Commonwealth of Virginia

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400

Richmond, Virginia 23233-1485

(804) 367-8509

www.dpor.virginia.gov PRELIMINARY - PENDING APPROVAL

Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians

OPTICIANS EXAMINATION & LICENSE APPLICATION

Applicants are required to attach successful completion of high school or a high school equivalency course.

DE DR

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation

To obtain a Contact Lens Endorsement, you must submit a Contact Lens Endorsement Application.

If you have passed the American Board for Opticianry (ABO) examination or any other written examination administered by a state
licensing board, attach a copy of your current certificate. Otherwise, you must apply for both the written and practical examinations AND
submit a $350.00 fee.

Examination sites are located in Richmond and Wytheville, Virginia. Candidates will be scheduled at the site closest to their geographic location. If the
Wytheville site is full, candidates will be scheduled at the Richmond site. Candidates will be notified of the date, time and location one month prior
to the examination dates. Please visit the Department's web site at www.dpor.virginia.gov for examination dates.

An application must pass the written and practical examination within two years of the initial test. After two years, applicants must submit a new
application and pay the required fee.

A check or money order payable to the TREASURER OF VIRGINIA,
or a completed credit card insert must be mailed with your application package.
APPLICATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE.

Select the method you are using to apply for your contact lens endorsement. Select only one.

348

X Method of Licensure Trans Fee
Code
[ ]| Initial Application/Written & Practical Examination: Initial license application 1010 | $335.00
[ ]| Initial Application/Practical Examination: Initial license application and applicant has passed a written exam 1010 | $110.00
|:| By Reciprocity - Appl_lcatlon/\Nntten & Practical Examination: Optician licensed in another state who has not passed a 1012 $335.00
written exam & a practical exam
|:| By Reciprocity - Application/Practical Examination: Optician licensed in another state who has passed only a written 1012 $110.00
exam '
|:| By Reciprocity - Application Only: Optician licensed in another state who has passed both a written exam and a practical 1012 $.85.00
exam '
[ ]| Written Re-examination 1011 | $225.00
[ ]| Practical Re-examination 1011 $25.00
1. Have you ever held an Optician License issued by the Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians?
No []
Yes<[] Virginia Opticians LicenseNo. | 1| 1|0 1
% If yes and your license expired more than 60 days ago, but less than 24 months ago, you are required to reinstate your
Virginia Optician License by completing an Optician License Reinstatement Application. DO NOT COMPLETE THIS
LICENSE APPLICATION.
2. Name
Last First Middle Generation

3. Provide one of the following identification numbers.
[] Social Security Number  or  [] Virginia DMV Control Number * - -

*  State law requires every applicant for a license, certificate, registration or other authorization to engage in a business, trade, profession or occupation
issued by the Commonwealth to provide a social security number or a control number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.

4.  Date of Birth (Must be 18 years of age.)
MM/DD/YYYY
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5. Maiden Name or Former Surname(s)

6. Mailing Address (PO Box accepted)

If a mailing address is submitted, the mailing
address will be printed on the license.

City State Zip Code

7. Street Address (PO Box not accepted) [] Checkhere f Street Address is the same as the Mailing Address listed above.
PHYSICAL ADDRESS REQUIRED

City State Zip Code
8. Email Address
9. Contact Numbers
Primary Telephone Alternate Telephone Fax
10.  Are you applying through reciprocity as an optician currently licensed, certified or registered in another state?

No []
Yes [ ] If yes, list all the licenses, certificates and registrations in the following table and attach an original
Certification of Licensure/Letter of Good Standing;* dated within the last 60 days from each state.

What type of examination License, Certification or Expiration
did you pass? Registration Number Date

Written [] Practical [ ]
Written [] Practical [ ]
Written [] Practical [ ]

State/Jurisdiction

* Certifications of Licensure/Letter of Good Standing, prepared by the state board or regulatory body must include: 1) the
license/certification/registration number; 2) the initial date of licensure; 3) the expiration date of the license or renewal feg;
4) the means of obtaining licensure (i.e. exam, reciprocity, etc.) and 5) all closed disciplinary actions resulting in a violation
or undetermined finding.
11. Which Education Requirement have you met in order to qualify for a Virginia Optician License?
[] Completion of a board-approved two-year course in a school of Opticianry, including the study of topics
essential to qualify for practicing as an optician.

School Name & Location

Date Enrolled Date Completed

Required Attachments: Attach an official transcript showing successful completion of the program.

[] Completion of a board-approved three-year apprenticeship with a minimum of one school year of related
instruction or home study while registered in the apprenticeship program in accordance with the standards
established by the Virginia Department of Labor and Industry, Division of Apprenticeship Training and approved
by the Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians.

Name of Apprenticeship Representative

Signature of Apprenticeship Representative Date
Required Attachments: Attach a Apprenticeship Completion Form with original DOLI verification stamp.

12.  Have you ever been subject to a disciplinary action taken by any (including Virginia) local, state or national regulatory
body?
No []
Yes [] Ifyes, provide a certified copy of the final order, decree or case decision by a court or regulatory agency
with lawful authority to issue such order, decree or case decision.
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13.  Have you ever been convicted in any jurisdiction of any felony or misdemeanor? Any guilty plea or plea of nolo

contendere must be disclosed on this application. Do not disclose violations that were adjudicated as a minor in the
juvenile court system.

No []

Yes [] Ifyes, list the misdemeanor and/or felony. Attach your original criminal history record™ a certified copy
of the final order, decree, or case decision by a court or regulatory agency with lawful authority to issue
such order, decree, or case decision; and any other information you wish to have considered with this
application (i.e., information on the status of incarceration, parole or probation; reference letters;
documentation of rehabilitation).

* Original criminal history record may be obtained by contacting the Virginia State police. Applicants with convictions from other jurisdictions,
other than Virginia; must provide an original official criminal history record from each state/jurisdiction in which they have been convicted.
Virginia residents may request complete criminal records from the Virginia State Police at www.vsp.virginia.gov or by phone at
804-674-6718.
Consent to Suits
By signing this application, you acknowledge that if you are not a Virginia resident, or move outside of Virginia while you hold
a Virginia Optician License, you understand that this application serves as a written power of attorney, whereby you appoint
the Director of the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, and his/her successors in office, to be your true
and lawful agent attorney-in-fact, in your stead, upon whom all legal process against and notice to you may be served and
who is hereby authorized to enter an appearance on your behalf in any case or proceedings arising out of the trade or
profession practiced; and that by submitting this application you hereby agree that any lawful process against you which is
duly served on said agent and attorney-in-fact shall be of the same legal force and validity as if served upon you.

14. |, the undersigned, certify that the foregoing statements and answers are true, and | have not suppressed any
information that might affect the Board's decision to approve this application. | certify that | will notify the Department if |
am subject to any disciplinary action or convicted of a felony or misdemeanor (in any jurisdiction) prior to receiving the
requested license. | certify that | have read, understood and complied with all the laws of Virginia related to Optician
Licensure under the provisions of Title 54.1, Chapter 15, of the Code of Virginia and the Virginia Board for Hearing Aid
Specialists and Opticians Regulations.

Signature Date
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