Commonwealth of Virginia
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400
Richmond, Virginia 23233-1485
(804) 367-2039
www.dpor.virginia.gov

Initial License



Real Estate Appraiser Board APPRAISER LICENSE APPLICATION

x

Fee

A check or money order payable to the <u>TREASURER OF VIRGINIA</u>, or a completed credit card insert must be mailed with your application package. APPLICATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE.

Select the **one** license you are requesting.

License Upgrade

x

Fee*

Certified General \$ 230.00 Certified General 65.00 Certified Residential \$ 230.00 Certified Residential 65.00 Licensed Residential \$ 230.00 * Includes \$80.00 National Registry Fee Assessment and \$30.00 USPAP Book Fee 1. Name Generation First Middle Last (SR, JR, III, etc.) 2. Social Security Number * Date of Birth 3. Home Street Address (PO Box not accepted) City, State, Zip Code 5. Mailing Address (PO Box accepted) City, State, Zip Code 6. E-mail Address Telephone & Facsimile Numbers Telephone Facsimile Cellular Phone Do you have a current or expired real estate appraiser license issued by the Virginia Real Estate Appraiser Board? No ☐ License Number Yes 4 0 0 1 Expiration Date Do you hold a current or expired real estate appraiser or real estate appraiser trainee license, certification or registration from another jurisdiction? No Yes If yes, complete the following table. ALL current and expired licenses in all states must be listed. License, Certification or **Registration Number Expiration Date** State 10. Have you ever been subject to a disciplinary action imposed by any (including Virginia) local, state or national regulatory body? No If yes, please provide a copy of the final order, decree or case decision by a court or regulatory agency Yes with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree or case decision. TRANS CODE ENTITY # APPLICATION # FILE# / LICENSE # DATE FEE ISSUE DATE FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

11.	Have you ever been convicted, found guilty or pled guilty, regardless of adjudication, in any jurisdiction of any felony or a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude ? <i>Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction.</i>
	No □
	Yes If yes, list the felony and/or misdemeanor conviction(s). Attach your original criminal history record and any other information you wish to have considered with this application (i.e., information on the status of incarceration, parole or probation; reference letters; documentation of rehabilitation; etc.). If necessary, you may attach a separate sheet of paper.
	See the bottom of this page for information on how to obtain the required court and criminal history records.
12.	Are you applying for a real estate appraiser license through reciprocity?
12.	No If no, skip to question #14.
	Yes \square
Real E Director agency authori submit	ning this application you acknowledge that if you are not a Virginia resident, or move outside of Virginia while you hold a Virginia istate Appraiser License, you understand that this application serves as a written power of attorney, whereby you appoint the or of the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, and his/her successors in office, to be your true and lawfully and attorney-in-fact, in your stead, upon whom all legal process against and notice to you may be served and who is hereby zed to enter an appearance in your behalf in any case or proceedings arising out of the trade or profession practiced; and that by this application, you hereby agree that any lawful process against you which is duly served on said agent and attorney-in-facte of the same legal force and validity as if served upon you.
	Sign the one statement (#13 or #14) that applies to your application.
13.	Reciprocity Statement (to be signed by all reciprocity and temporary license applicants) I, the undersigned, certify that the foregoing statements and answers are true and I have not suppressed any information that might affect the Board's decision to approve this application. I will notify the Department if I am subject to any disciplinary action or convicted of any felony or misdemeanor charge (in any jurisdiction) prior to receiving my license. I also certify that I understand, and have complied with, all the laws of Virginia related to Rea Estate Appraisers under the provisions of Title 54.1, Chapter 20.1 of the Code of Virginia and the Real Estate Appraiser Board Regulations.
	Signature Date
14.	Non-Reciprocity Statement (to be signed by all applicants <u>not</u> applying through reciprocity) I, the undersigned, certify that the foregoing statements and answers are true and I have not suppressed any information that might affect the Board's decision to approve this application. I will notify the Department if I am subject to any disciplinary action or convicted of any felony or misdemeanor charge (in any jurisdiction) prior to receiving my license. I certify that I understand, and have complied with, all the laws of Virginia related to Real Estate Appraisers under the provisions of Title 54.1, Chapter 20.1 of the <i>Code of Virginia, the Real Estate Appraiser Board Regulations</i> and the <i>Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisers Practice</i> ©. I certify that I meet the minimum real estate appraiser experience and education requirements established in the <i>Real Estate Appraiser Board Regulations</i> for the type of license I am requesting and understand that the Real Estate Appraiser Board may request proof of this experience in the form of written reports or file memoranda which shall be made available to the Board upon request. Signature
	Diggs make copies of this application for your records

* State law requires every applicant for a license, certificate, registration or other authorization to engage in a business, trade, profession or occupation issued by the Commonwealth to provide a social security number or a control number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.

Additional Requirements

<u>Instructions on obtaining Court and Criminal History Records</u>

Copies of court records may be obtained by writing to the Clerk of the Court in the jurisdiction in which you were convicted.

An *Original Criminal History Record* may be obtained by contacting the state police in the jurisdiction in which you were convicted. Virginia residents must complete a *Criminal History Record Name Search Request* form (Form S.P. 167) in the presence of a notary public and mail it to the Virginia State Police, Central Criminal Records Exchange, Post Office Box 85076, Richmond, Virginia, 23261-5076.

Applicants with criminal convictions and/or regulatory board disciplinary actions may be required to attend a hearing before the Real Estate Appraiser Board. This hearing process may take an additional two to three months.

EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS*

*Based on the Appraiser Qualifications Board's Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria

<u>Licensed Residential Real Estate Appraiser License</u>

• Initial Licensed Residential Real Estate Appraiser License applicants must complete 150 hours of Qualifying Education in the following Core Curriculum subjects:

Basic Appraisal Principles	30 hours
Basic Appraisal Procedures	30 hours
The 15-Hour National USPAP Course	15 hours
Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use	15 hours
Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach	15 hours
Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches	30 hours
Residential Report Writing and Case Studies	15 hours
Total	150 hours

Licensed Residential Real Estate Appraiser License applicants with a valid Trainee Appraiser License must complete 75 hours of Qualifying Education in the following Core Curriculum subjects:

Described Manket Analysis and Historia and Describe	4 F J
Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use	15 hours
Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach	15 hours
Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches	30 hours
Residential Report Writing and Case Studies	15 hours
Total	75 hours

Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser License**

Initial Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser License applicants must complete 200 hours of Qualifying Education in the following Core Curriculum subjects:

Basic Appraisal Principles	30 hours
Basic Appraisal Procedures	30 hours
The 15-Hour National USPAP Course	15 hours
Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use	15 hours
Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach	15 hours
Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches	30 hours
Residential Report Writing and Case Studies	15 hours
Statistics, Modeling and Finance	15 hours
Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies	15 hours
Appraisal Subject Matter Electives	20 hours
Total	200 hours

Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser License applicants with a valid Trainee Appraiser License must complete 125 hours of Qualifying Education in the following Core Curriculum subjects:

Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use	15 hours
Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach	15 hours
Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches	30 hours
Residential Report Writing and Case Studies	15 hours
Statistics, Modeling and Finance	15 hours
Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies	15 hours
Appraisal Subject Matter Electives	20 hours
Total	125 hours

Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser License applicants with a valid Licensed Residential Real Estate Appraiser License must complete 50 hours of Qualifying Education in the following Core Curriculum subjects:

iplete 30 floars of Qualifying Education in the following oute outhealarn subject	J.
Statistics, Modeling and Finance	15 hours
Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies	15 hours
Appraisal Subject Matter Electives	20 hours
Total	50 hours

An Associates degree or 21 semester college credit hours in 7 specific subjects is also required for the Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser License.

Certified General Real Estate Appraiser License***

Initial Certified General Real Estate Appraiser License applicants must complete 300 hours of Qualifying Education in the following Core Curriculum subjects:

Basic Appraisal Principles	30 hours
Basic Appraisal Procedures	30 hours
The 15-Hour National USPAP Course	15 hours
Statistics, Modeling and Finance	15 hours
General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use	30 hours
General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach	30 hours
General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach	30 hours
General Appraiser Income Approach	60 hours
General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies	30 hours
Appraisal Subject Matter Electives	30 hours
Total	300 hours

 Certified General Real Estate Appraiser License applicants with a valid Trainee Appraiser License must complete 225 hours of Qualifying Education in the following Core Curriculum subjects:

Statistics, Modeling and Finance	15 hours
General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use	30 hours
General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach	30 hours
General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach	30 hours
General Appraiser Income Approach	60 hours
General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies	30 hours
Appraisal Subject Matter Electives	30 hours
Total	225 hours

 Certified General Real Estate Appraiser License applicants with a valid Licensed Residential Real Estate Appraiser License must complete 150 hours of Qualifying Education in the following Core Curriculum subjects:

Statistics, Modeling and Finance	15 hours
General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Be	est Use 15 hours
General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach	15 hours
General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach	15 hours
General Appraiser Income Approach	45 hours
General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies	15 hours
Appraisal Subject Matter Electives	30 hours
Total	150 hours

 Certified General Real Estate Appraiser License applicants with a valid Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser License must complete 100 hours of Qualifying Education in the following Core Curriculum subjects:

Too Hours of Qualitying Education in the following Core Curriculum subjects.	
General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use	15 hours
General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach	15 hours
General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach	15 hours
General Appraiser Income Approach	45 hours
General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies	10 hours
Total	100 hours

^{***} A Bachelor's degree or 30 semester college credit hours in 10 specific subjects is also required for the Certified General Real Estate Appraiser License.

Please review the "Education and Exams" section of the Real Estate Appraiser Board's website at: http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/dporweb/apr_main.cfm for the Appraiser Qualifications Board's Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria and Board-approved Schools and Qualifying Education courses.

EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS

Minimum Experience Requirements

Licensed Residential Real Estate Appraiser License

• 2,000 hours of appraisal experience obtained in no less than 12 months.

Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser License

- 2,500 hours of appraisal experience obtained in no less than 24 months.
- Upgrade applicants from Licensed Residential Real Estate Appraiser to Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser MUST submit a NEW *Experience Log* demonstrating these hours.

Certified General Real Estate Appraiser License

- 3,000 hours of appraisal experience obtained in no less than 30 months.
- 1,500 hours of the 3,000 hours must be in nonresidential appraisal assignments.
- Upgrade applicants from Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser to Certified General Real Estate Appraiser MUST submit a NEW *Experience Log* demonstrating these hours.

Review Appraisal Experience shall not constitute more than 1000 hours of experience claimed and at least 50% of the review appraisal experience claimed must be in-field review where the individual has personally inspected the property.

Real Estate Consulting Appraisal Experience shall not constitute more than 500 hours of experience claimed.

Ad Valorem Tax Appraisal Experience Requirements

All ad valorem tax appraisal experience on an applicant's *Experience Log* must include an *Experience Verification Statement* from the applicant's supervisor or employer. Applicants employed by an appraisal firm must also submit a document from the Virginia Department of Taxation verifying the applicant's supervisor is certified to perform the assessment or reassessment of real property pursuant to § 58.1-3258.1 of the *Code of Virginia*.

Experience Verification Statements must include the following:

- Applicant's Name;
- Applicant's Employment Dates;
- 3. Supervisor/Employer's Statement Verifying Ad Valorem Experience Claimed on the Experience Log; and
- 4. Supervisor/Employer's Name, Title, Address, and Telephone Number.

Sample Appraisal Reports

After the Board reviews your *Real Estate Appraiser Board License Application* and *Experience Log* for compliance with minimum education and experience requirements, a letter will be mailed to you requesting five specific sample appraisal reports that will be reviewed by the Board for USPAP compliance.

Applicants claiming only ad valorem tax appraisal experience must submit the following items in addition to the five specific sample appraisal reports:

- 1. A one-to-three-page description of the methods and techniques employed to produce and communicate credible appraisals within the context of the real property tax laws.
- 2. Licensed Residential Real Estate Appraiser and Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser applicants must submit two residential property fee/staff appraisals completed on a Uniform Residential Appraisal Report (URAR) form under the supervision of a Virginia certified real state appraiser. The applicant does not need to be employed by the certified real estate appraiser.

Certified General Real Estate Appraiser applicants must submit two commercial property narrative appraisal reports (under the supervision of a Virginia Certified General Real Estate Appraiser) as though the reports are being prepared for a private sector client. Both reports must demonstrate the use of the income approach. The applicant does not need to be employed by the certified general real estate appraiser.

Reciprocal License Applicants may be required to submit experience verification and sample appraisal reports if the applicant's base state's licensure requirements are not substantially equivalent to those in Virginia.