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OFFICE 
USE 

ONLY

DATE FEE TRANS CODE ENTITY # FILE #/LICENSE # ISSUE DATE

School must hold a separate license for each and every location.
Answer all questions completely and accurately.  Failure to answer all questions, or provide any additional documentation required, 
will result in a delay of processing this application.  School application can take up to 60 days to process.




A check or money order payable to the TREASURER OF VIRGINIA, 
 or a completed credit card insert must be mailed with your application package. 

 APPLICATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE.
Select the license(s) you are requesting: Method of Instruction

X License Type Trans Fee Classroom Online
1303 - Barber School 1020 $140
1303 - Licensed Barber School adding a Barber Instructor Program 9007 $100
1205 - Cosmetology School 1020 $140
1205 - Licensed Cosmetology School adding a Nail Technician Program 9007 $100
1205 - Licensed Cosmetology School adding a Wax Technician Program 9007 $100
1205 - Licensed Cosmetology School adding an Instructor Program 9007 $100
1209 - Nail Technician School 1020 $140
1209 - Licensed Nail Technician School adding an Instructor Program 9007 $100
1219 - Waxing School 1020 $140
1219 - Licensed Waxing School adding an Instructor Program 9007 $100
1251 - Tattooing School 1020 $140
1251 - Licensed Tattooing School adding a Perm.Cosm. tattooing program 9007 No Fee
1252 - Permanent Cosmetic Tattooing School 1020 $140
1267 - Esthetics School 1020 $140
1267 - Esthetics School adding a Master Esthetician Program 9007 No Fee
1267 - Licensed Esthetics School adding an Instructor Program 9007 No Fee

Virginia License Number Expiration Date

Are you currently licensed with the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology and adding a new program to your current 
school license? 

1.

No    
Yes If yes, provide your license information:

2. School/Business or Sole Proprietor Name
 A sole proprietor should enter his/her full legal name and the company name should be entered below as the Trade/DBA name. All names 

must be the same as the name on your government issued ID or organization/business documents.

3. Trade, “Doing Business As” (DBA) or Fictitious Name of school



 Attach a copy of the certificate filed with the Clerk of the Court in the locality where business will be conducted (if required by the locality).

4. A. Type of business entity (select only one) 

Other:  Association, Business Trust, Government Agency, Joint Venture, Limited Liability Partnership, Non Profit, Professional Corporation, 
Professional Limited Liability Company, or Sole Proprietor (Non-Broker Owned) 

Other, please specify:
Sole Proprietorship General Partnership  Solely Owned LLC Corporation   
Limited Partnership   Limited Liability Company   

♦
♦

♦
♦
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B. State Corporation Commission Number: (If applicable)
♦ If your business is a corporation, limited liability company, or limited partnership, your business/trade name(s) must be registered with 

the Virginia State Corporation Commission (including all out-of-state businesses). Firm/Businesses shall be organized as business entities 
under the laws of the Commonwealth of Virginia or otherwise authorized to transact business in Virginia.  Firm/Businesses must register any 
trade or fictitious names with the State Corporation Commission or the clerk of court in the county or jurisdiction where the business is to be 
conducted.  For additional information, contact the SCC at www.scc.virginia.gov or by phone at (804) 371-9733. 

5. Provide one of the following identification numbers   :   

Business Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN)

Sole Proprietor's/Individual's Social Security Number       or
Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles Control Number 

Federal Employer Identification Number (12-3456789)
-

State law requires every applicant, who is not a sole proprietor or solely owned LLC, to provide a federal employer identification number.  

Social Security or Virginia DMV Number (123-45-6789)

- -

 State law requires every applicant for a license, certificate, registration or other authorization to engage in a business, trade, professional or occupation 
issued by the Commonwealth to provide a social security number or a control number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.

Enter the same identification number as used on previous applications or licenses on file with the department.

6.
The mailing address will be  

printed on the license. 

Mailing Address (PO Box accepted) 

City State Zip Code

7. Street Address (PO Box  not  accepted) 
PHYSICAL ADDRESS REQUIRED

Check here if Street Address is the same as the Mailing Address listed above. 

State City Zip Code

8. Contact Numbers 
Primary Telephone Alternate Telephone Fax

Email Address 
Email address is considered a public record and will be disclosed upon request from a third party.

9.

10. List all member of Responsible Management (sole proprietor, partners of a general partnership, managing partner of 
a limited partnership, officers/directors of an association, managers/members of a limited liability company, or officers 
of the business/organization).

Individual's Full Legal Name Title Address Social Security  No. or 
VA DMV Control No.*

Date of 
Birth

* State law requires every applicant for a license, certificate, registration or other authorization to engage in a business, trade, profession 
or occupation issued  by the Commonwealth to provide a social security number or a control number issued by the Virginia Department 
of Motor Vehicles.

11. Does the school receive compensation for services provided for its clinic?
No    
Yes If yes, provide the Virginia salon, shop, spa or parlor license number and expiration date.

VA License Number Expiration Date

12. List each Instructor who will be employed by the school, their professional type and Virginia license number:
Full Name Professional Type Virginia License Number
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13. Has this Business/Organization or any member of Responsible Management ever been subject to a disciplinary 
action taken by any (including Virginia) local, state or national regulatory  body? This includes but is not limited to any 
monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary action or 
voluntary termination of a license. 

No    
Yes If yes, complete the Disciplinary Action Reporting Form.

14.

No    
Yes If yes, complete the Denial of Licensure Reporting Form.

Has this Business/Organization or any member of Responsible Management ever been refused or denied a 
business, professional or occupational license, certification, or registration as a practitioner or instructor in the fields of 
barbering, cosmetology, waxing, nail care, esthetics, body-piercing, or tattooing by any (including Virginia) local, state 
or national regulatory body?

A. Has this Business/Organization or any member of Responsible Management ever been convicted or found 
guilty, regardless of the manner of adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the United States of any felony within the 
last 20 years?  Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction.

No    
Yes

15.

If yes, complete the Criminal Conviction Reporting Form.

B.

No    
Yes

Has this Business/Organization or any member of Responsible Management ever been convicted or found 
guilty, regardless of the manner of adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the United States of any misdemeanor 
involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution or physical injury within the last two (2) years? 
Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction.

If yes, complete the Criminal Conviction Reporting Form.

16. By signing this application, I certify the following statements:
I am aware that submitting false information or omitting pertinent or material information in connection with this 
application will delay processing and may lead to license revocation or denial of license.



I will notify the Board of any changes to the information provided in this application prior to receiving the 
requested license, certification, or registration including, but not limited to any disciplinary action or conviction of 
a felony or misdemeanor (in any jurisdiction).



I authorize the Department to verify information concerning me or any statement in this application from any 
person, or any source the department may contact.  I also agree to present any credentials or documents 
required or requested by the Department.



I authorize any federal, state or local government agency, current or former employer, or other individual or 
business to release information which may be required for a background investigation.



I have read, understand and complied with all the laws of Virginia related to this profession under the provisions 
of Title 54.1, Chapter 7, of the Code of Virginia and the Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, Tattooing, 
and Esthetics Regulations.


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Signatures for all Responsible Management is required: 
(sole proprietor, partners of a general partnership, managing partner of a limited partnership, officers/directors of an 
association, managers/members of a limited liability company, or officers of a corporation)

1. Print Name Title

Signature Date

2. Print Name Title

Signature Date

3. Print Name Title

Signature Date

4. Print Name Title

Signature Date
5. Print Name Title

Signature Date
(Photocopy this sheet if additional signatures are needed.)

(Important Curriculum Package Instructions to follow.)
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Important Curriculum Package Instructions

In addition to the School License Application, you are required to submit a curriculum including, but not limited to, the 
information listed below.  Applications lacking the required information will be rejected and returned.  Should you have any 
questions or require additional clarification, please contact the board staff at (804) 367-8509.

PHOTOCOPIES OF OUTLINES, GLOSSARIES AND OTHER INFORMATION FROM TEXTS AND BOARD REGULATIONS 
WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED!

1. Course syllabus
The course syllabus should contain an outline and brief statement of the main points of the text, lecture and course of 
study.

Detailed course outline2.
The outline shall include, but not be limited to those items set out in the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology 
Regulations, Wax Technician Regulations, Tattooing Regulations and Esthetics Regulations.

3. Sample of five lesson plans
The lesson plans must be actual lesson plans that will be used in the instruction of students at the school applying for 
licensure.  Previously approved lesson plans for other schools will not be accepted.  You may submit lesson plans 
developed for your curriculum.

4. Sample of evaluation methods to be used
Explain and provide examples of how students will be evaluated for grading and progress report purposes.  Please 
include both the written and practical portions of the program.
Breakdown of hours and/or performances for all courses to be taught which lead to licensure5.
This material may be included in the detailed course outline (#2). 

6. Example of the method by which performance will be recorded

7. Sketch of the school floor plan
This sketch must include the classroom and clinic areas within the school. 

8. Days and hours of operation 
This  must include a list of holidays and other special date that will be closed. 

9. An example of a test you will administer to students

10. Esthetics schools must submit a list of the equipment used in training, as required by 18 VAC 41-70-210A-D

11. Esthetics schools that award credit in accordance with Section 18VAC41-70-190.D. of the Esthetics 
Regulations, must submit copies of the assessment policy, method of evaluation of transcripts, and the 
examination to be used in making the assessment. 

Online Instruction:
For schools wishing to offer online instruction, items 1 - 10 noted above must be submitted in addition to the following 
requirements:

1. Note that only the general portions of the curriculum which are common across all professions regulated by the 
Board may be offered online.  Those courses may, but not necessarily, include:  Orientation, School Policies, 
State laws and regulations, Health and safety, Personal hygiene, Sanitation and sterilization, Ethics, Salon/shop/
parlor management, Analyzing skin or scalp conditions, Anatomy, Client consultation, and Care of equipment.
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If the course is not general and common across all professions, but it is on the list above, please contact the 
Board to determine if it is eligible to be taught online.  For example, tattooing sterilization requirements are 
specific and unique to that profession, and would not be eligible for online instruction.

All examination must be completed on-site, in a “traditional brick and mortar” classroom.2.

Schools must provide documentation that it utilizes technologies and practices that are effective in verifying the 
identity of distance learning students, both initially in person (via photo ID) and subsequently during the online 
coursework (via secure login and pass code).   

3.

Instructor programs are not eligible for Online Instruction.4.


