INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING AN APPLICATION TO PRACTICE AS A VETERINARY TECHNICIAN IN VIRGINIA

BEFORE YOU PROCEED, READ THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION CAREFULLY:

- **Laws and Regulations**: The Virginia laws and regulations pertaining to the practice of veterinary medicine may be viewed at http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/vet/. The application requires an attestation to having read the applicable laws and regulations;
- ≻ Application processing and documentation: Required documentation must be submitted directly from the source of the information by postal mail, email or fax. The applicant is responsible for notifying the source to submit the required documentation. Additional forms for licensure and employment verification are attached;
- ≻ Application tracking: An online electronic checklist is provided to track your application and may be viewed by logging into your application account and selecting the "View Checklist" link located in the "Pending Licenses" section.. The link will not be visible to applicants or the Board if the application fee has not been paid. Please allow approximately 7 business days for your application checklist to be initially updated on the board's website. Subsequent updates will occur as documentation is received. If you find that your checklist does not exist or does not indicate necessary documents have been received, email the Board at vetbd@dhp.virginia.gov with "VET Application Question" in the subject line;
- \triangleright Fee: An application fee of \$65.00 is required. All fees are nonrefundable;
- ≻ **Application payment receipt:** A receipt may be printed upon approval of the payment;
- License expiration dates: Licenses issued prior to July 1 expire on December 31 of the current year. Licenses issued on or after ≻ July 1 expire December 31 of the following year;
- Retention of Application Documents: Applicant documentation (includes exam scores) is maintained for one year and then ≻ destroyed; and
- **Board Communication:** Email address: The Board's preferred method of communication to applicants or licensee is via email.

APPLICATION METHODS AND REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION:

□ EXAMINATION (Passage of VTNE and less than 2 years of active practice).

- Official copy of transcript from a school of veterinary technology accredited by the AVMA or CVMA conferring degree;
- Examination scores Contact American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB) to release VTNE scores to Virginia. If examination taken through VTNE in Virginia and is less than one year old, a request for score transfer is not required; and
- Verification of any veterinary technology licenses, certifications or registrations ever held by each board, including expired, in another jurisdiction of the U.S.

□ ENDORSEMENT (Required to hold a current unrestricted license, certification or registration issued by a regulatory entity in another jurisdiction of the U.S. A certification by a veterinary technology association is not accepted.)

- Written documentation of having been regularly engaged in clinical practice as a licensed, certified, or registered veterinary technician for at least two of the past four years immediately preceding application. Clinical practice may be verified on the Board's optional Employment Verification Form, company letterhead or tax returns (1040) that reflect occupation;
- Official copy of transcript from a school of veterinary technology accredited by the AVMA or CVMA conferring degree; OR • National examination scores from AAVSB. If examination taken through VTNE in Virginia, a request for score transfer is not required;
- Documentation of completion of at least 16 hours of continuing education during the preceding four years; and
- Verification of any veterinary technology licenses, certifications or registrations ever held by each board, including expired, in another jurisdiction of the U.S.

dhp.virginia.gov 97-4133

NOTE: If unable to provide documentation of clinical practice for two of the past four years, an applicant may seek licensure by examination.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Examination Contact Information:

- Online Score Transfer Request https://aavsb.org/; and •
- AAVSB Ouestions regarding transfer of scores (877) 698-8482.

Incomplete applications: An application shall be valid for a period of one year after the date of initial submission.

Board of Veterinary Medicine Contact Information

Dourd of verei	mary medicine contact morna		
Address:	9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300	Email:	vetbd@dhp.virginia.gov
	Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463	Phone:	(804) 597-4133
Webpage:	http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/vet/	Fax:	(804) 527-44714 2019



9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 Henrico, Virginia 23233 Phone - (804) 597-4133 Fax - (804) 527-4471 www.dhp.virginia.gov/vet/ Email - vetbd@dhp.virginia.gov

LICENSURE VERIFICATION FORM

TO THE APPLICANT – List name and license number in top section only and forward to all jurisdictions (U.S.							
States or Territories and Washington, D.C.) in which you have ever been issued a license to practice as a veterinarian or veterinary technician.							
Applicant Full Name:		License Number:					
STATE LICENSURE BOARD OR REGULATORY AGENCY – The person listed above is applying for a license to practice as a veterinarian or veterinary technician in Virginia. The Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine requests							
that the form be completed by each jurisdiction in which he/she holds or has ever held a license/certificate. Please complete the form and return it to the address listed above.							
State/Commonwealth of:							
Licensee Name:		Issued Date:					
License/Certification Number:		Veterinarian	Veterinary Tec	chnician			
Licensed/Certified Through (che	ck one):						
National Examination Clinical Competency Examination NAVLE State Board Examination							
Reciprocity/Endorsement from	n another U.S. State or Territ	ory (Name of State)					
Status of License is: Active Current Inactive Expired/Lapsed Expired Date							
Revoked Suspended							
Has the applicant's license/certific	cate ever been suspended or 1	revoked?	Yes	🗌 No			
Has there been any disciplinary hi information available under your	Yes	□ No					
Is continuing education required f	For renewal? 🗌 Yes 🔲 N	If so, how many hou	irs are required	per year?			
Comments, if any:							
BOARD SEAL							
	Sig	ned		Date			



9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 Henrico, Virginia 23233 Phone - (804) 597-4133 Fax - (804) 527-4471 www.dhp.virginia.gov/vet/ Email - vetbd@dhp.virginia.gov

EMPLOYMENT VERIFICATION

APPLICANT INFORMATION – To be completed by applicant. Please type or print.							
Last Name	First Name		Middle Initial	Other Names Used			
I hereby authorize the release of employment verification to the Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine.							
Signature:			Date:				
EMPLOYER OR AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE – To be completed by employer or authorized representative and forwarded directly to the Board by postal mail or electronically. The individual named above is applying for licensure as a Veterinarian or Veterinary Technician in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Please verify the employment history and status of this individual. In lieu of completion of this form, an employer may send a letter confirming requested information.							
Employer's Business or Organiza	ation Name:						
Type of Business:							
Business Address:							
Phone:	Email Addre	Email Address:					
Employee's Name			Employee's Position Title				
Was the employee engaged in clinical practice as a veterinarian? Yes No Was the employee engaged in clinical practice as a veterinary technician? Yes No							
Employment Begin Date (mm/dd/yyyy) Emplo			byment Status				
Provide all practice locations and dates of employment. If more space is required, list on separate paper. Practice Locations Dates of Employment							
Print Name Sign		Signati	hature and Date				