COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA
Department of Health Professions - Board of Nursing
Perimeter Center
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, VA 23233-1463
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLICATION FOR REINSTATEMENT - LICENSED PRACTICAL NURSE

VIRGINIA - COMPACT STATE

Virginia began participating in the Nurse Licensure Compact on January 1, 2005. If your primary state of
residence is a compact state, you must apply for licensure in your primary state of residence (compact state). If
your primary state of residence is Virginia or a non-compact state, and your Virginia license has been expired
for more than two years, you can apply in Virginia for reinstatement. “Primary state of residence” is defined by
the Compact as “the state of a person’s declared fixed permanent and principal home or domicile for legal
purposes.” Evidence of a primary state of residence may be required. Please indicate on the application your

primary state of residence.

For a current list of states in the Compact, go to:
www.ncsbn.org/public/nurselicensurecompact/mutual_recognition_state.htm.

1. Complete the reinstatement application form and return the reinstatement application, required
supporting documentation and required fee to the Board office.

2. Must provide evidence of completing 15 hours of continuing education in nursing approved by a
regionally accredited educational institution or professional nursing organization or of passage of National
Council Licensing Examination during the period in which the license has been lapsed (i.e., copies of
completed course certificates approved by ANCC-American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission
on Accreditation OR another state board of nursing).

-OR-

The Board may waive all or part of the continuing education requirement for a nurse who holds a
current, unresiricted license in another state and who has engaged in active practice during the period the
Virginia license was lapsed. Written verification of active licensure and active practice during the time
license was. expired will be required (i.e., a letter from your employer on their letterhead or a copy of a
recent pay stub stating your name, job title or position, and name of the medical facility will show proof
of active practice. If your job title/position is not listed on the pay stub, make the notation yourself).

3. The Board may request additional evidence that the nurse is prepared to resume practice in a safe,
competent manner.

PLEASE NOTIFY THIS OFFICE WITHIN THIRTY DAYS OF A NAME CHANGE OR ADDRESS CHANGE.

*** In accordance with §54.1-116(A) of the Code of Virginia, you are required to submit your social security namber or your control
number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. If you fail to do so, the processing of your application will be
suspended and fees will not be refunded. This nember will be used by the Department of Health Professions for identification and
will not be disclosed for other purposes except as provided for by law. Federal and state law requires that this number be shared
with other ageneies for child support enforcement activities.

***In accordance with §54.1-116(B) of the Code of Virginia, foreign nationals who are otherwise gualified as an applicant for a
license, certificate or registration may be issued a temporary license or authorization to practice, effective for not longer than

94 days.
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