
 
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 
VIRGINIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY 
9960 MAYLAND DRIVE, SUITE 300 

Henrico, VA  23233-1463 
804-367-4538 www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry 

 

 
APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR FACULTY LICENSE (Code 54.1-2713)  

 
 

An applicant must hold a current unrestricted dental licensee in another U.S. jurisdiction or 
have completed an advanced dental education program accredited by the Commission on 
Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association.   
 
A completed application shall include the following unless otherwise stated below.  An 
incomplete application and or fee will delay the processing of your application. Incomplete 
applications are kept for one year then destroyed. 
 
____ 1. Application. (4 Pages) Please be sure that all information and questions are  

completed on the application.  The application can be used for one year from date of 
receipt.  

 
____ 2. Application Fee: Certified check, cashier’s check or money order, made payable to 

the Treasurer of Virginia  in the amount of $400. The fee can be used for one year 
from date of receipt.  Pursuant to 18 VAC 60-20-40, all fees are non-refundable. A 
processing fee of $35 will be charged for any check or money order returned unpaid 
by your bank. 

 
____ 3. Form A or Original documentation of graduation from a dental program is required. 

The school may use this form or its own form to meet this requirement. The 
certification must bear the school’s seal or be on letterhead. (Faxed copies are not 
acceptable) 

 
____ 4. Final original transcript bearing SEAL, date degree received and registrar’s 

signature.  Copies of transcripts, certificates and diplomas are not acceptable. A 
transcript or program verification  is required for residency/advanced specialty 
programs.   

 
____ 5. Form B. Chronology listing ALL activities since receiving doctoral degree.  

(Resumes and curriculum vitas are not required and are not accepted as substitutes 
for Form B.) 

  
____ 6. Form C.  Original licensure verification from any jurisdiction in which you currently 

hold or have ever held a license to practice dentistry.  Copies of licensure permits are 
not accepted.  Verifications cannot be older than 6 months from date prepared.    
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____ 7. Original, current report, not older than 6 months from date prepared, obtained by 

SELF QUERY  to the  National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) and is required  from 
all applicants  and should be submitted with the application.   

 
____ 8. An original grade card giving scores issued by the Joint Commission on National 

Dental Examinations.  An original grade card received from the Commission or from 
the applicant will be kept for one year.  Copies of grade cards are not accepted. 

 
____ 9. Application Affidavit which must be notarized and which authorizes the release of 

confidential information, affirms that your application is complete and correct, and 
attests that you have read and understand and will remain current with the applicable 
Virginia  laws and the regulations governing the practice of dentistry. 

 
____ 10. Name Change. Documentation must be provided to show each name change(s) if 

your name has ever been changed from the time you attended school or were licensed 
in other jurisdictions or other than what is listed on your application. Photocopies of 
marriage licenses or court orders are accepted. 

 
____ 11. Original letter from the dean or program director of the dental school, on 

letterhead, noting where the applicant is employed or is to be employed indicating the 
applicant’s employment status and providing an assessment of the applicant’s clinical 
competency and clinical experience that qualifies the applicant for a faculty permit. 

 
 
 

FYI  
 

 
National Practitioner      National Board Scores  Approved Programs 
  Data Bank    American Dental Assoc.  American Dental Assoc. 
P.O. Box 10832   Comm. On Dental Accred.  Comm. On Dental Accred. 
Chantilly, VA 20153-0832  211 East Chicago Ave.  211 East Chicago Ave. 
1-800-767-6732   Chicago, IL 60611-2678  Chicago, IL  60611-2678 
www.npdb.hrsa.gov    1-800-232-1694   312-44--2500 
     www.ada.org    www.ada.org  
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Notes: 
 

 PLEASE NOTE:  If your Virginia License is not issued within six months of the Board’s receipt 
of parts of the application, certain portions of the application may need to be 
updated/resubmitted before a license can be issued. 

 
 

 DEA REGISTRATION: Applicants must have a dental license prior to applying for a DEA 
License.  Requests for application in Virginia should be make to the following:  Drug 
Enforcement Administration, P.O. Box 28083, Washington, DC 20038-8083,      1-800-882-
9539, www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov  

 

 You might obtain the Virginia laws and regulations governing the practice of dentistry on-line at 
www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry.. 

 

 To receive notice that your application has been delivered to the board, it is suggested that the 
complete packet be mailed by “Certified Mail-Return Receipt Requested” or with “Delivery 
Confirmation”. 

 

 Within approximately 10 business days of receipt of application, applicants will be notified of 
missing application items. 

 

 After 10 business days of applying, you might check online to see if your license has been 
issued by going to www.dhp.virginia.gov and selecting “License Lookup” 

 

 Documents submitted with an application are the property of the board and cannot be 
returned. 

 

 Consistent with Virginia law §54.1.2400.02 and mission of the Department of Health 
Professions, addresses of licensees are made available to the public.  Normally, the Address 
of record is the publically disclosable address. If you do not want your Address of Record to be 
made public, state law allows you to provide a second, publically disclosable address. 
Typically, this other address is the work or practice address.  If you would like for your Address 
of Record to be made available to the public, complete both sections with the same address. 
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       Virginia Board of Dentistry 
       Virginia Department of Health Professions 
       9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 
       Henrico. Va  23233-1463 
       804-367-4538 
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APPLICATION FOR A FACULTY LICENSE TO TEACH DENTISTRY 

INSTRUCTIONS:  Type or print clearly.  Complete all sections.  If the space provided for any answer is 
insufficient, complete your answer on a separate page, specify the number of the question to which it relates, 

sign the page and enclose it with the application.   

1.  GENERAL INFORMATION 
Name: Last First Middle/Maiden Suffix 

Address of record (Mailing Address) City State Zip Telephone Number 

Public Disclosable Address City State Zip Telephone Number 

Email Address Fax# 

Print Name as you wish it to appear on your license Place of Birth  

Date of Birth 
 
______/______/___________ 

Social Security Number or Virginia DMV control Number 
 

____ ____ ____---____ ____--____ ____ ____ ____ 

DDS/DMD GRADUATION 
DATE 
____   ____  ____ 
Month    Day     Year 

PROFESSIONAL DEGREE  DENTAL SCHOOL/CITY/STATE OR COUNTRY 
 

ADVANCED PROGRAM 
GRADUATION DATE 

____   ____  ____ 
Month    Day     Year 

RESIDENCY/SPECIALTY 
DEGREE or CERTIFICATE 

ADA-CODA APPROVED DENTAL SCHOOL/CITY/STATE 
 

APPLICANTS DO NOT USE SPACES BELOW THIS LINE – FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 
DATE RECEIVED CHRONOLOGY  

(FORM B) 
____NATIONAL PRACTITIONER DATA BANK 
____HEALTHCARE INTEGRITY AND PROTECTION                     
DATA BANK 

NATIONAL BOARD 

TRANSCRIPT 
 

CERTIFICATION (EDUCATION) 
(FORM A) 

CERTIFICATION (LICENSE FROM OTHER STATES 

(Form C or Letter) 

FEE APPLICANT # LICENSE # DATE ISSUED VERIFY NEVER LICENSED 
IN VIRGINIA 

*Name change: Documentation must be provided to show name change(s) if name has ever been changed from the time you 

attended school or while you were licensed in other jurisdictions.**In accordance with § 54.1-116 of the Code of Virginia, you are 

required to submit your Social Security Number or your control number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.  

If you fail to do so, the processing of your application will be suspended and fees will not be refunded.  This number will be used 

by the Department of Health Professions for identification and will not be disclosed for other purposes except as provided by law.  

Federal and state law requires that this number be shared with other agencies for child support enforcement activities. 
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2.  ALL EXAMINATIONS            Please answer all “exam” questions “a” through “g” 

 

 
a.  Southern Regional Testing Agency      (SRTA) – Exam Site ______________________ _____/____/_____ 
     [  ] Passed  [  ] Failed  [  ] Never Taken [  ] Taken more than once (attach explanation)     Month/Day/Year 
 
b. Western Regional Examining Board (WREB) – Exam Site ______________________  _____/____/_____ 
    [  ] Passed  [  ] Failed  [  ] Never Taken [  ] Taken more than once (attach explanation)     Month/Day/Year 
 
c. North East Regional Board (NERB) – Exam Site   ___________________________       _____/____/_____ 
    [  ] Passed  [  ] Failed  [  ] Never Taken  [  ]  Taken more than once (attach explanation)     Month/Day/Year 
 
d. Central Regional Dental Testing  Services, Inc. (CRDTS) –Exam Site_______________  _____/____/_____ 
     [  ] Passed  [  ] Failed  [  ] Never Taken  [  ] Taken more than once (attach explanation)     Month/Date/Year 
 
e. Council of Interstate Testing Agencies, Inc. (CITA) – Exam Site___________________    ____/____/_____ 
    [  ] Passed  [  ] Failed  [  ] Never Taken  [  ] Taken more than once  (attach explanation)      Month/Date/Year 
    
f. State of ______________________________________  –Exam Site_______________  _____/____/_____ 
     [  ] Passed  [  ] Failed  [  ] Never Taken  [  ] Taken more than once (attach explanation)     Month/Date/Year 
 
g.  ADEX  _____________________________________-Exam Site________________  _____/___/______ 
     [  ] Passed  [  ] Failed  [  ] Never taken  [  ] Taken more than once  (attach explanation) 
 
g. National Board Examination: (Original grade cards are required)       _____/____/_____ 
    [  ] Passed  [  ] Failed  [  ] Never Taken [  ] Taken more than once (attach explanation)     Month/Day/Year 
 

3.  APPLICANT HISTORY 
 
ALL QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED.  If any of the following questions are answered “YES”, explain 
and substantiate with documentation.  Letters must be submitted by your attorney regarding 
malpractice suits.  Letters must be submitted by any treating professionals regarding health treatment 
and shall include diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. 
 
a.  List in chronological order including months and years, the dental school(s) attended:  
      (include specialty and advanced programs)  
 

 
Months & Years   Name of Dental School (ADA-CODA)  Passed/Failed 
 
____________ to ___________ ___________________________________  _____________ 
 
____________ to ___________ ___________________________________  _____________ 
 
____________ to ___________ ___________________________________  _____________ 
 
 

b.  List all jurisdictions in which you have been issued a license to practice dentistry, active or inactive. 
 
Jurisdiction  License Number  Date Issued                   Expiration Date 
 
________________            _______________           _______________           ________________   
 
________________ _______________           _______________           ________________ 
 
________________ _______________           _______________           ________________ 
 
________________ _______________           _______________           ________________ 
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c.   Have you ever been dropped, suspended, expelled, or disciplined by any school or college for               [  ] Yes   [  ] No 
      any cause whatever?  If yes, give details, schools(s), address(es) and date(s) on a separate page. 
 

d.   Have you ever been denied a license, or the privilege of taking a dental licensure/competency [  ] Yes  [  ] No 
      examination by a licensing authority?  If yes, give detail(s), jurisdiction(s) and date(s). 
 
      ________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
      ________________________________________________________________________________ 
       
 
e.   Have you ever been convicted of a violation or plead Nolo Contedere, to any federal, state or local [  ] Yes  [  ] No 
     statute, regulations or ordinance, or entered into any plea bargaining relating to a felony or 
     misdemeanor?  (excluding traffic violations, except convictions for driving under the influence). 
     If yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) and date(s) on a separate page, and include a copy of the 
     disposition/record certified by the Clerk of the Court. 
 

f.  Have you ever voluntarily surrendered your clinical privileges while under investigation, been censured [  ] Yes  [  ] No 
     or warned or been requested to withdraw from the staff of any hospital, nursing home other health 
     care facility, or any health care provider?  If yes, give details, jurisdictions(s) and date(s) on a separate page. 
 

g.  Have you ever had any of the following disciplinary actions taken against your license to practice [  ] Yes  [  ] No 
     dentistry, your DEA permit, Medicare, Medicaid, or are any such actions pending:   
     suspension/revocations, or probations, or reprimand/cease and desist, or monitoring of 
     practice, or limitation placed on scheduled drugs?  If yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) and 
     date(s) on a separate page. 
 

h.   Have you ever had any membership in a professional society revoked, suspended or [  ] Yes  [  ] No 
     sanctioned in any manner?  If yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) and date(s) on a separate page. 
 

i  Have you ever been a defendant in a military court martial or received medical or other than [  ] Yes  [  ] No 
     honorable discharge?  If yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) and date(s) on a separate page. 
 

j  Have you ever had any malpractice claims brought against you?  If yes, give outcome, details,                  [  ] Yes  [  ] No 
    jurisdiction and dates for each claim on a separate page, and provide a letter from your attorney  
    explaining each case. 
 
k.   Have you, within the last two (2) years, been physically or emotionally dependent upon the use of [  ] Yes  [  ] No 
    alcohol/drugs or been treated by, consulted with, or under the care of a professional for any substance 
     abuse?  If yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) and date(s) on a separate page and provide a letter of  
     explanation from the treating professional(s), including a summary of diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. 
 

l. Have you, within the last two (2) years, received treatment for, or been hospitalized for a nervous, [  ] Yes  [  ] No 
    emotional or mental disorder? If yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) and date(s) on a separate page, and 
     provide a letter of explanation from the treating professional(s), including a summary of diagnosis, 
     treatment and prognosis.  
 

m.  Do you have a physical disability, disease, or diagnosis which could affect your performance or  [  ] Yes  [  ] No  
     professional duties?  If yes, provide a letter of explanation from the treating professional(s),  
     including a summary of diagnosis, treatment, and prognosis. 
 

n.  Have you been adjudged mentally incompetent, or been voluntarily or involuntarily committed to a [  ] Yes  [  ] No 
     mental institution within the last five (5) years?  If yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) and date(s) on  
     a separate page, and provide certified copies of all applicable court documents.    
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VIRGINIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

APPLICATION AFFIDAVIT 
(MUST BE COMPLETED BEFORE A NOTARY PUBLIC) 

 
I, __________________________________________________________________, being first duly sworn, 
depose and say that I am the person referred to in the foregoing application and supporting documents. 
 
I hereby authorize all hospitals, institutions or organizations, my references, personal physicians, employers 
(past and present) business and professional associates (past and present) and all governmental agencies 
and instrumentalities (local, state, federal or foreign) to release to the Virginia Board of Dentistry any 
information, files or records requested by the Board  which is material to me and my application. 
  

I have carefully read the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them completely, without 
reservations of any kind, and I declare under penalty of perjury that my answers and all statements made by 
me in the application and supporting documents are true and correct.   Should I furnish any false information 
in this application, I hereby agree that such act shall constitute cause for the denial, suspension, or 
revocation of my license to practice in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 
 
I have carefully read the laws and regulations related to the practice of dentistry and dental hygiene.  
I hereby agree to abide by and remain current with the applicable laws and regulations which are 
available on www.dhp.virginia.gov,  and  
 
I have attached a certified check, cashier’s check or money order in the amount of  $___________   made 
payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.  I fully understand that funds submitted as part of the application shall 
not be refunded. 
 
 

       ____________________________________________ 
        Signature of Applicant 

 
State of ______________________________  
 
County/City of ______________________________________________ 
 
 
Sworn and subscribed to, before me, this __________day of _________________________, _______. 
                                                                       Day                               Month                                 Year 
 
My commission expires on ______________________________. 
 
 
       ____________________________________________ 
                 Signature of Notary Public 
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       COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 
Department of Health Professions 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 

Henrico, VA  23233-1463 
(804) 367-4538  www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry  

 

FORM A 

CERTIFICATION OF DENTAL/DENTAL HYGIENE SCHOOL 
 

 
APPLICANT:  ENTER YOUR NAME AND GRADUATION DATE BELOW THEN SEND THIS FORM TO THE DEAN OR 
DIRECTOR OF EACH DENTAL/DENTAL HYGIENE SCHOOL WHICH GRANTED YOU A DEGREE OR CERTIFICATE.   

 

APPLICANT ____________________________      GRADUATION DATE:_____________________ 

 

 

DEAN/PROGRAM DIRECTOR:  Please provide certification that the applicant named above received 
a dental/dental hygiene degree or certificate from your program and indicate whether or not  the 
program completed was accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the ADA (CODA).  
The certification may be provided by completing this form or by providing a letter with the information 
requested on this form.  Either document must bear the school’s seal.   The certification should be 
returned to the APPLICANT.  Certifications made prior to the applicant’s graduation cannot be 
accepted. 
 

NAME OFSCHOOL:  ___________________________________________________ 

 

NAME OF PROGRAM: _________________________________________________ 

 

PROGRAM’S CODA ACCREDITATION STATUS: ____________________________ 

 

DEGREE or CERTIFICATION GRANTED: ____________________________________ 

 

DATE GRANTED: _______________________/________________/______________  

                                 Month                                  Day                            Year 

        

By affixing my signature below, I certify that the applicant named above is a graduate and a holder of 
a diploma or a certificate from a CODA accredited dental program. 
 
       ___________________________________ 
                                                                                                       Signature 
 

                 (SEAL)                                                   ___________________________________ 

                 Title 
 
       ___________________________________ 
                 Date 
 

 

DEAN/REGISTRAR:   Please provide the applicant an original, final transcript of this alumni record, to include courses, 

grades, degree or certificate received, and date the degree or certificate was conferred, which bears the certified signature of 
the registrar and has the college seal affixed. 
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COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 
 

FORM B: CHRONOLOGY 
                              

 
 
NAME OF APPLICANT____________________________________________________________ 
 

Every applicant must provide a complete chronological, personal, and professional history of all activities you 
have engaged in since receiving your degree or certification, include teaching positions, internship, hospital 
affiliations, all periods of non-professional activity or employment, volunteer work, and all periods of 
unemployment. 

 

FROM                 TO 

Month/Year         Month/Year 

 

POSITION/ACTIVITY 
Employer/Contact Person for practice verification  
and the person’s Complete Address, and 
Telephone number 
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COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 
Department of Health Professions 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 

Henrico, VA  23233-1463 
(804) 367-4538   www.dhp.Virginia.gov/dentistry   

FORM C 

CERTIFICATION OF DENTAL/DENTAL HYGIENE LICENSURE 
 
Please forward one form to each state dental/dental hygiene board where you hold or have ever held a dental/dental 
hygiene license.  Some states require a fee, paid in advance, for providing this information.  To expedite, you may wish to 
contact the applicable state board(s).  Form C may be photocopied if copies are needed. 

 

I am making application for licensure in Virginia by: 

 

                    Examination for Dental License            Credentials for Dental License     

                    Examination for Dental Hygiene License           Endorsement for Dental Hygiene License 

                     Reinstatement                                                     [    ]  Registration for Volunteer Practice 

                    Faculty                                                                  

 

I, was granted License Number ____________________, on _________________________________ by the State of  

                                                                                                        Month           Date              Year.  

__________________________. The Virginia Board of Dentistry requests that I submit evidence that my license is 

 

in good standing.  You are hereby authorized to release any information in your files, favorable or otherwise directly to the  

 

Virginia Board of Dentistry.  Your early attention is appreciated. 

 

 

________________________________ ___________________________ ________________________________ 

              Applicant’s Signature   Applicant’s Typed/Printed Name                 Applicant’s Address 

 

         ________________________________ 

 

Executive officer of State Board:  If no disciplinary action has been taken, please complete and return this form to the applicant.  

If disciplinary action has been taken, please send the form directly to the Virginia Board of Dentistry. 
 

State of __________________________________ Name of Licensee_______________________________________ 

 

Graduate of_______________________________ License #_____________________   Issued___________________ 

 

By         Reciprocity        Examination*        Endorsement with the State of _________________________ 

 

License is:       Current-Expires_________________        Active        Inactive       Lapsed-Expired________________ 

 

Has applicant’s license ever been disciplined, suspended or revoked         NO        YES 

 

If yes, give details and attach supporting documentation (Finding of Fact, Conclusions of Law, Orders):________________ 

 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

 

Comments, if any:____________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

  ________________________________  ________________________________  _______________ 

                         Signature                         Title   Date    

 

* If licensed by a state administered examination, please provide a score card or report which shows that 

testing included live patients. 
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