
INSTRUCTIONS/CHECKLIST FOR REINSTATEMENT OF AN EXPIRED LICENSE 
 

BEFORE YOU PROCEED, READ THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION CAREFULLY: 
 

 Laws and Regulations: The Virginia laws and regulations pertaining to the practice of speech-language pathology may be viewed at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/aud/. The application requires an attestation to having read the applicable laws and regulations; 
  

 Application documentation from source: Required documentation must be submitted directly from the source of the information by 

postal mail, email or fax. The applicant is responsible for notifying the source to submit required documentation; 
 

 Application processing: Please allow 21 business days from initial mailing for board staff to receive and process an application. An 

initial email will be forwarded that provides notification of receipt and a list of any missing application documentation. The licensure 

process typically takes a minimum of 45 days. Please plan accordingly if you are pursuing a practice position in Virginia or call to 

inquire about the status of your application. 
 

 Application and Fee:  Application and fee must be submitted together by postal mail. The application fee is $135.00; make check or 

money order payable to the “Treasurer of Virginia.” If you have held a license issued by the Board, you must apply by reinstatement. All 

fees are nonrefundable; 
 

 License expiration dates: Please refer to the registration for expiration date. 
 

 Retention of Application Documents: Applicant documentation is maintained for one year and then destroyed;  
 

 Board Communication: Upon receipt of an application, the Board’s preferred method of communication is via email; 
 

 Additional Forms: Additional forms are located under “Other Forms” on the board’s website. 
 

If license has been lapsed more than one year and less than five (5) years, licensee must provide: 
 Completion of CE Activity & Assessment Form and documentation (copies of completed certificates) of 10 continuing 

       competency hours for each year the license has been lapsed, not to exceed 30 hours obtained during the time the license in 

       Virginia was lapsed. ASHA CE transcript is accepted. 

 

If license has been lapsed for more than five (5) years, licensee must meet one of the options listed below: 
 

□  Option 1 

 Completion of CE Activity & Assessment Form and documentation (copies of completed certificates) of continuing competency hours 

for each year the license has been lapsed, not to exceed 30 hours obtained during the time the license has been lapsed; 

 Written verification of current licensure in another jurisdiction in the United States; and 

 Evidence of active practice for at least one of the past three years.  

□  Option 2 

 Completion of CE Activity & Assessment Form and documentation (copies of completed certificates) of continuing competency hours 

for each year the license has been lapsed, not to exceed 30 hours obtained during the time the license has been lapsed; 

 Written verification of a current and unrestricted Certificate of Clinical Competence or certification by the American Board of 

Audiology or any other accrediting body recognized by the board; (board staff will download from ASHA website; 

 Written verification of current licensure in another jurisdiction in the United States; and 

 Written verification of passing the qualifying examination PRAXIS within the past three years (contact PRAXIS to release scores 

electronically to Virginia. 

□  Option 3 

 Completion of CE Activity & Assessment Form and documentation (copies of completed certificates) of continuing competency hours 

for each year the license has been lapsed, not to exceed 30 hours obtained during the time the license has been lapsed; 

 Written verification of a current and unrestricted Certificate of Clinical Competence or certification by the American Board of 

Audiology or any other accrediting body recognized by the board (board staff will download from ASHA website; 

 Written verification of current licensure in another jurisdiction in the United States; and 

 Written employment verification on company letterhead confirming active practice for at least one year of the past three years.  

□  Option 4 for School SLPs only 

 Completion of CE Activity & Assessment Form and documentation (copies of completed certificates) of continuing competency hours 

for each year the license has been lapsed, not to exceed 30 hours obtained during the time the license has been lapsed; 

 Verification of a Masters or doctoral degree in speech-language pathology; and 

 Written verification of current licensure in another jurisdiction in the United States. 
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□  Option 5 Applicants who have completed the requirements of a provisional license for reinstatement 

 Verification from supervisor, on company letterhead, indicating recommendation for licensure 

 

 

 

Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology Contact Information 

 Address:    9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300   Email: AudBD@dhp.virginia.gov 

              Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463   Phone: (804) 367-4630 

 Webpage:  www.dhp.virginia.gov/aud/     Fax: (804) 527-4471 

 

 

Note: As of June 1, 2019, the Board’s phone number will change to: (804) 597-4132 
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9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300  Phone - (804) 367-4630  www.dhp.virginia.gov/aud/  
                                  Henrico, Virginia 23233      Fax - (804) 527-4471           Email – audbd@dhp.virginia.gov   
 

Note: As of June 1, 2019, the Board’s phone number will change to: (804) 597-4132 
 

Application for Reinstatement of an Expired Virginia License 
 

  Audiologist     Speech-Language Pathologist     School Speech-Language Pathologist 
 

1.  Legal Full Name (Please Print or Type)     

Last First Middle Initial 

   

Have you ever been known by any other name? Yes    No    If yes, state, in full, every name by which you have been 

known, the reason therefore, and dates so used.  If the name stated above does not match name on required 
documentation, a copy of court order or marriage certificate is required. 
 

Other names: 

Public Address for Disclosure City State   Zip Code     Telephone No. 

     

Address of Record (Mailing Address) City State   Zip Code     Telephone No. 

     Cell   Other 

     

ADDRESS: Virginia law allows persons regulated by boards within the Department of Health Professions to provide an alternative 

address for public disclosure if they want their address of record to remain confidential, used only for agency purposes.  Health 
professionals may choose to provide a work address, a post office box, or a home address as the public address. If an alternative 
public address is not provided, the address of record will also be used as the public address and may be disclosed if specifically 
requested. Addresses of individuals are not posted on the "License Lookup" program available through the board's website.  
 

*Social Security No. or Virginia DMV No. Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy) Email Address 

   
 

Are you active-duty military? YES 

 

NO 

 
 

Are you the spouse of a member of the U.S. military who has been transferred to Virginia and who had to 
leave employment to accompany your spouse to Virginia? 

YES 

 

NO 

 
 

Graduation Date (mm/dd/yyyy) 
  

Professional Degree(s) School    City            State 

   

   

*In accordance with §54.1-116 Code of Virginia, you are required to submit your Social Security Number or your control number** issued by the Virginia 

Department of Motor Vehicles.  If you fail to do so, the processing of your application will be suspended and fees will not be refunded. This number will 
be used by the Department of Health Professions for identification and will not be disclosed for other purposes except as provided by law. Federal and 
state law requires that this number be shared with other state agencies for child support enforcement activities. In order to obtain a Virginia driver’s 
license control number, it is necessary to appear in person at an office of the Department of Motor Vehicles in Virginia.  A fee and disclosure to DMV 
of your Social Security Number will be required to obtain this number. 

 
APPLICANTS DO NOT USE SPACES BELOW THIS LINE – FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 

 

ORIGINAL ISSUE DATE: ________________________ EXPIRATION DATE: _______________________ 
 

 

APPLICANT # FEE RECEIPT # EXEC DIRECTOR APPROVAL/DATE LICENSE # REINSTATE DATE 
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1.   List passage date (mm/dd/yyyy) of qualifying national examination:  
 

2.   Have you actively been engaged in the practice of audiology or speech-language pathology prior to  
      seeking reinstatement of licensure in Virginia? 

YES 

 
NO 

 
 

3.   ASHA certification number: 
 

 
 

4.   List all professional practice since license expired. Employment verification is required. 

Began Date 
mm/dd/yyyy 
 

End Date 
mm/dd/yyyy 
 

 
Name of Practice/City/State/Phone 

 
Type of Practice 
(Private or Public Sector) 

    

    

    

    

 

5.   List all jurisdictions in which you have ever been issued a professional license, including expired, to practice  
      audiology or speech-language pathology (does not include teaching certificates issued by the Department of 
      Education). If more space is required, please record on separate paper. 

Jurisdiction License # Issue Date 
(mm/dd/yyyy) 

Years of Practice License Status (active/expired/inactive/ 
revoked/suspended) 

     

     

     

     

     
 

QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED.  If any of the following questions (6-12) are answered yes, explain and provide 
documentation. Letters must be submitted by your attorney regarding malpractice suits. 
6.  Have you ever been convicted of a violation of, or pled Nolo Contendere to, any federal, state or local 

statute, regulation or ordinance, or entered into any plea bargaining relating to a felony or misdemeanor, to 
include convictions for driving under the influence (DUI) and excludes traffic violations. Attach your original 
criminal history record, a certified copy of any final order, decree, or case decision by a court or regulatory 
agency with lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or case decision, and any other information you 
wish to be considered with your application (i.e. information on the status of incarceration, parole, or 
probation, reference letters, etc.). 

 

 
 
YES 

 

 
 
NO 

 

7.   Within the past five years, have you exhibited any conduct or behavior that could call into question 
 your ability to practice in a competent and professional manner? 
 
 (A) Please provide a full explanation (use a separate page). 
 (B) Within the past five years, have you sought or been directed to seek treatment for your conduct or 

behavior?    Yes     No 

 
 
YES 

 

 
 
NO 

 

8.   Within the past five years, have you been disciplined by any entity? 
 

(A) Please provide a full explanation and any associated orders or letters from the entity (use a 
separate page). 

 (B) Within the past five years, have you sought or been directed to seek treatment for your conduct or 
 behavior?    Yes     No 
 

 
 
YES 

 

 
 
NO 
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9.  Do you currently have any physical condition or impairment that affects or limits your ability to perform any 
     of the obligations and responsibilities of professional practice in a safe and competent manner? “Currently”  
     means recently enough so that the condition could reasonably have an impact on your ability to function as 
     a practicing audiologist or speech-language pathologist. 

 If yes, please provide a full explanation (use separate page). (NOTE: The Board may request a letter 
      from your current treatment provider addressing your current condition and ability to safely practice. 
      You may consider providing this documentation with your application, or have your provider send this   
      documentation directly to the Board.) 
 

 
 
YES 

 
 

 
 
NO 

 
 

10. Do you currently have any mental health condition or impairment that affects or limits your ability to 
 perform any of the obligations and responsibilities of professional practice in a safe and competent 
 manner? “Currently” means recently enough so that the condition could reasonably have an impact on 
 your ability to function as a practicing audiologist or speech-language pathologist. 

 If yes, please provide a full explanation (use separate page). (NOTE: The Board may request a letter 
      from your current treatment provider addressing your current condition and ability to safely practice. 
      You may consider providing this documentation with your application, or have your provider send this   
      documentation directly to the Board.) 
 

 
 
YES 

 
 

 
 
NO 

 
 

11. Do you currently have any condition or impairment related to alcohol or other substance use that 
 affects or limits your ability to perform any of the obligations and responsibilities of professional 
 practice in a safe and competent manner? “Currently” means recently enough so that the condition 
 could reasonably have an impact on your ability to function as a practicing audiologist or speech-
 language pathologist. 

 If yes, please provide a full explanation (use separate page). (NOTE: The Board may request a letter 
      from your current treatment provider addressing your current condition and ability to safely practice. 
      You may consider providing this documentation with your application, or have your provider send this   
      documentation directly to the Board.) 
 

 
 
YES 

  
 

 
 
NO 

 
 

12.  Within the past 5 years, have any conditions or restrictions been imposed upon you or your practice to 
 avoid disciplinary action by any entity? 

 If yes, please provide a full explanation (use separate page). (NOTE: The Board may request a letter 
      from your current treatment provider addressing your current condition and ability to safely practice. 
      You may consider providing this documentation with your application, or have your provider send this   
      documentation directly to the Board.) 
 

 
 
YES 

  
 

 
 
NO 

 
 

  
13. AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT 
  

 I have carefully read the laws and regulations related to the practice of audiology and speech-language 
 pathology. I hereby agree to abide by and remain current with the applicable laws and regulations which 
 are available on www.dhp.virginia.gov. 
 
 I certify by entering my signature below: I am the person applying for licensure/certification/registration 
 and meet the qualifications required by Virginia law and regulations. Further, I certify the information 
 provided in this application has been personally provided and reviewed by me, and that statements made 
 on the application are true and complete. I understand that providing false or misleading information, as 
 well as omitting information, in response to information requested in this application or as part of the 
 application process are considered falsification of the application and may be grounds for denial of or 
 taking disciplinary action against an existing license/certificate/registration. 
 
 

______________________________________________ 
 

Signature of Applicant 
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