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COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 
VIRGINIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY 
9960 MAYLAND DRIVE, SUITE 300 

HENRICO, VA  23233-1463 
804-367-4538 

www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry  
 

A completed application shall include the following unless stated below.  An incomplete application 
and/or fee will delay the processing of your application.  Incomplete applications are kept for one year 
then destroyed.  
 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR REINSTATMENT OF DENTAL HYGIENE LICENSE: 

 
_____ 1.Reinstatement Application:  Please be sure that all information is completed on the
 application.   
 
_____ 2.Fee for applicant due to lapse of license: The reinstatement fee for a dental hygiene 

license is $200 and must be paid with a certified check, cashier’s check or money order, 
made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia. The fee can be used for one year from date of 
receipt. Pursuant to 18VAC60-25-30(F), all fees are non-refundable. Your application will not 
be reviewed until you have submitted payment. 

 
Fee for applicant due to previously revoked or indefinitely suspended license: The 
reinstatement fee for a previously revoked dental hygiene license is $500 and the 
reinstatement fee for a previously indefinitely suspended dental hygiene license is $400. 

     
_____ 3.Form B Chronology: List ALL activities since receiving your degree or certification. 

(Resumes and curriculum vitas are not accepted as substitutes for completing the 
chronological listing and will not be considered.   

 
_____ 4.Form C: Original licensure verification from any jurisdiction in which you currently hold or 

have ever held a license/registration/certification to practice dentistry or as another health care 
professional. Copies of permits are not accepted. Verification cannot be older than 6 months 
from date prepared. 

 
_____ 5.Original, current report, not older than 6 months, must be obtained by Self Query from the 

National Provider Data Bank (NPDB), which may be requested through their website at 
http://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/. There is a fee for this report. This report from the NPDB is 
required from all applications, without exception Regulation 18VAC60-25-130.A(3) 

 
____ 6.Please be aware that your signed and notarized application affidavit authorizes the release 

of confidential information, affirms that your application is complete and correct, and attests 
that you have read and understand and will remain current with the laws and regulations 
governing the practice of dentistry in Virginia. 

 
____ 7.Name Change:  Documentation must be provided to show each name change(s) if your 

name has ever been changed from the most recent time you held an active license in Virginia 
or were licensed in other jurisdictions or other than what is listed on your application. 
Photocopies of marriage licenses or court orders are accepted. 

 

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry
http://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/
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_____ 8.Continuing Education: You must submit documentation of having completed  continuing 
education (CE) hours equal to the requirement for the number of years in which the license 
has not been active, not to exceed a total of 45 hours. Of the required hours, at least 15 must 
be earned in the most recent 12 months and the remainder within the 36 months immediately 
preceding the application for reinstatement.   Do not send original documents.  

 
 Submitted CE documentation must include the following: 
 

 Your name 

 Name of course completed 

 If the subject matter of the course is not evident in the title, you must also submit the 
sponsor’s course description. 

 Date(s) in which you completed the course 

 Name of the course sponsor; and 

 The number of CE credit hours earned 

  

PLEASE NOTE:    
 

 To qualify for reinstatement of an expired license, the applicant must include 
documentation in the application sufficient to demonstrate continuing competence.   
Continuing education hours and evidence of active practice in another state or in federal 
service, recent passage of a clinical competency examination, a refresher program 
offered by a program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the 
American Dental Association or current specialty board certification are considered in 
determining continuing competence. Completion of only home study, journal or internet 
courses is generally not sufficient to demonstrate continuing competence. 
 

 If your Virginia license has not been reinstated within six months of the Board’s receipt of the 
application, certain portions of the application may need to be resubmitted before your 
application can be reviewed. 
 

 You might obtain the Virginia laws and the regulations governing the practice of dentistry at 
www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry. 

 

 To receive notice that your application has been delivered to the Board, it is suggested that the 
complete packet be mailed by “Certified Mail-Return Receipt Requested” or with “Delivery 
Confirmation”. 

 

 Within approximately 10 business of receipt of an application, applicants will be notified of 
missing application items. 

 

 Documents submitted with an application are the property of the board and cannot be 
returned. 
 

 Consistent with Virginia law §54.1.2400.02 and mission of the Department of Health 
Professions, addresses of licensees are made available to the public. Normally, the Address of 
Record is the publically disclosable address. If you do not want your Address of Record to be 
made public, state law allows you to provide a second, publically disclosable address. 
Typically, this other address is the work or practice address. If you would like for you Address 
of Record to be made available to the public, complete both sections with the same address.  
 

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry
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   Virginia Board of Dentistry 
   Virginia Department of Health Professions 

                            9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 

                            Henrico, VA 23233-1463 

        804-367-4538 

                www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry 

   

 

APPLICATION FOR REINSTATEMENT OF DENTAL HYGIENE LICENSE 
 
INSTRUCTIONS: Type or print clearly. Complete all sections. If the space provided for any answer is insufficient, 
complete your answer on a separate page, specify the number of the question to which it relates, sign the page and 
enclose it with the application. 

 
I.  GENERAL INFORMATION 
Name: Last 

 
First Middle/Maiden Suffix 

 
 

Address of Record (Mailing Address) 

 
 
 

City State Zip Code Telephone Number 

Public Disclosable Address 

 
 
 

City State Zip Code Telephone Number 

Email Address: 
 
 

 

Fax Number: 

Date of Birth 
________/_________/_______________ 

 

Social Security Number or Virginia DMV Control Number 

____ ____ ____--____ ____ --____ ____ ____ ____ 

License Number Date of Expiration Name at time of Original Licensure* 

 
 

Please check the applicable box below: 

□ REINSTATEMENT REQUESTED DUE TO LAPSE OF LICENSE 

□ REINSTATEMENT REQUESTED DUE TO SUSPENSION  

□ REINSTATEMENT REQUESTED DUE TO REVOCATION  

 
FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 

FEE AMOUNT APPLICANT NUMBER DATE OF REINSTATEMENT 
 
 

 
NOTE: In accordance with §54.1-116 of the Code of Virginia, you are required to submit your Social Security Number or 

your control number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. If you fail to do so, the processing of your 
application will be suspended and fees will not be refunded. This number will be used the by Department of Health 
Professions for identification and will not be disclosed for other purposes except as provided by law. Federal and state 
law requires this number be shared with other agencies for child support enforcement activities. 
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3.  APPLICANT HISTORY 
 
ALL QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED.  If any of the following questions are answered “YES”, explain and 
substantiate with documentation.  Letters must be submitted by your attorney regarding malpractice suits.  
Letters must be submitted by any treating professionals regarding health treatment and shall include 
diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. 
 

 
a. 

 
Have you ever been dropped, suspended, expelled or disciplined by any school or college for 
any cause whatever?  If yes, give details, school(s); address and dates(s) on a separate page. 

 
[  ] Yes 

 
[  ] No 

 
b. 

 
Has your practice of dental hygiene since expiration of your license been in the Commonwealth 
of Virginia?  Is yes, give location._________________________________ 
 

[  ] Yes [  ] No 

  
c. 

 
Has any of your work since the expiration of your dental hygiene license been in any field other 
than the practice of dentistry?   If yes, give details, jurisdictions(s) and date(s). 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
 

 
[  ] Yes 

 
[  ] No 

 
d. 

 
Have you ever announced yourself, or held yourself out, as being a specialist in any branch of 
dentistry?  If yes, give specialty and  
jurisdictions____________________________________________________________ 
_______________________________________________________________ 

 
[  ] Yes 

 
[  ] No 

 
e. 

 
Have you ever been denied a license or the privilege of taking a dental hygiene 
licensure/competency examination by any licensing authority?  If yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) 
and date(s).______________________________________________________________ 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
 

 
[  ] Yes 

 
[ ] No 

 
f. 

 
List all jurisdictions in which you currently hold or have ever held a license/registration/certification to practice 
dental hygiene or as any other health care professional: 

 Jurisdiction 
_________________ 
_________________ 
_________________ 
_________________ 
 

License  Number 
________________ 
________________ 
________________ 
________________ 

Date Issued 
_________________ 
_________________ 
_________________ 
_________________ 

Expiration Date 
_________________ 
_________________ 
_________________ 
_________________ 

  

g Have you ever failed the dental hygiene licensing examination given for another jurisdiction? If 
yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) and date(s).____________________________ 
__________________________________________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________________________ 
 

[  ] Yes [  ] No 

 
h. 

Have you ever been convicted of a violation of or pled Nolo Contender to any federal, state or 
local statute, regulation or ordinance, or entered into any plea bargaining relating to a felony or 
misdemeanor? (Excluding traffic violations, except convictions for driving under the influence.)  
if yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) and date(s) on a separate page, and include a copy of the 
disposition record certified by the Clerk of the Court. 

 
[  ] Yes 

 
[  ] No 

 
i. 

Have you ever voluntarily surrendered your clinical privileges while under investigation, been 
censured or warned, or been requested to withdraw from the staff or any hospital, nursing 

 
 
[  ] Yes 

 
 
[  ] No 
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home, other health care facility, or any health care provider?  If yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) 
and date(s) on a separate page. 

j. Have you ever voluntarily withdrawn from any professional society while under investigation?  If 
yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) and date(s) on a separate page. 
 

 
[  ] Yes 

 
[  ] No 

 
 
 
 
k. 

 
Have you ever had any of the following disciplinary actions taken against your license to 
practice dental hygiene, Medicare, Medicaid or are any such actions pending; 
suspension/revocation, or probation, or reprimand/cease and desist or monitoring or practice, or 
limitation placed on scheduled drugs?  If yes give details, jurisdiction(s) and date(s) on a 
separate page. 

 
 
[  ] Yes 

 
 
[  ] No 

 
l. 

 
Have you ever had any membership in a professional society revoked, suspended or 
sanctioned in any manner? If yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) and date(s) on a separate page. 

 
[  ] Yes 

 
[  ] No 
 

 
m. 

 
Have you ever been a defendant in a military court martial or received medical or other than 
honorable discharge? If yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) and date(s) on a separate page. 

 
[  ] Yes 

 
[  ] No 

 
n. 

 
Is there now, or has there ever been, in any jurisdiction, a complaint pending against your 
professional conduct or competence as a dentist/dental hygienist?  If yes, give details, 
jurisdiction(s) and date(s) on a separate page. 

 
[  ] Yes 

 
[  ] No 

 
o. 

 
Have you ever had any malpractice suits brought against you? If yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) 
and date(s) for each suit on a separate page, and provide a letter from your attorney explaining 
each case. 

 
[  ] Yes 

 
[  ] No 

 
p. 

 
Have you, within the last two (2) years, been physically or emotionally dependent upon the use 
of alcohol/drugs or been treated by, consulted with or under the care of a professional for any 
substance abuse?  If yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) and date(s) on a separate page, and 
provide a letter of explanation from the treating professional(s), including summary of diagnosis, 
treatment and prognosis. 

 
[  ] Yes 

 
[  ] No 

 
q. 

 
Have you ever received treatment for, or been hospitalized for, a nervous, emotional or mental 
disorder? If yes, provide a letter of explanation from the treating professional(s), including 
summary of diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. 

 
[  ] Yes 

 
[  ] No 

 
r. 

 
Do you have a physical disability, disease, or diagnosis which could affect your performance of 
professional duties within the last five (5) years?  If yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) and date(s) 
on a separate page, and provide a letter of explanation from the treating professional(s), 
including summary of diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. 

 
[  ] Yes 

 
[  ] No 

 
s. 

 
Have you ever been adjudged mentally incompetent, or been voluntarily or in voluntarily 
committed to a mental institution?  If yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) and dates) on a separate 
page, and provide certified copies of all applicable court documents. 

 
[  ] Yes 

 
[  ] No 

 
t. 
 

 
Did you relocate with a spouse who is the subject of a military transfer to the Commonwealth of 
Virginia? 

 
[  ] Yes 

 
[  ] No 
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VIRGINIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

APPLICATION AFFIDAVIT 
(MUST BE COMPLETED BEFORE A NOTARY PUBLIC) 

 

  
 I, ___________________________________________________________________, being first duly sworn, 
 depose and say that I am the person referred to in the foregoing application and supporting documents. 
 
 I hereby authorize all hospitals, institutions or organizations, my references, personal physicians, employers 
 (Past and present) business and professional associates (past and present) and all governmental agencies  
 And instrumentalities (local, state, federal or foreign) to release to the Virginia Board of Dentistry any 
 Information, files or records requested by the Board which is material to me and my application. 
 
 I have carefully read the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them completely, without 
 reservations of any kind, and I declare under penalty of perjury that my answers and all statements made by  
 me in the application and supporting documents are true and correct.  Should I furnish any false information 
 in this application, I hereby agree that such act shall constitute cause for the denial, suspension, or  
 revocation of my license to practice in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 
 
 I have carefully read the laws and regulations related to the practice of dentistry and dental hygiene. 
 I hereby agree to abide by and remain current with the applicable laws and regulations which are 
 available on www.dhp.virginia.gov, and  
 
 I have attached a certified check, cashier’s check or money order in the amount of $_____________ made 
 payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.  I fully understand that funds submitted as part of the application shall 
 not be refunded. 
 
 
         ______________________________________ 
          Signature of Applicant 

 State of _______________________ 
 
 County/City of ___________________________________ 
 
 Sworn and subscribed to, before me, this __________ day of ____________________, ____________. 
       Day   Month 
 
 My commission expires on _________________________________. 
        
  
         ______________________________________ 
          Signature of Notary Public 
 
  
 

 
  SEAL 

 
 

     
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/
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VIRGINIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 

Henrico, VA  23233-1463 
 

FORM B: CHRONOLOGY                              

 
NAME OF 
APPLICANT:______________________________________________________________________ 
 
Every applicant must provide a complete chronological, personal, and professional history of all activities you have engaged in since 

receiving your degree or certification; include teaching positions, internship, hospital affiliations, all periods of non-professional activity 
or employment, volunteer work, and all periods of unemployment.    
 
 
 Form B may be photocopied if additional space is needed. 

 
FROM                 TO 

Month/Year         Month/Year 

 
POSITION/ACTIVITY Employer/Contact Person for practice verification and the  

Complete Address, and Telephone # 
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COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 
BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Department of Health Professions 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 

Henrico, VA  23233-1463 
(804) 3674538 www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry  

FORM C 

CERTIFICATION OF DENTAL/DENTAL HYGIENE BOARDS 
 

Please forward one form to each state dental/dental hygiene board where you hold or have ever held a dental/dental 

hygiene license.  Some states require a fee, paid in advance, for providing this information.  To expedite, you may wish 

to contact the applicable state board(s).  Form C may be photocopied if copies are needed. 
 

I am making application for Reinstatement of Dental Hygiene licensure in Virginia: 

           

 

I, ______________________________________________, was granted License Number ________________________ 

 

on __________________19_____20_____ by the State of ______________________.  The Virginia Board of Dentistry 

 

requests that I submit evidence that my license in the State of ____________________________________________ 

 

is in good standing.  You are hereby authorized to release any information in your files, favorable or otherwise directly to the  

 

Virginia Board of Dentistry.  Your early attention is appreciated. 

 

 

________________________________ ___________________________ ________________________________ 

              Applicant’s Signature   Applicant’s Typed/Printed Name                 Applicant’s Address 

 

         ________________________________ 

 

Executive officer of State Board:  Please complete and return this form to the applicant.  If disciplinary action has been taken, 

return the form to the Board of Dentistry. 
 

State of __________________________________ Name of Licensee_______________________________________ 

 

Graduate of_______________________________ License #_____________________   Issued___________________ 

 

By         Reciprocity        Examination        Endorsement with the State of _________________________ 

 

License is:       Current-Expires_________________        Active        Inactive       Lapsed-Expired________________ 

 

Has applicant’s license ever been disciplined, suspended or revoked         NO        YES 

 

If yes, give details and attach supporting documentation (Finding of Fact, Conclusions of Law, Orders):________________ 

 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

Derogatory information, if any:__________________________________________________________________________ 

 

Comments, if any:____________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

  ________________________________  ________________________________  _______________ 

                         Signature                         Title   Date    

 

SEAL 

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry
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NAME OF LICENSEE _____________________       LICENSE NUMBER _______________ 

 

CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES 

Complete all information and include all required supporting documents. 

 

Pursuant to 18VAC60-25-190.B of the Regulations Governing the Practice of Dental Hygiene, CE 

programs shall be clinical courses in dental or dental hygiene practice or supportive of clinical 

services. Courses not acceptable include, but are not limited to: estate planning, financial planning, 

investments, & personal health. 

 

DATE 

 

NAME OF COURSE APPROVED SPONSOR CE HOURS 

EARNED 
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                 TOTAL HOURS______________ 
 


