
(804) 367-8511 
www.dpor.virginia.gov

Expedited Fee  $ 250.00 and Application Fee $ 385.00
EXPEDITED CLASS A LICENSE  APPLICATION

 TOTAL Fee Due $ 635.00

Board for Contractors

OFFICE 
USE 

ONLY

BOARD 
USE 

ONLY

DATE FEE TRANS CODE ENTITY # FILE #/LICENSE # ISSUE DATE

1022 2705
SCC ETS ADVANCED GENERAL VIRGINIA TECHNICAL

A503-2705A_ELIC-v4 BOARD OF CONTRACTORS/CLASS A LICENSE APPLICATION
12/01/2012 Page 1 of 7

Commonwealth of Virginia  
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400  
Richmond, Virginia 23233-1485

A credit card form must be included with this application and payment must be processed successfully 
 prior to this application being reviewed.   

APPLICATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE. 

The Adobe Interactive PDF allows you to type your information into the application and save a copy on your computer for your personal 
records.  If you are viewing this form in PDF/A mode or unable to use this form as an Interactive PDF, please modify these settings in 

Adobe Reader version 10 or later. 
Edit - Preferences - Documents - View Documents in PDF/A mode:  NEVER

1. Business Entity/Sole Proprietor’s Name ♦ 

Trade, "Doing Business As" (DBA), or "Fictitious Name"   2.
All Sole Proprietors and General Partnerships with DBA or Fictitious names must attach a copy of the certificate filed with the Clerk of the Court in the 
locality where business will be conducted (if required by the locality). 





3. Type of business entity (select only one) 
Sole Proprietorship Limited Partnership   Limited Liability Company   
Association General Partnership  Corporation   

Other, please specify:♦ ♦
♦

State Corporation Commission Number: 
♦ If your business is a corporation, limited liability company, or limited partnership, your business/trade name(s) must be registered with 

the Virginia State Corporation Commission. For additional information, contact the SCC at www.scc.virginia.gov or by phone at (804) 
371-9733. 

Business Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN)

Sole Proprietor's/Individual's Social Security Number or
Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles Control Number 

Select one of the following and provide the information below. 

Federal Employer Identification Number (12-3456789)
-

Social Security or Virginia DMV Number (123-45-6789)
- -

State law requires every applicant, who is not a sole proprietor, to provide a federal employer identification number.  Sole proprietors must provide a social 
security number or a control number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.



State law requires every applicant for a license, certificate, registration or other authorization to engage in a business, trade, profession or occupation issued 
by the Commonwealth to provide a social security number or a control number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.







4.

5.
If a mailing address is submitted, the mailing  

address will be printed on the license. 

Mailing Address (PO Box accepted) 

City State Zip Code
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6. Street Address (PO Box  not  accepted) 
PHYSICAL ADDRESS REQUIRED

Check here if Street Address is the same as the Mailing Address listed above. 

State City Zip Code

7. E-mail Address 
8. Contact Numbers 

Primary Telephone Alternative Telephone Fax
9. Does your Business, Designated Employee, Qualified Individual(s) or Responsible Management have a current 

or expired contractor's license, certification or registration in another state? 
No    
Yes If yes, complete the following table.

Business/Individual Full 
Legal Name

State/
Jurisdiction

License, Certification or 
Registration Number Expiration Date

10. All business entities applying for a license are required to have their Designated Employee or a member of 
Responsible Management complete a business course approved by the Board of Contractors. Complete the following 
information on the individual who has successfully completed this requirement.  If no one at your business entity has 
passed the business course, you currently do not qualify to use an Expedited Class A license application at this 
time. 

Provide Social Security Number or VA DMV Control Number 

 If a course was completed within the last  fourteen (14) business days, please fax the Certificate of Completion to the 
Board for Contractors at 866-430-1033.

Name
Last First Middle Generation 

Course Provider Name Completion Date

11. All Class A  license applicants are required to declare a Designated Employee who has successfully completed the 
appropriate licensure examination and is either a bona fide full-time employee of the applicant or a member of 
Responsible Management.  Complete the following information on the individual selected to be the Designated 
Employee of this firm.  If no one at your business entity has passed the licensure exam, you currently do not qualify 
to use an Expedited Class A license application at this time. 

Name
Last First Middle Generation 

Provide Social Security Number or VA DMV Control Number 

Birth Date Exam Date~

If an exam was completed within the last seven (7) business days, please fax the Score Report to the Board for 
Contractors at 866-430-1033.

~

List the classification/specialty designation for which you are applying and one Qualified Individual  for each 
classification/designation. (Choose from the list below.)  
The Qualified Individual must possess the minimum number of years of relevant experience required for the license 
type being requested. (i.e., 2 years for a Class C License, 3 years for a Class B License and 5 years for a Class A 
License.)

12. 
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A Qualified Individual must 1) hold a valid individual license or certification issued by the Board for Contractors, 2) hold a certificate from 
an accepted third party organization, or 3) successfully complete the applicable technical examination for the specialty. A list of the 
specialties and the QI requirements can be found in the Requirements for the Qualified Individual form.  Additionally, this individual must be 
a full-time employee (working 30 hours or more for the business) or one of the persons listed as Responsible Management for the company.



3-Letter Codes for License Classifications and Specialty Designations 
Below is a list of the license classifications and specialty designations issued by the Virginia Board for Contractors and the 
three-letter code  to be entered when completing the Qualified Individual table below.  At least one code must be chosen. 
A definition of the type of work that each of these classifications and designations may perform is available in the Board for 
Contractors Regulations.  A license may have more than one classification or specialty designation. 

AES Alternative energy systems
ASB Asbestos
PAV Asphalt paving & seal coating
BSC Billboard/sign
BEC Blast/explosive *
BLD Building
CIC Commercial improvement
CEM Concrete
ELE Electrical
ESC Electronic/communication service
EEC Elevator/escalator
EMW Environmental monitoring well
ENV Environmental specialties
EMC Equipment/machinery

FIC Farm improvement
FAS Fire alarm systems
SPR Fire sprinkler *
FSP Fire suppression
GFC Gas fitting
H/H Highway/heavy
HIC Home Improvement
HVA HVAC
IBC Industrial building contracting
ISC Landscape irrigation
LSC Landscape services
LAC Lead abatement
LPG Liquefied petroleum gas  *
MHC Manufactured home contracting  *

MCC Marine facility
BRK Masonry
NGF Natural gas fitting provider *
PTC Painting & wall covering
PLB Plumbing
RMC Radon mitigation *
RFC Recreational facility
REF Refrigeration
ROC Roofing
SDS Sewage disposal system
POL Swimming pool construction
VCC Vessel construction
WWP Water well/pump

* A copy of your License or Certification is required by the Board.

3-letter 
Code Last Name First Name MI Years 

of Exp.
Exam 
Date

Social Security No. or 
VA DMV Control No. *

 VA Qualifying  
License No.  
(if applicable)

Birth 
Date

List all Responsible Management (sole proprietor, partners of a general partnership, managing partner of a limited 
partnership, officers/directors of an association, managers/members of a limited liability company, or officers of a 
corporation).

Individual's Full Legal Name Title Address Social Security  No. or 
VA DMV Control No.*

Date of 
Birth

13.
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A current financial statement that essentially duplicates the information included on this form may be substituted, 
however the net worth information must be entered on lines 10, 20 and 21.  The information reported on the 
financial statement must not be more than one year old.  The corporation must own all assets and liabilities if your 
applications is for a corporation.

All applicants are required to furnish proof of financial responsibility. Excluding any property owned as tenants by the 
entirely, applicants for a Class A license must document a net worth or equity of $45,000 or more.
Does your company meet this qualification? Yes No If no, your company does not qualify for Class A license.

14.

Effective Balance Sheet as of
MM/DD/YYYY

Contracting Business Name

If yes, please fax a Financial statement (completed by a 
CPA)  to the Board for Contractors at 866-430-1033.

Is a substitute Financial Statement attached? No Yes

ASSETS
1. Current Assets
2. Cash and Investments
3. Accounts Receivable (Net)
4. Inventories
5. Prepaid Expenses
6. Other Current Assets
7. Total Current Assets (sum of lines 2 through 6)
8. Land, Buildings and Equipment (Net)
9. Other Non-Current Assets
10. TOTAL ASSETS (sum of lines 7 through 9)

LIABILITIES AND OWNER'S EQUITY
11. Current Liabilities
12. Accounts Payable
13. Current Portion of Long Term Debt (payable within the next 12 months)
14. Accrued Taxes
15. Accrued Payroll
16. Other Current Liabilities
17. Total Current Liabilities (sum of lines 12 through 16)
18. Long-term Debt
19. Other Long-term Liabilities
20. Total Liabilities (sum of lines 17 through 19)
21. OWNER'S EQUITY (NET WORTH)  (line 10 minus line 20)
22. TOTAL LIABILITIES & OWNER'S EQUITY   (sum of lines 20 and 21)

Has your business, Designated Employee, Qualified Individual(s) or Responsible Management ever been subject 
to a disciplinary action taken by  any  (including Virginia) local, state or national regulatory  body? 

If yes, YOU CAN NOT PROCEED WITH THIS EXPEDITED CLASS A APPLICATION. You may submit 
the regular application titled LICENSE APPLICATION (27lic.pdf) located on the Board website.

No    
Yes

15.
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A. Has your business, Designated Employee, Qualified Individual(s) or Responsible Management ever been 
convicted in any jurisdiction of any felony?  Any guilty plea or plea of nolo contendere must be disclosed on this 
application.  Do not disclose violations that were adjudicated as a minor in the juvenile court system. 

If yes, YOU CAN NOT PROCEED WITH THIS EXPEDITED CLASS A APPLICATION. You may 
submit the regular application titled LICENSE APPLICATION (27lic.pdf) located on the Board 
website.

No    
Yes

16.

B.  Has your business, Designated Employee, Qualified Individual(s) or Responsible Management ever been 
convicted in any jurisdiction of any misdemeanor within the last three years?  Any guilty plea or plea of nolo 
contendere must  be disclosed on this application.  Do not disclose violations that were adjudicated as a minor in 
the juvenile court system. 

If yes, YOU CAN NOT PROCEED WITH THIS EXPEDITED CLASS A APPLICATION. You may 
submit the regular application titled LICENSE APPLICATION (27lic.pdf) located on the Board 
website.

No    
Yes

During the past five years, has your business, Designated Employee, Qualified Individual(s), or Responsible 
Management had any outstanding/past-due debts or judgments; outstanding tax obligations; or defaults on bonds? 

No    
Yes If yes, YOU CAN NOT PROCEED WITH THIS EXPEDITED CLASS A APPLICATION. You may submit 

the regular application titled LICENSE APPLICATION (27lic.pdf) located on the Board website.

17.

Does your Responsible Management understand that all Class A Contractors must comply with the local licensing 
requirements of all counties, cities and towns in which work is performed? 

No    
Yes

18.

By entering your name on this application, you acknowledge that if you are not a Virginia resident, or move outside of Virginia 
while you hold  a Virginia Contractors License, you understand that this application serves as a written power of attorney, 
whereby you  appoint the Director of the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, and his/her successors in 
office, to be  your true and lawful agency and attorney-in-fact, in your stead, upon whom all legal process against and notice to 
you may be  served and who is hereby authorized to enter an appearance on your behalf in any case or proceedings arising 
out of the trade  or profession practiced; and that by submitting this application, you hereby agree that any lawful process 
against you which is  duly served on said agent and attorney-in-fact shall be of the same legal force and validity as if served 
upon you. 
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By entering your name below, you certify that the foregoing statements and answers are true, and I have not 
suppressed any  information that might affect the Board’s decision to approve this application.  I certify that I will notify 
the Department if the  business, the designated employee, the qualified individual(s), or any member of responsible 
management are subject to any  disciplinary action; judgments or past due debts; or convicted of any felony or 
misdemeanor charges (in any jurisdiction) prior  to the receipt of the requested license. I certify that I am a member of 
responsible management as defined in 18VAC50-22-10 of the Board for Contractors regulations and am authorized to 
bind the applicant to contracts and other legal obligations. I also certify that I understand, and have complied with, all 
the laws of Virginia related to contractor licensure under the  provisions of Title 54.1, Chapter 11 of the Code of 
Virginia, and the Board for Contractors Regulations. 

19.

Name

Title Date

Date of Birth

Social Security Number or Virginia DMV Control Number * 

Please note, that this application will not be reviewed until all fees are successfully processed and any additional 
documentation required by the Board of Contractors is received. 

Responsible Management (sole proprietor, partners of a general partnership, managing partner of a limited partnership,  officers/
directors of an association, managers/members of a limited liability company, or officers of a corporation) :

(Credit Card Form to follow)
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Credit Card Number:

VISA, MasterCard and Discover Card are accepted

Payment Amount: Card Expiration Date: /
Month Year

$635.00

Applicant Name: 

Date of Application:

Cardholder Name:

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION, P.O. Box 29570, Richmond, VA 23242-0570

This form is to be used for CREDIT CARD PAYMENT ONLY.  Complete and submit along with your application.   
Incomplete forms may be returned for completion and delay license processing.

Cardholder's Billing Address:

Daytime Phone Number:

Zip  Code State City 

The cardholder authorizes the Department of Professional & Occupational Regulation to initiate charges to the credit 
card account indicated above for the purpose of paying the amount noted above for the application submitted in the 
name above. The cardholder also acknowledges that this document is record of such payment. 

Print Form Reset FormSave As

(File Name should be:  Last Name.First Initial.pdf)

FOR  
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USE  
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