Commonwealth of Virginia

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400

Richmond, Virginia 23233-1485

DE DR

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation

(804) 367-8509
www.dpor.virginia.gov Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology
SCHOOL LICENSE APPLICATION
A check or money order payable to the TREASURER OF VIRGINIA,
or a completed credit card insert must be mailed with your application package.
APPLICATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE.
Select the license(s) you are requesting: Method of Instruction

X License Type Trans | Fee |Classroom| Online
[ ]| 1303 - Barber School 1020 | $140 ] ]

[ ]| 1303 - Licensed Barber School adding a Barber Instructor Program 9007 | $100 ]

(]| 1205 - Cosmetology School 1020 | $140| [] ]
[]] 1205 - Licensed Cosmetology School adding a Nail Technician Program | 9007 | $100 ] ]
[]] 1205 - Licensed Cosmetology School adding a Wax Technician Program | 9007 | $100 ] ]
(]| 1205 - Licensed Cosmetology School adding an Instructor Program 9007 | $100| []

[]] 1209 - Nail Technician School 1020 | $140 ] ]
[]] 1209 - Licensed Nail Technician School adding an Instructor Program 9007 | $100 ]

[ ]| 1219 - Waxing School 1020 | $140| [] ]

[ ]| 1219 - Licensed Waxing School adding an Instructor Program 9007 | $100 ]

(]| 1251 - Tattooing School 1020 | $140| [] ]
[]| 1251 - Licensed Tattooing School adding a Perm.Cosm. tattooing program | 9007 |No Fee| [ ]

[ ]| 1252 - Permanent Cosmetic Tattooing School 1020 | $140 ]

[]| 1267 - Esthetics School 1020 | $140 ] ]

[ ]| 1267 - Esthetics School adding a Master Esthetician Program 9007 |NoFee| [] ]

[ ]| 1267 - Licensed Esthetics School adding an Instructor Program 9007 [NoFee| []

1. Are you currently licensed with the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology and adding a new program to your current
school license?
No []

Yes [ ] Ifyes, provide your license information:

Virginia License Number Expiration Date

2. School/Business Entity/Sole Proprietor Name

. . - A
3. Trade, "Doing Business As" (DBA), or Fictitious Name of School
A Allbusiness entities with DBA and Fictitious names must attach a copy of the certificate filed with the Clerk of the Court in the locality where business will be
conducted (if required by the locality).

4. Type of business entity (select only one)

[] Sole Proprietorship [] General Partnership [] Association [] Other, please specify:
[] Corporation* [] Limited Liability Company® [] Limited Partnership*

State Corporation Commission Number:

¢ If your business is a corporation, limited liability company, or limited partnership, your business/trade name(s) must be registered with the Virginia State Corporation
Commission. Business shall be organized as business entities under the laws of the Commonwealth of Virginia or otherwise authorized to transact business in Virginia. Business
must register any trade or fictitious names with the State Corporation Commission or the clerk of court in the county or jurisdiction where the business is to be conducted. For
additional information, contact the SCC at www.scc.virginia.gov or by phone at (804) 371-9733.

OFFICE DATE FEE TRANS CODE ENTITY # FILE #/LICENSE # ISSUE DATE

USE
ONLY
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5. Select one of the following and provide the information below.
[] Business Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN)* | | || | | | | | | |

Federal Employer Identification Number (12-3456789)
< State law requires every applicant, who is not a sole proprietor, to provide a federal employer identification number. Sole proprietors must provide a social security number or a

control number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.

[] Sole Proprietor's/Individual's Social Security Number or | | | || | || | | | |

[] Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles Control Number* Social Security or Virginia DMV Number (123-45-6789)

sk State law requires every applicant for a license, certificate, registration or other authorization to engage in a business, trade, profession or occupation issued by the
Commonwealth to provide a social security number or a control number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.

6. Mailing Address (PO Box accepted)

The mailing address will be
printed on the license.

City State Zip Code

7. Street Address (po Box not accepted) |:| Check here if Street Address is the same as the Mailing Address listed above.
PHYSICAL ADDRESS REQUIRED

City State Zip Code
8. Email Address

9. Contact Numbers

Primary Telephone Alternate Telephone Fax

10.  Enter the following information for each owner (sole proprietor, general partners, association members) of the school:

Social Security No. or

Full Name Address Birth Date VA DMV Control Number*

* State law requires every applicant for a license, certificate, registration or other authorization to engage in a business, trade,
profession or occupation issued by the Commonwealth to provide a social security number or a control number issued by the Virginia
Department of Motor Vehicles.

11.  Does the school receive compensation for services provided for its clinic?

No []

Yes [] Ifyes, provide the Virginia salon, shop, spa or parlor license number and expiration date.

VA License Number Expiration Date

12.  List each Instructor who will be employed by the school, their professional type and Virginia license number:

Full Name Professional Type Virginia License Number

13. Has the school or any owner ever been subject to a disciplinary action taken by any (including Virginia) local, state
or national regulatory body?
No [ ]
Yes [ ] Ifyes, provide a certified copy of the final order, decree or case decision by a court or regulatory agency
with lawful authority to issue such order, decree or case decision.
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14, Has the school or any of the owners ever had an application for licensure, certification or registration as a practitioner
or instructor in the fields of barbering, cosmetology, waxing, nail care, esthetics, body-piercing, or tattooing denied by
any (including Virginia) local, state or national regulatory body?

No []
Yes [] Ifyes, provide a certified copy of the final order, decree or case decision by a court or regulatory agency
with lawful authority to issue such order, decree or case decision.
15.  Has the school or any of the owners ever been convicted in any jurisdiction of a misdemeanor and/or felony? Any
guilty plea or plea of nolo contendere must be disclosed on this application. Do not disclose violations that were
adjudicated as a minor in the juvenile court system.

No []

Yes [] Ifyes, applicants are required to attach an original criminal history record *issued by the Virginia State
police. Applicants with convictions from other jurisdictions, other than Virginia; must provide an original
official criminal history record from each state in which they have convictions. Virginia residents may
request complete criminal records from the Virginia State Police at www.vsp.virginia.gov or by phone at
804-674-6718.

* For each conviction, provide a certified copy of the final order, decree, or case decision by a court or regulatory agency
with lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or case decision; and any other information you wish to have
considered with this application (e.g., information on the status of incarceration, parole or probation; reference letters;
documentation of rehabilitation etc.).

16. |, the undersigned, certify that the foregoing statements and answers are true, and | have not suppressed any
information that might affect the decision to approve this application. | certify that | will notify the Department if I/the
school or any owner is subject to any disciplinary action or convicted of a felony or misdemeanor (in any jurisdiction)
prior to receiving the requested license. | certify that I/the school and its owners have read, understood and complied
with all the laws of Virginia under the provisions of Title 54.1, Chapter 7 of the Code of Virginia and the Virginia Board
for Barbers and Cosmetology, Wax Technician, Tattooing and Esthetics Regulations as applicable.

Print Name Title

Signature Date

School must hold a separate license for each and every location.

(Important Curriculum Package Instructions on the following page.)
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Important Curriculum Package Instructions

In addition to the School License Application, you are required to submit a curriculum including, but not limited to, the
information listed below. Applications lacking the required information will be rejected and returned. Should you have any
questions or require additional clarification, please contact the board staff at (804) 367-8509.

PHOTOCOPIES OF OUTLINES, GLOSSARIES AND OTHER INFORMATION FROM TEXTS AND BOARD REGULATIONS
WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED!

1.

10.

Course syllabus

The course syllabus should contain an outline and brief statement of the main points of the text, lecture and course of
study.

Detailed course outline

The outline shall include, but not be limited to those items set out in the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology
Regulations, Wax Technician Regulations, Tattooing Regulations and Esthetics Regulations.

Sample of five lesson plans

The lesson plans must be actual lesson plans that will be used in the instruction of students at the school applying for
licensure. Previously approved lesson plans for other schools will not be accepted. You may submit lesson plans
developed for your curriculum.

Sample of evaluation methods to be used

Explain and provide examples of how students will be evaluated for grading and progress report purposes. Please
include both the written and practical portions of the program.

Breakdown of hours and/or performances for all courses to be taught which lead to licensure

This material may be included in the detailed course outline (#2).

Example of the method by which performance will be recorded

Sketch of the school floor plan
This sketch must include the classroom and clinic areas within the school.

Days and hours of operation

This must include a list of holidays and other special dates that the school will be closed.

An example of a test you will administer to students

Esthetics schools that award credit in accordance with Section 18VAC41-70-190.D. of the Esthetics

Regulations, must submit copies of the assessment policy, method of evaluation of transcripts, and the
examination to be used in making the assessment.

Online Instruction:

For schools wishing to offer online instruction, items 1 - 10 noted above must be submitted in addition to the following
requirements:

1. Note that only the general portions of the curriculum which are common across all professions regulated by the
Board may be offered online. Those courses may, but not necessarily, include: Orientation, School Policies,
State laws and regulations, Health and safety, Personal hygiene, Sanitation and sterilization, Ethics, Salon/shop/
parlor management, Analyzing skin or scalp conditions, Anatomy, Client consultation, and Care of equipment.

If the course is not general and common across all professions, but it is on the list above, please contact the
Board to determine if it is eligible to be taught online. For example, tattooing sterilization requirements are
specific and unique to that profession, and would not be eligible for online instruction.

2. All examination must be completed on-site, in a “traditional brick and mortar” classroom.

3. Schools must provide documentation that it utilizes technologies and practices that are effective in verifying the
identity of distance learning students, both initially in person (via photo ID) and subsequently during the online
coursework (via secure login and pass code).

4. Instructor programs are not eligible for Online Instruction.
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