclosable Address: Consistent with Virginia law §54.1.2400.02 and
the mission of the Department of Health Professions, addresses of licensees are made available to the public.
Normally, the Address of Record is the publically disclosable address. If you do not want your Address of
Record to be made public, state law allows you to provide a second, publically disclosable address. Typically,
this other address is the work or practice address. If you would like for your Address of Record to be made
available to the public, complete both sections with the same address.

To receive notice that your application has been delivered to the Board, it is suggested that the documents be mailed by
“Certified Mail-Return Receipt Requested” or with “Delivery Confirmation”.

Applicants will be notified of missing application items within approximately 15 business days of receipt of an application.
Once your application is complete, allow 30 business days processing time.

Reinstatement Application DAIl Revised May 2019 1


mailto:denbd@dhp.virginia.gov
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300

Virginia Department of Henrico, Virginia 23233
- : (804) 367-4538 (Tel)
~ Health Professions (804) 698.4266 (6Fax)
Board of Dentistry denbd@dhp.virginia.gov

www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry

APPLICATION FOR REINSTATEMENT OF DENTAL ASSISTANT Il REGISTRATION Page 1

INSTRUCTIONS: Type or print clearly. Complete all sections. If the space provided for any answer is insufficient, complete
your answer on a separate page, specify the number of the question to which it relates, sign the page and enclose it with
the application.

|. GENERAL INFORMATION: COMPLETE ALL SECTIONS (PRINT OR TYPE)

Name: Last* First Middle/Maiden Suffix
Address of Record (Mailing Address) City State Zip Code | Telephone Number
Publically Disclosable Address City State Zip Code | Telephone Number
Email Address: Fax Number:
Date of Birth Social Security Number or Virginia DMV Control Number on
/ / record**
Month Day Year - -
Virginia DAII Registration Number: Date of Expiration: Name at time of Original Registration*

Reinstatement of Registration is sought for (check all that apply):

1. Performing pulp capping procedures

2. Packing and carving of amalgam restorations;

__ 3. Placing and shaping composite resin restorations with a slow speed hand piece;
__ 4. Taking final impressions;

__ 5. Use of a non-epinephrine retraction cord;

_____ 6. Final cementation of crowns and bridges after adjustment and fitting by the dentist.

Please check the applicable box below:
[ REINSTATEMENT REQUESTED DUE TO LAPSE OF REGISTRATION

0 REINSTATEMENT REQUESTED DUE TO SUSPENSION
[0 REINSTATEMENT REQUESTED DUE TO REVOCATION

*Name change: Documentation must be provided to show name change(s) if name has ever been changed from the time you
were licensed in Virginia or other jurisdictions.

**In accordance with § 54.1-116 of the Code of Virginia, you are required to submit your Social Security Number or your control
number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. If you fail to do so, the processing of your application will be
suspended and fees will not be refunded. This number will be used by the Department of Health Professions for identification
and will not be disclosed for other purposes except as provided by law. Federal and state law requires that this number be
shared with other agencies for child support enforcement activities.

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

FEE AMOUNT APPLICANT # DATE OF REINSTATEMENT | LICENSE #

Reinstatement Application DAIl Revised May 2019 2



mailto:denbd@dhp.virginia.gov
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry

Reinstatement Application DAIl Revised May 2019



REINSTATEMENT OF DENTAL ASSISTANT Il REGISTRATION Application Page 2

II. APPLICANT HISTORY: ALL QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED.

If any of the following questions are answered “YES”, explain and substantiate with documentation. Letters
must be submitted by your attorney regarding malpractice suits. Letters must be submitted by any treating
professionals regarding health treatment and shall include diagnosis, treatment and prognosis.

1. Did you relocate with a spouse who is the subject of a military transfer to the Commonwealth of [ ] Yes [ ] No
Virginia? If “YES”, include a copy of the official military orders with the application.

2. Are you active-duty military? If “YES”, include a copy of your official military orders with the [ 1Yes [ 1No
application.

3. Have you practiced dental assisting since the expiration of your registration in the Commonwealth [ ] Yes [ ] No
of Virginia or in another jurisdiction? If “YES”, give location.

4, Has any of your work since the expiration of your registration been in any field other than the field [ ] Yes [ ] No
of dentistry? If “YES”, give details, jurisdictions(s) and date(s).

5. List all jurisdictions in which you currently hold or have ever held a license / registration / certification to practice in
the field of dentistry or in any other health care profession:

Jurisdiction License Number Date Issued Expiration Date

6. Have you ever been convicted of a violation of or pled Nolo Contendere to any federal, stateor [ ] Yes [ ] No
local statute, regulation or ordinance, or entered into any plea bargaining relating to a felony or
misdemeanor? (Excluding traffic violations, except convictions for driving under the influence.)
If “YES”, give details, jurisdiction(s) and date(s) on a separate page, and include a copy of the
disposition record certified by the Clerk of the Court.

7. Have you had any malpractice suits brought against you in the past ten (10) years? [ 1Yes [ INo
If “YES”, please provide details for each pending or closed case, list additional claim(s) on a separate
page, and provide a letter from your attorney explaining each case.

Claimant: Date of Incident

Name of Defense Attorney:

Settlement or Verdict Amount:

Name of Involved Insurance Company:

Brief description of the claim:

Additional licensure questions:

1. A. Within the past five years, have you exhibited any conduct or behavior that could call into [ ]Yes [ ] No
question your ability to practice in a competent and professional manner? If “YES”, please
provide a full explanation.
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REINSTATEMENT OF DENTAL ASSISTANT Il REGISTRATION Application Page 3

B. Within the past five years, have you sought or been directed to seek treatment for your [ ]Yes [ ]No
conduct or behavior? If “YES”, please provide a full explanation and any associated orders
or letters.

A. Within the past five years, have you been disciplined by any entity? If “YES”, please provide [ ]Yes [ ]No
a full explanation and any associated orders or letters from the entity.

B. Within the past five years, have you sought or been directed to seek treatment for your [ ]Yes [ ] No
conduct or behavior? If “YES”, please provide a full explanation and any associated orders
or letters.

Do you currently have any physical condition or impairment that affects or limits your ability to [ ]Yes [ ] No
perform any of the obligations and responsibilities of professional practice in a safe and competent
manner?

“Currently” means recently enough so that the condition could reasonably have an impact on your
ability to function as a practicing dentist. If “YES”, please provide a full explanation. NOTE: The
Board may request a letter from your current treatment provider addressing your current condition
and ability to safely practice. You may consider providing this documentation with your
application, or have your provider send this documentation directly to the Board.

Do you currently have any mental health condition or impairment that affects or limits your ability [ ] Yes [ ] No
to perform any of the obligations and responsibilities of professional practice in a safe and
competent manner?

“Currently” means recently enough so that the condition could reasonably have an impact on your
ability to function as a practicing dentist. If “YES”, please provide a full explanation. NOTE: The
Board may request a letter from your current treatment provider addressing your current condition
and ability to safely practice. You may consider providing this documentation with your
application, or have your provider send this documentation directly to the Board.

Do you currently have any condition or impairment related to alcohol or other substance use that [ ] Yes [ ] No
affects or limits your ability to perform any of the obligations and responsibilities of professional
practice in a safe and competent manner?

“Currently” means recently enough so that the condition could reasonably have an impact on your
ability to function as a practicing dentist. If “YES”, please provide a full explanation. NOTE: The
Board may request a letter from your current treatment provider addressing your current condition
and ability to safely practice. You may consider providing this documentation with your
application, or have your provider send this documentation directly to the Board.
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REINSTATEMENT OF DENTAL ASSISTANT Il REGISTRATION Application Page 4

Within the past 5 years, have any conditions or restrictions been imposed upon you or your [ ]Yes [ ]No
practice to avoid disciplinary action by any entity?

If “YES”, please provide a full explanation and any associated orders or letters from the entity.
NOTE: The Board may request a copy of a current participation contract and summary of
compliance and/or documentation of successful completion. You may consider providing this

documentation with your application, or have the program send this documentation directly to the
Board.
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REINSTATEMENT OF DENTAL ASSISTANT Il REGISTRATION Application Page 5

VIRGINIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY

APPLICATION AFFIDAVIT
(MUST BE COMPLETED BEFORE A NOTARY PUBLIC)

I, , being first duly sworn, depose and
say that | am the person referred to in the foregoing application and supporting documents.

| hereby authorize all hospitals, institutions or organizations, my references, personal physicians, employers (Past and
present) business and professional associates (past and present) and all governmental agencies and instrumentalities (local,
state, federal or foreign) to release to the Virginia Board of Dentistry any Information, files or records requested by the Board
which is material to me and my application.

| have carefully read the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them completely, without reservations of
any kind, and | declare under penalty of perjury that my answers and all statements made by me in the application and
supporting documents are true and correct. Should | furnish any false information in this application, | hereby agree that
such act shall constitute cause for the denial, suspension, or revocation of my license to practice in the Commonwealth of
Virginia.

I have carefully read the laws and regulations related to the practice of dentistry and dental assisting. | hereby agree
to abide by and remain current with the applicable laws and regulations which are available on
www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry, and

| have attached a certified check, cashier’'s check or money order in the amount of $ made payable to the
Treasurer of Virginia. | fully understand that funds submitted as part of the application shall not be refunded.

Signature of Applicant

State of

County/City of

Sworn and subscribed to, before me, this day of ,
Day Month Year

My commission expires on

Signature of Notary Public
SEAL

Print Name
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EMPLOYMENT VERIFICATION

(Optional Form)
(MUST BE COMPLETED BEFORE A NOTARY PUBLIC)

Name of Employing Dentist(s) or Agency:

Complete Mailing Address:

Telephone Number: Fax Number:

Email Address

“ D.D.S./D.M.D./agency representative,

(Print name & Title of the Employing Dentist or Agency Representative)

certify that , was employed by me as a
(Print Applicant/Employee Name) (Print Job Title)

from / / to / / , in the clinical, ethical and legal
Month Day Year Month Day Year

practice of a

Dentist’'s/Agency Representative Signature Date
State of
County/City of
Sworn and subscribed to, before me, this day of ,
Day Month Year

My commission expires on

Month Day Year

Signature of Notary Public

SEAL/STAMP

Print Name
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