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COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA  
BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

 

 

Department of Health Professions 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 

Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463 

(804) 367-4441 

Website - http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/social  

 

GENERAL INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS 

FOR LATE RENEWAL AS A  

SOCIAL WORKER (LSW) OR CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER (LCSW) 

 
A social worker or clinical social worker whose license has expired may renew that license within one year after its 
expiration date by:  

1. Providing evidence of having met all applicable continuing education requirements; and  

2. Paying the penalty for late renewal and the renewal fee as prescribed in 18VAC140-20-30 

 

Instructions: 

Submit the enclosed renewal request and supporting documentation in one package to the address indicated above. 

Please review this checklist to make certain that all the required documents are submitted. 
 

 Fee: the following fee must be paid: 
 

• Licensed Social Workers (LSW) will be required to submit $65.00 fee, plus a $20.00 late fee which must be 
paid by check or money order made payable to the “Treasurer of Virginia”. This fee is non-refundable. 
 

• Licensed Clinical Social Workers (LCSW) will be required to submit $90.00 fee, plus a $30.00 late fee which 
must be paid by check or money order made payable to the “Treasurer of Virginia”. This fee is non-
refundable. 

 

 Continuing Education (CE) Certificates:  
 

• Licensed Social Workers (LSW) are required to complete CE for a minimum of 15 hours including two (2) 
hours that pertain to ethics or the standards of practice for the behavioral health professions or to laws 
governing the practice of social work in Virginia. 
 

• Licensed Clinical Social Workers (LCSW) are required to complete CE for a minimum of 30 hours of 
including two (2) hours that pertain to ethics or the standards of practice for the behavioral health professions 
or to laws governing the practice of social work in Virginia.  
 

 

Please refer to Regulation 18VAC140-20-105 for the CE requirements and a list of board-approved activities. 

Please refer to Regulation 18VAC140-20-106 for information on documenting compliance with CE requirements. 
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FORM FOR LATE RENEWAL AS A SOCIAL WORKER (LSW) OR  

CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER (LCSW) 

 

I hereby submit a request for late renewal of my Virginia license number _____________________.    

I.  GENERAL INFORMATION 

Name  (Last, First) 

 

(Middle Initial) 

 

(Maiden) 

 

(Suffix) 

 

Social Security Number or Virginia DMV Control Number 

 

 

Date of Birth (MM/DD/YY) 

 

Mailing Address (Street and/or Box Number, City, State, Zip Code) 

 

 

 

 

 Home Telephone Number 

 

 

Public Address (Street and/or Box Number, City, State, Zip Code) 

 

 

 

 

Alternate Telephone Number 

 

 

 

 

E-mail Address 

 

 

 

I have missed only one renewal and I am attesting to the completion of the required            15 (LSW) or            30 (LCSW) 

CE hours for the 2017-2018 renewal period as listed in Regulation 18VAC140-20-105. 

 

 

SIGNATURE OF LICENSEE ________________________________________________ DATE _____________________  
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