VIRGINIA BOARD OF

AUDIOLOGY & SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY
Perimeter Center - 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 - Richmond, Virginia 23233-1463
website: www.dhp.virginia.gov
e-mail: AudBD@dhp.virginia.gov
Phone: 804-367-4630

Confirmation of receipt of the licensure application and any missing items is forwarded via e-mail
notification. Upon receipt of all required documentation, a licensure permit is issued with notification of
licensure via e-mail.

Applications will remain in process no longer than one (1) year. If, at the end of one (1) year, a license is
not issued, the application file is destroyed. An applicant shall reapply for licensure, submit fees, required
documentation, and meet the qualifications for licensure in effect at the time of the new application.

REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION CHECKLIST OF AN
INACTIVE CURRENT LICENSE

Please review the following checklist/instructions to ensure that your application is complete
prior to submission for review:

U Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists - complete the reinstatement application
and submit $35.00 fee, check or money order made payable by to the Treasurer of Virginia.
ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE.

U School Speech-Language Pathologists - complete the reinstatement application and
submit $20.00 fee, check or money order made payable by to the Treasurer of Virginia.
ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE.

O Complete CE affidavit form and attach documentation of continuing competency hours
equal to the requirement for the number of years, not to exceed four years, in which the
license has been lapsed (refer to the Board of Audiology and Speech Language Pathology
regulations section 18 VAC 30-20-300 and 18 VAC 30-20-320).

U Provide written verification of any state licenses you have ever held, to include current,

inactive, and expired licenses. Verification must be submitted directly from each state.
Contact each jurisdiction/state regarding processing fees; NO COPIES OR FAXES.

SEE IMPORTANT INFORMATION ON PAGE TWO
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» Application Receipt Confirmation/Licensure
e Confirmation of receipt of application and missing items is forwarded via e-mail notification.
e Licensure notification is forwarded via e-mail upon completion of application processing.
e License permits and wall calligraphy are mailed within two days of issuance.

» Permit Expiration Dates
e Licensure permits issued prior to July 1st will expire on December 31%. Permits issued on or
after July 1 will expire December 31* of the following year.

» Board Communication

e E-mail address: the Board’s preferred method of communicating newsletters, regulatory updates
and other important information is through e-mail notifications. Maintaining a current e-mail
address with the Board office provides a mechanism for up-to-date and cost effective
communication.

e To receive automatic board activity updates, you may request to receive automatic e-mail
notifications through the Public Participation Guidelines (contact board office) or Townhall at
www.townhall.virginia.gov.

» On-Line Licensing and pin number
e A pin number is assigned upon issuance of a licensure permit. Licensees are encouraged to
renew on-line, change addresses and request duplicate permits.

» Audiology Speech-Language Pathology Webpage: www.dhp.virginia.gov/aud/
e The website offers the most current changes to the laws/regulations, frequently asked questions,
statistics, license look-up, forms and guidance documents.
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COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA
Department of Health Professions
Board of Audiology and Speech Language Pathology

Perimeter Center _ E-Mail:  AudBD@dhp.virginia.gov
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 Phone: (804) 367-4630

Henrico, VA 23233-1463 Website: www.dhp.virginia.gov

Application for Reinstatement of an Inactive Current License
[ JAudiologist [ ]Speech-Language Pathologist [ ]School Speech-Language Pathologist

1. Legal Full Name (Please Print or Type)

Last First Middle Maiden Name or Suffix

Have you ever been known by any other name? [ ] Yes [ ] No If yes, state, in full, every name by which you have been
known, the reason therefore, and dates so used. If name change was made by court order, enclose herein a certified
copy of such order.

Address of Record (Mailing Address) City State | ZIP Code Telephone No.

Publicly Disclosable Address City State | Zip Code Telephone No.

ADDRESS: Virginia law allows persons regulated by boards within the Department of Health Professions to provide an alternative
address for public disclosure if they want their address of record to remain confidential, used only for agency purposes. Health
professionals may choose to provide a work address, a post office box, or a home address as the public address. If an alternative
public address is not provided, the address of record will also be used as the public address and may be disclosed if specifically
requested. Addresses of individuals are not posted on the "License Lookup" program available through the board's website.

*Social Security No. or Virginia DMV No. | Date of Birth (Mo/Day/Yr) E-mail Address

Graduation Date Professional Degree(s) School City State
(Mo/Day/Yr)

Print legal name as you wish it to appear on wall certificate:

2. Have you met the current continuing competency requirements? Yes __ No If yes, provide documentation of
continuing competency and include CE assessment form.

*In accordance with §54.1-116 Code of Virginia, you are required to submit your Social Security Number or your control number** issued by the Virginia
Department of Motor Vehicles. If you fail to do so, the processing of your application will be suspended and fees will not be refunded. This number will be
used by the Department of Health Professions for identification and will not be disclosed for other purposes except as provided by law. Federal and state
law requires that this number be shared with other state agencies for child support enforcement activities. In order to obtain a Virginia driver’s license
control number, it is necessary to appear in person at an office of the Department of Motor Vehicles in Virginia. A fee and disclosure to DMV of your
Social Security Number will be required to obtain this number.

APPLICANTS DO NOT USE SPACES BELOW THIS LINE — FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

APPLICANT # FEE RECEIPT # BASE STATE ASHA/ABA LICENSE # ISSUE DATE
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3. List all jurisdictions in which you have ever been issued a license (active, inactive, expired) to practice audiology and/or
speech-language pathology. If more space is needed, please record on separate paper.

Jurisdiction | How Licensed License # Issue Date Years of Practice | License Status

QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED. If any of the following questions (4-10) are answered yes, explain and
substantiate with documentation. Letters must be submitted by your attorney regarding malpractice suits.

4. List all professional practice in reverse chronological order for the last 36 months.

Began Date Ended Name of Practice/Address/Phone Type of Practice

Month Year Month Year

5. Have you ever been convicted of a violation of/or pled Nolo Contendere to any federal, state or local
statute, regulation or ordinance, or entered into any plea bargaining relating to a felony or | YES NO
misdemeanor to include convictions for driving under the influence (DUI) and excludes?
Attach your original criminal history record, a certified copy of any final order, decree, or case | — | —
decision by a court or regulatory agency with lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or case
decision, and any other information you wish to considered with you application (i.e. information on
the status of incarceration, parole, or probation, reference letters documentation of rehabilitation,
etc.).

6. Have you ever had any of the following disciplinary actions taken against your license to practice
Audiology and/or Speech Language Pathology? (a) suspension/revocation (b) probation (c) | YES NO
reprimand/cease and desist (d) had your practice monitored (e) monetary penalty? If yes, the
regulatory agency authorized to take such action(s) must submit documentation of any disciplinary | — | —
action taken against your license to include notices, orders, etc.

7. Are you currently under disciplinary investigation by any jurisdiction? If yes, give jurisdiction. YES NO

8. Have you had any malpractice suits brought against you in the last ten years? If yes, how many? YES NO

"~ Provide details and documentation. Letters must be submitted by your attorney regarding
malpractice sulits.

9. Have you been physically or emotionally dependent upon the use of alcohol/drugs or treated by, | YES NO
consulted with, or been under the care of a professional for any substance abuse within the last two
years? If yes, please provide a letter from the treating professional, on letterhead, to include | —— | ——
diagnosis, treatment, prognosis and fithess to practice.

10. Do you have a physical disease, mental disorder, or any condition, which could affect your | YES NO
performance of professional duties? If yes, provide a letter from your treating professional, on
letterhead, to include diagnosis, treatment, prognosis and fithess to practice. | —
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11. AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT  (THIS SECTION MUST BE NOTARIZED)

l, , being first duly sworn, depose and say that | am the person referred to
in the foregoing application and supporting documents. | hereby authorize all hospitals, institutions, or organizations,
my references, personal physicians, employers (past and present), business and professional associates (past and
present), and all governmental agencies and instrumentalities (local, state, federal, or foreign) to release to the Virginia
Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology any information, files or records requested by the Board in
connection with the processing of individuals and groups listed above, any information, which is material to my
application and me. | have carefully read the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them
completely, without reservations of any kind, and | declare under penalty of perjury that my answers and all statements
made by me herein are true and correct. Should | furnish any false information in this application, | hereby agree that
such act shall constitute cause for the denial, suspension, or revocation of my license to practice Audiology and/or
Speech-Language Pathology in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

| have carefully read the laws and regulations related to the practice of my profession which are available on
www.dhp.virginia.gov/aud/ and | fully understand that funds submitted as part of the application process shall not be
refunded.

Signature of Applicant

City/County of State of

Subscribed and sworn to before me this day of 20

My Commission expires

Signature of Notary Public

NOTARY SEAL
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