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Commonwealth of Virginia 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400 
Richmond, Virginia 23233-1485 
(804) 367-2039 
www.dpor.virginia.gov 

Real Estate Appraiser Board 
APPRAISER LICENSE APPLICATION 

A check or money order payable to the TREASURER OF VIRGINIA, or 
a completed credit card insert must be mailed with your application package. 

APPLICATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE. 
Select the one license you are requesting. 

Initial License Fee   License Upgrade Fee  
Certified General $ 221.00  Certified General $ 65.00  
Certified Residential $ 221.00  Certified Residential $ 65.00  
Licensed Residential $ 221.00   
 Includes $80.00 National Registry Fee Assessment and $21.00 USPAP Book Fee 

 

1.  Name                       
   First Middle Last Generation 
      (SR, JR, III, etc.) 

2.  Social Security Number        -     -          
3.  Date of Birth        
4.  Home Street Address (PO Box not accepted)       

  City, State, Zip Code       

5.  Mailing Address (PO Box accepted)       

  City, State, Zip Code       

6.  E-mail Address       

7.  Telephone & Facsimile Numbers (   )    -      (   )    -      (   )    -     
   Telephone  Facsimile  Cellular Phone 

8.  Do you have a current or expired real estate appraiser license issued by the Virginia Real Estate Appraiser Board? 
   No   
   Yes  License Number 4 0 0 1       Expiration Date       
   

9.  Do you hold a current or expired real estate appraiser or real estate appraiser trainee license, certification or 
registration from another jurisdiction? 

   No   
   Yes  If yes, complete the following table. ALL current and expired licenses in all states must be listed. 
            

State 
License, Certification or 

Registration Number 
 

Expiration Date 
                       

                       

                       
      

10.  Have you ever been subject to a disciplinary action imposed by any (including Virginia) local, state or national 
regulatory body? 

   No   
   Yes  If yes, please provide a copy of the final order, decree or case decision by a court or regulatory agency 

with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree or case decision. 
 

FOR 
OFFICE 

USE ONLY 

DATE FEE TRANS CODE ENTITY # APPLICATION # FILE# / LICENSE # ISSUE DATE 

        

http://www.state.va.us/dpor


 

40LIC  Real Estate Appraiser Board/LIC APP 
01/01/2012 Page 2 of 5 

11.  Have you ever been convicted, found guilty or pled guilty, regardless of adjudication, in any jurisdiction of any felony 
or a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude? Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction. 

   No   
   Yes  If yes, list the felony and/or misdemeanor conviction(s). Attach your original criminal history record and 

any other information you wish to have considered with this application (i.e., information on the status 
of incarceration, parole or probation; reference letters; documentation of rehabilitation; etc.). If 
necessary, you may attach a separate sheet of paper. 

         
         

         

    See the bottom of this page for information on how to obtain the required court and criminal history records. 
12.  Are you applying for a real estate appraiser license through reciprocity? 

   No  If no, skip to question #14.       
   Yes   
   

By signing this application you acknowledge that if you are not a Virginia resident, or move outside of Virginia while you hold a Virginia 
Real Estate Appraiser License, you understand that this application serves as a written power of attorney, whereby you appoint the 
Director of the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, and his/her successors in office, to be your true and lawful 
agency and attorney-in-fact, in your stead, upon whom all legal process against and notice to you may be served and who is hereby 
authorized to enter an appearance in your behalf in any case or proceedings arising out of the trade or profession practiced; and that by 
submitting this application, you hereby agree that any lawful process against you which is duly served on said agent and attorney-in-fact 
shall be of the same legal force and validity as if served upon you. 

Sign the one statement (#13 or #14) that applies to your application. 
13.  Reciprocity Statement (to be signed by all reciprocity and temporary license applicants) 

  I, the undersigned, certify that the foregoing statements and answers are true and I have not suppressed any 
information that might affect the Board’s decision to approve this application.  I will notify the Department if I am 
subject to any disciplinary action or convicted of any felony or misdemeanor charge (in any jurisdiction) prior to 
receiving my license.  I also certify that I understand, and have complied with, all the laws of Virginia related to Real 
Estate Appraisers under the provisions of Title 54.1, Chapter 20.1 of the Code of Virginia and the Real Estate 
Appraiser Board Regulations. 

  Signature   Date       

14.  Non-Reciprocity Statement (to be signed by all applicants not applying through reciprocity) 
  I, the undersigned, certify that the foregoing statements and answers are true and I have not suppressed any 

information that might affect the Board’s decision to approve this application. I will notify the Department if I am subject 
to any disciplinary action or convicted of any felony or misdemeanor charge (in any jurisdiction) prior to receiving my 
license. I certify that I understand, and have complied with, all the laws of Virginia related to Real Estate Appraisers 
under the provisions of Title 54.1, Chapter 20.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Real Estate Appraiser Board Regulations 
and the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisers Practice©. I certify that I meet the minimum real estate 
appraiser experience and education requirements established in the Real Estate Appraiser Board Regulations for the 
type of license I am requesting and understand that the Real Estate Appraiser Board may request proof of this 
experience in the form of written reports or file memoranda which shall be made available to the Board upon request. 

  Signature   Date       
 

Please make copies of this application for your records. 
 
   S t a t e  l a w  r e q u i r e s  e v e r y  a p p l i c a n t  f o r  a  l i c e n s e ,  c e r t i f i c a t e ,  r e g i s t r a t i o n  o r  o t h e r  a u t h o r i z a t i o n  t o  e n g a g e  i n  a  b u s i n e s s ,  t r a d e ,  

p r o f e s s i o n  o r  o c c u p a t i o n  i s s u e d  b y  t h e  C o m m o n w e a l t h  t o  p r o v i d e  a  s o c i a l  s e c u r i t y  n u m b e r  o r  a  c o n t r o l  n u m b e r  i s s u e d  b y  t h e  
V i r g i n i a  D e p a r t m e n t  o f  M o t o r  V e h i c l e s .  

Additional Requirements 
Instructions on obtaining Court and Criminal History Records 
Copies of court records may be obtained by writing to the Clerk of the Court in the jurisdiction in which you were convicted. 
An Original Criminal History Record may be obtained by contacting the state police in the jurisdiction in which you were convicted. Virginia 
residents must complete a Criminal History Record Name Search Request form (Form S.P. 167) in the presence of a notary public and 
mail it to the Virginia State Police, Central Criminal Records Exchange, Post Office Box 85076, Richmond, Virginia, 23261-5076. 
Applicants with criminal convictions and/or regulatory board disciplinary actions may be required to attend a hearing before the Real Estate 
Appraiser Board. This hearing process may take an additional two to three months. 
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EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS* 
*Based on the Appraiser Qualifications Board’s Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria 

Licensed Residential Real Estate Appraiser License 
• Initial Licensed Residential Real Estate Appraiser License applicants must complete 150 hours of Qualifying Education in the 

following Core Curriculum subjects: 
Basic Appraisal Principles 30 hours 
Basic Appraisal Procedures 30 hours 
The 15-Hour National USPAP Course 15 hours 
Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use 15 hours 
Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach 15 hours 
Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches 30 hours 
Residential Report Writing and Case Studies 15 hours 
Total 150 hours 

• Licensed Residential Real Estate Appraiser License applicants with a valid Trainee Appraiser License must complete 75 hours 
of Qualifying Education in the following Core Curriculum subjects: 

Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use 15 hours 
Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach 15 hours 
Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches 30 hours 
Residential Report Writing and Case Studies 15 hours 
Total 75 hours 

Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser License** 
• Initial Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser License applicants must complete 200 hours of Qualifying Education in the 

following Core Curriculum subjects: 
Basic Appraisal Principles 30 hours 
Basic Appraisal Procedures 30 hours 
The 15-Hour National USPAP Course 15 hours 
Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use 15 hours 
Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach 15 hours 
Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches 30 hours 
Residential Report Writing and Case Studies 15 hours 
Statistics, Modeling and Finance 15 hours 
Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies 15 hours 
Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 20 hours 
Total 200 hours 

• Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser License applicants with a valid Trainee Appraiser License must complete 125 hours 
of Qualifying Education in the following Core Curriculum subjects: 

Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use 15 hours 
Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach 15 hours 
Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches 30 hours 
Residential Report Writing and Case Studies 15 hours 
Statistics, Modeling and Finance 15 hours 
Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies 15 hours 
Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 20 hours 
Total 125 hours 

• Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser License applicants with a valid Licensed Residential Real Estate Appraiser License 
must complete 50 hours of Qualifying Education in the following Core Curriculum subjects: 

Statistics, Modeling and Finance 15 hours 
Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies 15 hours 
Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 20 hours 
Total 50 hours 

** An Associates degree or 21 semester college credit hours in 7 specific subjects is also required for the Certified 
Residential Real Estate Appraiser License. 

Certified General Real Estate Appraiser License*** 
• Initial Certified General Real Estate Appraiser License applicants must complete 300 hours of Qualifying Education in the 

following Core Curriculum subjects: 
Basic Appraisal Principles 30 hours 
Basic Appraisal Procedures 30 hours 
The 15-Hour National USPAP Course 15 hours 
Statistics, Modeling and Finance 15 hours 
General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use 30 hours 
General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach 30 hours 
General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach 30 hours 
General Appraiser Income Approach 60 hours 
General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies 30 hours 
Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 30 hours 
Total 300 hours 
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• Certified General Real Estate Appraiser License applicants with a valid Trainee Appraiser License must complete 225 hours of 
Qualifying Education in the following Core Curriculum subjects: 

Statistics, Modeling and Finance 15 hours 
General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use 30 hours 
General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach 30 hours 
General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach 30 hours 
General Appraiser Income Approach 60 hours 
General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies 30 hours 
Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 30 hours 
Total 225 hours 

• Certified General Real Estate Appraiser License applicants with a valid Licensed Residential Real Estate Appraiser License must 
complete 150 hours of Qualifying Education in the following Core Curriculum subjects: 

Statistics, Modeling and Finance 15 hours 
General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use 15 hours 
General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach 15 hours 
General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach 15 hours 
General Appraiser Income Approach 45 hours 
General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies 15 hours 
Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 30 hours 
Total 150 hours 

• Certified General Real Estate Appraiser License applicants with a valid Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser License must 
complete 100 hours of Qualifying Education in the following Core Curriculum subjects: 

General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use 15 hours 
General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach 15 hours 
General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach 15 hours 
General Appraiser Income Approach 45 hours 
General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies 10 hours 
Total 100 hours 

*** A Bachelor’s degree or 30 semester college credit hours in 10 specific subjects is also required for the Certified 
General Real Estate Appraiser License. 

Please review the “Education and Exams” section of the Real Estate Appraiser Board’s website at: 
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/dporweb/apr_main.cfm for the Appraiser Qualifications Board’s Real Property Appraiser 

Qualification Criteria and Board-approved Schools and Qualifying Education courses.

http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/dporweb/apr_main.cfm
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EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS 
Minimum Experience Requirements 

Licensed Residential Real Estate Appraiser License 
• 2,000 hours of appraisal experience obtained in no less than 12 months. 

 
Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser License 

• 2,500 hours of appraisal experience obtained in no less than 24 months. 
• Upgrade applicants from Licensed Residential Real Estate Appraiser to Certified Residential Real Estate 

Appraiser MUST submit a NEW Experience Log demonstrating these hours. 
 

Certified General Real Estate Appraiser License 
• 3,000 hours of appraisal experience obtained in no less than 30 months. 
• 1,500 hours of the 3,000 hours must be in nonresidential appraisal assignments. 
• Upgrade applicants from Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser to Certified General Real Estate 

Appraiser MUST submit a NEW Experience Log demonstrating these hours. 
 

Review Appraisal Experience shall not constitute more than 1000 hours of experience claimed and at least 50% of 
the review appraisal experience claimed must be in-field review where the individual has personally inspected the 
property. 
 
Real Estate Consulting Appraisal Experience shall not constitute more than 500 hours of experience claimed. 

 
Ad Valorem Tax Appraisal Experience Requirements 
All ad valorem tax appraisal experience on an applicant’s Experience Log must include an Experience Verification Statement 
from the applicant’s supervisor or employer.  Applicants employed by an appraisal firm must also submit a document from the 
Virginia Department of Taxation verifying the applicant’s supervisor is certified to perform the assessment or reassessment of 
real property pursuant to § 58.1-3258.1 of the Code of Virginia. 
 

Experience Verification Statements must include the following: 
 

1. Applicant’s Name; 
2. Applicant’s Employment Dates; 
3. Supervisor/Employer’s Statement Verifying Ad Valorem Experience Claimed on the Experience Log; and 
4. Supervisor/Employer’s Name, Title, Address, and Telephone Number. 

 
Sample Appraisal Reports 
After the Board reviews your Real Estate Appraiser Board License Application and Experience Log for compliance with 
minimum education and experience requirements, a letter will be mailed to you requesting five specific sample appraisal 
reports that will be reviewed by the Board for USPAP compliance.  
 

Applicants claiming only ad valorem tax appraisal experience must submit the following items in addition to the five 
specific sample appraisal reports: 

 
1. A one-to-three-page description of the methods and techniques employed to produce and communicate 

credible appraisals within the context of the real property tax laws. 
 
2. Licensed Residential Real Estate Appraiser and Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser 

applicants must submit two residential property fee/staff appraisals completed on a Uniform Residential 
Appraisal Report (URAR) form under the supervision of a Virginia certified real state appraiser.  The 
applicant does not need to be employed by the certified real estate appraiser.   

 
Certified General Real Estate Appraiser applicants must submit two commercial property narrative 
appraisal reports (under the supervision of a Virginia Certified General Real Estate Appraiser) as though 
the reports are being prepared for a private sector client.  Both reports must demonstrate the use of the 
income approach.  The applicant does not need to be employed by the certified general real estate 
appraiser. 

 
Reciprocal License Applicants may be required to submit experience verification and sample appraisal reports if the 
applicant’s base state’s licensure requirements are not substantially equivalent to those in Virginia. 
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