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COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA  
VIRGINIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY  
9960 MAYLAND DRIVE, SUITE 300  

Henrico, VA 23233-1463  
804-367-4538 www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry  

 
 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLICATION FOR REACTIVATION  

OF A DENTAL HYGIENIST LICENSE 

 
A completed application shall include the following unless otherwise stated below. An incomplete 
application and/or fee will delay the processing of your application. Incomplete applications are 
kept for one year then destroyed.  

 

 

____ 1.Application: Please be sure that all information and questions are completed on the 
application. The application can be used for one year from date of receipt.  

 

____ 2.Application Fee: The fee to reactivate a  dental hygiene license is $75, which must be 

paid with a certified check, cashier’s check or money order, made payable to The 

Treasurer of Virginia. The fee can be used for one year from date of receipt. Pursuant to 
18VAC60-25-30(F) all fees are non-refundable. Your application will not be reviewed until 
you have submitted your payment.  

 

____ 3.Continuing Education:  You must submit documentation of having completed  
continuing education (CE) hours equal to the requirement for the number of years in 
which the license has been inactive, not to exceed a total of 45 hours. Of the required 
hours, at least 15 must be earned in the most recent 12 months and the remainder within 
the 36 months immediately preceding the application for reactivation.   Do not send 
original documents.  

 

 Submitted CE documentation must include the following: 
 

 Your name 

 Name of course completed 

 If the subject matter of the course is not evident in the title, you must also submit 
the sponsor’s course description. 

 Date(s) in which you completed the course 

 Name of the course sponsor; and 

 The number of CE credit hours earned 
 

____ 4.Original, current report, not older than 6 months from date prepared, must be obtained 
by Self Query from the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB), which may be requested 

through their website at www.npdb.hrsa.gov. There is a fee for this report. This report 

from NPDB is required from all applicants, without exception. (Regulation 18VAC60-

25-130A(3).) 
. 
 

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry
http://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/
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Notes:  
 
• To qualify for reactivation of an inactive license, the applicant must include documentation 

in the application sufficient to demonstrate continuing competence.   Continuing education 

hours and evidence of active practice in another state or in federal service, recent passage 

of a clinical competency examination, a refresher program offered by a program accredited 

by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association or current 

specialty board certification are considered in determining continuing competence. 

Completion of only home study, journal or internet courses is generally not sufficient to 

demonstrate continuing competence. 
 

• PLEASE NOTE: If your Virginia License is not reactivated within six months of the Board’s receipt 
of parts of the application, certain portions of the application may need to be resubmitted before 
your application can be reviewed.  
 
 

• You might obtain the Virginia laws and the regulations governing the practice of dentistry at 
www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry.  
 

• To receive notice that your application has been delivered to the Board, it is suggested that the 
documents be mailed by “Certified Mail-Return Receipt Requested” or with “Delivery 
Confirmation”. 

 
• Within approximately 10 business days of receipt of an application, applicants will be notified of 

missing application items. Review of completed applications for licensure by credentials may take 
another 5 to 20 business days.  

 
• Documents submitted with an application are the property of the board and cannot be returned. 

 
• Consistent with Virginia law §54.1.2400.02 and mission of the Department of Health Professions, 

addresses of licensees are made available to the public. Normally, the Address of Record is the 
publically disclosable address. If you do not want your Address of Record to be made public, state 
law allows you to provide a second, publically disclosable address. Typically, this other address is 
the work or practice address. If you would like for your Address of Record to be made available to 
the public, complete both sections with the same address.  
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                                                                   Virginia Board of Dentistry 

       Virginia Department of Health Professions 

       9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 

       Henrico, VA  23233-1463 

       804-367-4538 

       www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry 

 

APPLICATION FOR REACTIVATION OF DENTAL HYGIENE LICENSE 
  
INSTRUCTIONS:  Type or print clearly.  Complete all sections.  If the space provided for any answer is insufficient, 
complete your answer on a separate page, specify the number of the question to which it relates, sign the page and 

enclose it with the application.   
Name: Last First  Middle/Maiden Suffix 

 
 

Address of Record (Mailing Address) 
 
 
 
 

City State Zip Code Telephone Number 
 
 

Public Disclosable Address 
 
 
 

City State Zip Code Telephone Number 
 
 

E-Mail Address 
 
 

Fax # 
 
 
 

Date of Birth 
 
____ ____/____ ____/____ ____ ____ ____ 

Social Security Number or Virginia DMV control Number 

 
____ ___ ____--____ ____---____ ____ ____ ____ 
 

Virginia License Number 
 
 

Date Inactive Status Taken Date of Last Active Practice 

Name at Time of Original Licensure (Last, First, Maiden) 

 

*Name change: Documentation must be provided to show name change(s) if name has ever been changed from the time you attended 

school or while you were licensed in other jurisdictions.**In accordance with § 54.1-116 of the Code of Virginia, you are required to 

submit your Social Security Number or your control number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.  If you fail to do 

so, the processing of your application will be suspended and fees will not be refunded.  This number will be used by the Department of 

Health Professions for identification and will not be disclosed for other purposes except as provided by law.  Federal and state law 

requires that this number be shared with other agencies for child support enforcement activities. 

    

 

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 
Fee Amount Approved Date License Reactivated License Number 
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ALL QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED.  If any of the following questions are answered “YES”, you 

must explain and substantiate with documentation.   

 
1. Have you ever had any of the following disciplinary actions taken against your license to 
 practice dentistry or as any health care professional, your DEA permit, Medicare or 
 Medicaid, or are any such actions pending?   Yes _____ No ______ 

 
2. Has your practice ever been the subject of an investigation by any licensing authority?  
 Yes ______    No_______ 
 
 If yes, you must provide an explanation and include jurisdiction(s) and date(s). 

 
3. Have you ever been denied a license or certification in a health related field or 
 jurisdiction?   Yes _____   No_____ 

 
4. Is your license in good standing in all jurisdictions where licensed?   Yes ____ No _____ 
 
5. Have you ever been convicted of a violation or pled Nolo Contendere to any federal, state 
 or local statute, regulation or ordinance, or entered into any pleas bargaining relating to a 
 felony or misdemeanor? (Excluding traffic violation, except convictions for driving 
 under  the influence)?   Yes ______ No ______   
  
 If yes, you must provide an explanation and include an original copy of the  
 disposition/record, certified by the Clerk of the Court, unless you provided this information 
 on your previous application. 
 
6. Do you have a physical disability, disease or diagnosis which could affect your 
 performance or professional duties? Yes _____ No _____    
 
 If yes, provide an explanation and submit a letter from any treating professional(s) 
 summarizing diagnosis, treatment and prognosis, unless you provided this information on 
 your previous application. 
 
7. Have you, within the last two (2) years, received treatment for, or been hospitalized for a 
 nervous, emotional or mental disorder? Yes____ No____ 
 
 If yes, you must provide a letter of explanation from the treating professional(s), including 
 summary of diagnosis, treatment & prognosis, unless you provided this information on 
 your previous application. 
 
 
8. Have you ever had any membership in a professional society revoked, suspended or     
 sanctioned in any manner? Yes____ No____    
 
 If yes, you must provide an explanation and include jurisdiction(s) and date(s). 
 
9. Did you relocate with a spouse who is the subject of a military transfer to the 
 Commonwealth of Virginia? Yes ____ No____. 
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VIRGINIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

APPLICATION AFFIDAVIT 

(MUST BE COMPLETED BEFORE A NOTARY PUBLIC) 
 

I, __________________________________________________________________, being first duly 
sworn, depose and say that I am the person referred to in the foregoing application and supporting 
documents. 
 
I hereby authorize all hospitals, institutions or organizations, my references, personal physicians, 
employers (past and present) business and professional associates (past and present) and all 
governmental agencies and instrumentalities (local, state, federal or foreign) to release to the Virginia 
Board of Dentistry any information, files or records requested by the Board  which is material to me and 
my application. 
  

I have carefully read the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them completely, 
without reservations of any kind, and I declare under penalty of perjury that my answers and all 
statements made by me in the application and supporting documents are true and correct.   Should I 
furnish any false information in this application, I hereby agree that such act shall constitute cause for the 
denial, suspension, or revocation of my license to practice in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 
 

I have carefully read the laws and regulations related to the practice of dentistry and dental 

hygiene.  I hereby agree to abide by and remain current with the applicable laws and regulations 

which are available on www.dhp.virginia.gov, and  
 
I have attached a certified check, cashier’s check or money order in the amount of $___________   

made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.  I fully understand that funds submitted as part of the 
application shall not be refunded. 
 
 

           
 ____________________________________________ 

         Signature of Applicant 
 
State of ______________________________  
 
County/City of ______________________________________________ 
 
 
Sworn and subscribed to, before me, this __________day of _________________________, _______. 
                                                                       Day                               Month                                 Year 
 
My commission expires on ______________________________. 
 
 
 
               

          ____________________________________________ 
       Signature of Notary Public 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

NAME OF LICENSEE _____________________       LICENSE NUMBER _______________ 

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/


Application for RDH Reactivation- January 2017  6 

 

Pursuant to 18VAC60-25-190.B of the Regulations Governing the Practice of Dental 

Hygiene, CE programs shall be clinical courses in dental or dental hygiene practice or 
supportive of clinical services. Courses not acceptable include, but are not limited to: 

estate planning, financial planning, investments, & personal health. 

DATE 
(in date 
order) 

NAME OF 
COURSE 

APPROVED 
SPONSOR 

NUMBER 
OF HOURS 

BOARD 
REVIEW 

 
 

    

 
 

    

 
 

    

 
 

    

 
 

    

 
 

    

 
 

    

 
 

    

 
 

    

 
 

    

 
 

    

 
 

    

 
 

    

 
 

    

 
 

    

     

 
 

    

        TOTAL HOURS__________ 
 
 


